We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Business Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau Star River Hotel
Ranked #61 of 3,558 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights while in Guangzhou for the Canton Fair. The hotel was new, rooms were large and comfortable. Bathroom fittings were also nice. Breakfast spread was excellent, with lots of variety. Main issue, was that the staff was not conversant in English. Free shuttle and fair registration at the hotel was also quite good. Important to note that this hotel is about an hour drive from the airport. I will book this hotel again for the fair, its also a lot cheaper than the Westin.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikaeelh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2011

As a business trip and somehow that's the only one choice we could choose, we booked many rooms (please forgive me can't tell you how many because some reasons), but the bill was big enough. RMB 1480++, enough to stay at the world's top brands hotels in the downtown. Here should not be your choice at this rate.

Firstly, mind the hotel's karaoke. In fact, it's a typical chinese nightclub. At night, don't be surprise to see a beautiful lady accompany with a drunk gentleman in the hotel.

In terms of the location, it's actually a suburban of Guangzhou, far away to the city center. Very far away to get to the nearest metro station on foot, no any convenient/public facilities near the hotel. The location was just "Bad" if you want to get to the downtown.

The entrance was quite small, not grand, easy to skip it if you drive yourself. The lobby was typical five stars style. However, the corridor through to rooms and elevator lobby were dark, there were plenty of lights to make the environment better.

My room was only BIG, besides, nothing was positively remarkable. Over the whole room, there were only few of lights, it's okay in the daytime, but never at night. Especially for the working table, if you insist to work at that level of lighting at night, it's gonna to hurt your eyes! The balcony was useless, because the door was locked. Furthermore, I found one lady's hair on my bed~~~~

The room equipped a coffee machine, sounds good? Haha, so what! I prefer they gave me back the water boiler instead of. The pencil's condition they provided for clients to write quick notes was disappointed, only two papers were provided.....The cushion on the sofa were covered by plastic, feeling very bad.

The breakfast buffet was totally not recommended, RMB 128++/per person. Definitely unreasonable, the foods' quality, taste and service, HORRIBLE. Even for Chinese traditional dishes.

The staffs were know nothing, never met someone could tell you a certain answer for your inquires. Only keep telling you to how much will be charge for this service, what's the restriction, or even directly ask you to give them a tip when you paying the bill. It's really really crazy!!!!

Room Tip: High floor with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FCG_Macau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

I was in Guangzhou as part of the Asian Paralympic Committee delegate for the Guangzhou Para Games held in December 2010. I was truly impressed by the world class service and facilities. The small touches such as lovely daily greeting notes and chocolates were absolutely delightful! Notwithstanding the fact that it was winter then, I felt warm from within and close to home. It was one of my best experience ever!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mccheah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

Be prepared to be treated badly here! And do not expect 5 star rooms or treatment even if you've booked them!
Booked this hotel on Expedia where it it explicitly described as 5 Star.
Upon arrival at the hotel reception I was told my room was elsewhere, and after waiting 20 minutes my colleague and I were loaded in a mini van and driven 5 minutes away where we were dropped off in an underground car park of what seemed to be a residential area.
The room was expremely shabby, with peeling wallpaper, stained carpet and furniture, chipped paint in the bathroom, poor quality products in dispensers, no safe, no bath/ bathrobes / mini bar / LCD TV, and a view and noise of a 20 lane tollway below.

Contacted Expedia and they said they use information provided by the hotel. After 2 hours of trying to explain to various staff members at the hotel that we did not get what we expected they all came to the same conclusion "It wasn't their fault and they would give a better room if we paid more"

Finally the next morning we found lovely American staff member who took us to breakfast, apologized profusely and took notes on the whole ordeal. He was there for a short time to explain international hotel standards, unfortunately he wasn't there long enough.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobalGlobalGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyChan, Manager at Chateau Star River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2010

Dear Sir,
We feel sorry for your unhappy experience during the staying of our hotel. Anyway, we thank you for your comments and will make any possible improvement to our service.
The Apartment Room is managed by but different from the hotel. And it is built with 3 star standard. We have descibed clearly on Expedia. And the price should also indicate something.
Of course, we are improving the service and set-up of the Apartment Room. However, please understand the stand of the Apartment.
And paying price difference for changing a room is reasonable. So we feel it was a pity that you didn't try our hotel amenity and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2010

I chose staying a room at apartment building rather than hotel building. The room is excellent, great view with balcony, large room, comfortable bed, etc.

The food at their western restaurant was good and valuable.

Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Manson_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 29 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
Thank DiscoveReviewBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
Yuean Hotel
#176 of 3,558 in Guangzhou
2 reviews
Chimelong Hotel
#37 of 3,558 in Guangzhou
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pazhou Exhibition Hall
Xiangjiang Hotel
Xiangjiang Hotel
#1,238 of 3,558 in Guangzhou
70 reviews
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
#19 of 3,558 in Guangzhou
839 reviews
Chateau Star River Haiyi Peninsu...
#798 of 3,558 in Guangzhou
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Star River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Star River Hotel

Address: No.1 Panyu Road North, Panyu District, Guangzhou 511430, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 3,558 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range: £80 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chateau Star River Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Chateau Star River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing