We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”
Review of Dongfang Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dongfang Hotel
Ranked #22 of 3,562 Hotels in Guangzhou
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Excelent services, great furniture and swimming pool.

Lobby are is huge and is very workable. Daily busses can take you to the Canton fair in several times a day.

Traditional restaurants on upper floors are good to make meeting and private dinners.

Room Tip: Reclamei com a gerente por causa da fila no check in e ela me deu uma suite de mais de 200m²... Se t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zé A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DongFangHotel_GZ, Public Relations Manager at Dongfang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for choosing Dong Fang Hotel for your recent stay in Guangzhou, and share your stay experience with us.

We are honored to get your praise and support. We as always will provide the high quality service for our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (923)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 923 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

This would be worst hotel I ever stayed in all means, from the rude staff in check-in, unfriendly service at break fast, non committed duty manager, this hotel would be the best example to learn how a hotel should not be administrated. Its a joke (Cheating trick) while booking through hotels.com I selected two person option and free breakfast (as it is China I am very particular about free break fast) while check in they told me that I have one complimentary breakfast only and for the other person I have to pay an extra of RMB150 (US$ 25) per person per day which is really a cheating trick in web booking, this cost is too much for the break fast in anywhere in the world I believe. The rooms are lousy and old, In my several trips to China is the place to experience the top hospitality and see nice hotels and this hotel ultimately broke that standard this would the worst hotel and over rated and priced, stay away from the hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhupeshrajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DongFangHotel_GZ, Public Relations Manager at Dongfang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

First and foremost, we would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your recent stay.

Upon receipt of this shortcoming, we immediately thoroughly investigated with concerned departments. There is no excuse on our side for not complying our service standard. We have addressed your experience with the manager and improvement action has been taken.

Once again we apologize for the inconvenience caused to you. We do hope you will allow us the opportunity to redeem our service by welcoming you back to the Dong Fang Hotel, in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This hotel is enormous. It is a trek from your room to the reception area. The hotel has everything you need, rooms are large and comfortable.
It is now a little past it's prime. It is handy for transport the metro is close by and the airport shuttle calls into the grounds. The gardens are lovely, the swimming pool was closed for repairs while were were there but looks like it would be a nice area.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank thomoMooloolaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DongFangHotel_GZ, Public Relations Manager at Dongfang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for choosing Dong Fang Hotel for your recent stay in Guangzhou, and share your stay experience with us.

We are delighted to learn your valuable suggestion for our Facilities, and thank you to help us to get it improved.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Rooms have obviously been updated - chic yet keeping to a very oriental style. However this hotel is huge. Your room may be in a wing that is located far from the lobby. Warning: it may take you up to 7 mins just to get to the front desk! Even though it is quite a large selection at the buffet table, breakfast gets boring if you stay more than a week there.
There's a coffee machine at the corner of the egg station if you don't want coffee in a pot...
Taxi back from the city center may get stuck in peak hour traffic for some time
On my last day, I was struggling with my luggage but a bellman just stood by and watch. Only when I started dropping things did he offer unwillingly to help. That was the only one incident that mar my entire experience at the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CookieBaby2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DongFangHotel_GZ, Public Relations Manager at Dongfang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

First and foremost, we would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your recent stay.. As your review we will immediate thoroughly investigate with concerned departments. We do hope you will allow us the opportunity to redeem our service by welcoming you back to the Dong Fang Hotel in the not too distant future..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

This grand old hotel is a great step up from the hotel we were staying in.
The rooms do smell damp but the bed is comfortable and they are roomy.
If you do decided to drink at their beautiful garden bar make sure you check the prices 4 beers cost us $60US!!
They have a great pool and gym room which I will make better use on my next visit

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Kara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DongFangHotel_GZ, Public Relations Manager at Dongfang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for choosing Dong Fang Hotel for your recent stay in Guangzhou, and share your stay experience with us.

We are honored to get your praise and support. We as always will provide the high quality service for our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

No doubt this hotel is an excellent location, and there are plenty of good features (the pool garden for example); however cleanliness and service were not amongst these. Staff were inexperienced and undertrained, and did not show any of the "extra mile" attitude you expect from staff at a good hotel. My room was of a very good size, but there wasn't much finesse about it. OK, I can live with that. However there was an underlying grubbiness about everything, and the room smelled of damp. Not good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LyndseyDoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DongFangHotel_GZ, Public Relations Manager at Dongfang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

First and foremost, we would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your recent stay.Upon receipt of this shortcoming, we immediately thoroughly investigated with concerned departments. There is no excuse on our side for not complying our service standard. We have addressed your experience with the manager and improvement action has been taken. We do hope you will allow us the opportunity to redeem our service by welcoming you back to the Dong Fang Hotel, in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

First of all, the wifi was really poor, that's always a significant black mark. The rooms are spacious enough but are looking pretty tired with the bathrooms in particular need of a refit. The most disappointing aspect was the staff though. Throughout my time in China, I've had great service but here spoken English was pretty poor and staff were often unhelpful, for example, we arrived a little early, spent a decent bit of cash on a hotel car but we couldn't get access to a room on arrival unless we upgraded to a premium room. The hotel is huge, I'm sure there were rooms available so it seemed a little off for us to have to wait for an hour to get checked in. The next day, despite the fair I was attending being based in the hotel, the concierge didnt know where it was. Again a little unhelpful. Maybe I'm being picky and maybe after three weeks on the road I'm getting grumpy but a little better service would go a long way here. That and better wifi. I'd only stay here again if it was a fair/conference venue.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthEastBeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DongFangHotel_GZ, Public Relations Manager at Dongfang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear guest,
First and foremost, we would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your recent stay.Upon receipt of this shortcoming, we immediately thoroughly investigated with concerned departments. There is no excuse on our side for not complying our service standard. We have addressed your experience with the manager and improvement action has been taken. We do hope you will allow us the opportunity to redeem our service by welcoming you back to the Dong Fang Hotel, in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
Yuexiu District
China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou
Jianguo Hotel
#27 of 3,562 in Guangzhou
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou
#19 of 3,562 in Guangzhou
498 reviews
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
#23 of 3,562 in Guangzhou
816 reviews
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#13 of 3,562 in Guangzhou
2,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dongfang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dongfang Hotel

Address: No.120 liuhua Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510016, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
#22 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#31 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range: £57 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dongfang Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 679
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dongfang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dongfang Hotel Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing