We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT PLACE AT REASONABLE PRICE”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dongfang Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dongfang Hotel
Ranked #39 of 3,394 Hotels in Guangzhou
Noida, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT PLACE AT REASONABLE PRICE”
Reviewed 26 July 2011

I had booked this Hotel after finding it on the internet.
I never expected it to be so good in all aspects.
The Hotel was majestic, the rooms were cool and the
service was excellent.
I stayed again in April 2011 for my next business trip.
Will always stay there if I have to go to Guangzhou.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vikramduggal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    437
    98
    40
    14
See reviews for
42
50
33
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We arrived at Dong Fang on 17th July.

Have requested for a connecting rooms many days prior to arrival.(In short, We did not get that!)

We were staying at the Business level. For the sheer size alone , the hotel would have won an award. Its huge no doubt about it.
The room was clean and yes the room was huge. One complain. The bed, If you called that spring bed, there were obviously no springs!
Be prepared for a very tough beds!

We called the hotel to purchase some extra bottles of water. To our surprise their charge was RMB 50/bottle for a standard size bottle! There are no shops around these area. The only shops that you will find is Dong Fang shops (if you like rubbish clothes. No deli market, no mall, no seven eleven! NOTHING)

We arrived at 4pm so we were tired and was looking for a decent food to eat. After all their 50 years of service excellence should have some substance (and so we thought) there is a restaurant on the ground level called kowloon street? ugly looking restaurant, very badly run. When we came in the lady told us the restaurant is full and won't cater to us ! (it was full with most tables empty of course!)

we found out a better looking restaurant on tower 2 , 8th floor. The outlook of the restaurant looks much better untill my husband got a full blown diarhea and 15 times vomitting at 10 pm at night. Not to mention the restaurant will charge you petty charges such as 6 rmb per person just for sitting down there. (Did I mention we spent 400 RMB on the first day, 500 rmb on the second day and 600 RMB for a food poison dinner. And beware of their RMB 50 per person for tea!)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ms_Dewijakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eudlo, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

My partner and I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. The reception staff were most welcoming and friendly as were all the staff that we came into contact with during our stay. The breakfasts were superb with an extremely wide variety of foods suiting all palates. The surronding of the breakfast area which a deligth to sit in with lovely gardens and layout. The hotel is extremely well run. Near by is a wonderful large public park which we would highly recommend one to visit to enjoy both the gardens and the local population who were singing, dancing and enjoy life etc. Our room was large and well fitted out. We were oin a non smoking room on a non smoking floor and neither did our room or the floor smell of stale or new cigarette smoke. The hotel is situated just a hop and jump to the extremely well run easy to use Subway Station. Being a gay male couple the hotel had no problems same sex guests. The Chinese authories have given this hotel a 4 star and it is well deserved.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hinterlandboyz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We enjoyed our one night stay here very much and would have loved to have had an opportunity to stay a few more days in the region. We had a beautiful room that was well appointed with all of the amenities one would expect from a hotel of this caliber. The staff are friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet was ample and delicious. We ate in the centre of the city but there are many great restaurants around the hotel. We will definitely be back to this wonderful place. We could not rate "Value" as our stay was as part of a tour group.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DekkersTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

I book 2 rooms w my friend, when I am checking in, they ask deposit for 2 room, I told him my friend was checked in already, he said he know. then give me 2 sets key for both room. all the front desk can answer to my question is I KNOW, NOT AVAILABLE.

Room Tip: like a budget hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAN_VIC729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
Level Contributor
287 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

This is really a very good hotel for foreigners visiting China- most people speak english, the hotel rooms are nice and fairly spacious with all amenities, they have a very nice big swimming pool and other activities as well, the location is simply awsome with most things close by. There is a big shopping area attached to the hotel which offers great bargains - very cheap compared to branded stores but ofcourse more expensive than Guangzhou wholesale markets. There is very little I had to complain except that the rates are a little on the higher side and you can get good rates on the internet but not through their hotel website or by walking in. So best book on the internet itself.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prateek_mittal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petporter
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

great hotel, stayed in the executive rooms in block 1, rooms are huge, beautiful bathrooms, great bed and pillows, room had everything you need in a hotel room, staff were excellent and looked to resolve our initial room issue we had even through the hotel was very busy they worked hard to accommodate our needs.

the main foyer cafe/bar is nothing to write home about, but it does offer cold beer, and food. Starbucks around the corner does good coffee and breakfasts, Mac Donald's in next to it for a quick meal, otherwise there are loads of restaurants in the area.

shopping is amazing around this area, lots of wholesale markets, just head towards the guangzhou station, you will come across underground markets as well as is the Lihua markets. Just explore the area and you will find what you need, or head to Shanxiajiu pedestrian street or Beijing Rd for shopping. beijing rd has better quality items.

loved Guangzhou and the Dong Fang was an excellent choice in hotels.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
Yuexiu District
China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
#36 of 3,394 in Guangzhou
910 reviews
Guangdong Victory Hotel
#32 of 3,394 in Guangzhou
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#11 of 3,394 in Guangzhou
2,459 reviews
Landmark Canton Hotel
#47 of 3,394 in Guangzhou
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dongfang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dongfang Hotel

Property: Dongfang Hotel
Address: No.120 liuhua Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510016, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#36 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#38 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dongfang Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 679
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dongfang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dongfang Hotel Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing