We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best hotel for the canton fair”
Review of Dongfang Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dongfang Hotel
Ranked #43 of 3,447 Hotels in Guangzhou
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“the best hotel for the canton fair”
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

I have had been In the canton fair in past editions in other 5 star hotels and it's normal For the canton fair all the rates increase a lot
so I found the value from what I paid really good vs I received
they have several advantages such as the transportation, registration in the hotel, very good breakfast, warming cocktail when coming back from the fair
overall I recommend it and I will go again to this hotel very accessible rate, incredible service

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DongFangHotel_GZ, Public Relations Manager at Dongfang Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Dong Fang Hotel for your recent stay in Guangzhou, and share your stay experience with us.

We are honored to get your praise and support. We as always will provide the high quality service for our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    445
    100
    42
    15
See reviews for
44
51
33
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

My parents always said this was the "IT" hotel back in the 90's. This place is still well kept BUT this is not for families, for men maybe, but definitely not family friendly.

There's prostitutes walking around from day to night. Seriously? Why isn't the hotel doing anything about it? It's your own property. I'm sure you wouldn't like it if a homeless was walking around, but you allow prostitutes? It's an awkward sight to see if you're not a dude.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Wonderful place to stay. If you like riding the metro, the hotel is about 5 minutes from Line 2, Yuexiu Park stop, Exit D-1. Allow me to compliment the city for very good signage on the metro. Hotel check in/out went smoothly...front desk staff was very friendly. I actually stayed 2 nights...checked out to take a short trip...checked back in for a single night before leaving the city. Traveling unaccompanied, I tried to cover a lot of the city in a short time. The concierge was very knowledgeable & helpful with directions. Bed was comfortable; room was clean and large. Liuhua Lake and Park is just around the corner from the hotel...wonderful place for a morning walk...lots of locals enjoy the park. For those who need an American fast food fix (burger/fries), you walk past "M" when you exit the metro on your way to the hotel. Cantonese style food is the best, but I acknowledge that some folks want western variety mixed in. Macau Street Restaurant is also around the corner from the hotel so it is convenient and a good place to eat if choose to try someplace outside of the hotel. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for Tower 1 with a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mahoo95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DongFangHotel_GZ, Public Relations Manager at Dongfang Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Dong Fang Hotel for your recent stay in Guangzhou, and share your stay experience with us.

We are honored to get your praise and support. We as always will provide the high quality service for our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

the hotel is very nice and clean.
the management very bad and the security is not good..at 3:30am some girl nock the door and ask as to open the door ..the girl was naked 100% (with no clothes) and she ask me for help that she lost her key at her room ..but we know she lie because my friend in china inform me about this kind of game ..so we did not open the door ,,,we call the reception 3 time to send some one but it take 25 minutes to send a girl to solve the mater..by the way that the lift work with room card but for sure some one from the employee help her to come to the rooms..Also our room not include the breakfast so I pay 200RMB for the first day and the food was a disaster ,, most plate is empty and the cook to make omelet he do not speak one word English.

I have many pictures for the empty buffet plate and whine I ask to meet the manager , the said that he is beasy now and he will contact me ,,but he did not so I try again and again and finally I saw him and I talk to him and he say ok ok ..what a management ,,

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank basil f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogor, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

After I escorted cancer patient to Modern Hospital, I decided to stay for one night at Dongfang Hotel based on my company' benefit. First impression when I arrived was outstanding and 6 stars hotel. With outstanding lobby with its ceiling crafting about Guangzhou history and luxurious restaurant and cafe, I felt very honored to stay here. The room was fascinating with its comfort and best view to town park. The employees were very helpful to give guidance and recommendation to several famous landmark such as Five Goat Statue near hotel. Despite of lack of foreign language from its security officers, this hotel had given me spectacular experience to stay in Guangzhou. Hopefully I can bring my spouse to stay here to have memorable experience there.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pelupessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I am still staying for 12 nights and I think its a clean nice hotel good deal for a buisness trip and I recommrnd it if you need a 4 stars nice hotel.overall I am happy.Also starbucks and mcdonalds is just right of the hotel.location also is good

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nader N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou, China
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This is the oldest and long established hotel in Guangzhou.
It was the only decent place for earlier travelers to this city
during the Guangzhou Fair in the early 70's.

Since then it became a modern comfortable hotel, the rooms
Are very comfortable whether located in the old or new wing.

I like to spend a week end in this hotel during summer, whenever
the weather permits it; the swimming pool and the garden are
a great place for relaxation.

Room rates over the week end are affordable.

Try it if you can !

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Slim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
Yuexiu District
China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
#38 of 3,447 in Guangzhou
926 reviews
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou
#16 of 3,447 in Guangzhou
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Landmark Canton Hotel
#48 of 3,447 in Guangzhou
485 reviews
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#12 of 3,447 in Guangzhou
2,532 reviews
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
#23 of 3,447 in Guangzhou
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dongfang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dongfang Hotel

Property: Dongfang Hotel
Address: No.120 liuhua Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510016, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#38 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
#40 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dongfang Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 679
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dongfang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dongfang Hotel Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing