We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central and comfortable, great after a long day” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dongfang Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dongfang Hotel
Ranked #39 of 3,384 Hotels in Guangzhou
Cape Town
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Central and comfortable, great after a long day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2010

We booked for a day and ended up two need I more to say...

As we entered two of the bell boys was ready to assist, to the check inn was efficient and welcoming.
The room was spacious 'deluxe double room' and the view was great over looking a beautiful public garden right next door to the hotel.
The location is very central everything from shopping, gardens, food and conference venues is walking distance within a 5km radius.
What we enjoyed was the great swimming pool in a beautiful setting, the water was always just right not cold or too warm a swim after a long day was just what we needed.
I just didnt like that breakfast was an extra charge if you took it to your room and internet was extra charge not free like most hotels (which for the price you would expect it to be included).
The food was nice with a wide selection which I like to have.

Thank you Dongfang for making our stay a pleasant one!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haron55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    432
    94
    39
    14
See reviews for
42
50
33
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Meadow Vista, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2010

I stayed here because of a conference located within, but had just come from a new 5 star hotel in Shenzhen. Dong Fang is a bit tired and dreary and the food, especially at the More restaurant, is mediocre. My room wreaked of smoke despite being on the nonsmoking floor, but otherwise ok. Location is good though and I especially enjoyed walking around the lake and gardens across the street. My sense is this is about a weak 4 star by present-day China standards. It is comfortable, but definitely not luxurious nor at all modern. However, my room rate was a bargain at less than $100/night, so I didn't overpay.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skeeterest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2010

As heard from friends in China, the hotel was once a designated hotel by senior Chinese officials. Probably this was the reason why it was built in an enormous scale. Corridors were long, taking me 5 minutes from lift lobby to my room.
Rooms were huge. Nice and soft bed. Standing at the balcony which was the best moment in morning!
Tap was too low to the washing basin. Easy to crash glass into the tap. Too dangerous.
Generally, it was a lovely stay and would return again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hpet2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut
Level Contributor
116 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2010

If you have any other choice, do not go there! Do not believe web sites that tell you it was renovated. That was a very long time ago in 2004! The hotel is worth a bad 3 stars, rooms are old, smell bad and are dirty, very long corridors, average breakfast... Went there for Canton fair phase 2 and because I was dissatistfied with the Holiday Inn in Shifu that I almost regret to have critisized. It is heaven compared to this one!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BusinessLeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petporter
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2010

The Dongfang Hotel is impressive from the moment you arrive. Its located right next door to the Marriot China Hotel, and a 2 mintue walk to the metro.

We booked the business rooms for four nights. The rooms are huge, almost like a mini suite. The rooms were spacious, clean and decorated with dark timber furniture, gold painted trims, and light coloured fabrics, the bed was kingsize, and firm, and the sheets were amazing soft. Also in the room was a wardrobe with bathrobes, a safe, hangers, shoe horns, shoe polish and slippers, the tv had endless channels but mostly for the asia market, for english speakers there was BBC, CNN, Australian Network and a movie channel.

The bathroom was huge, came equiped with all the amenties like shampoo, hairdryer etc, had a large bath which was a real treat to use after a long day at the trade show.

each night we had a turn down service with the room being set for bed, curtains drawn, corner or the quilt turned, little sweats on the side table and a lovely note from the cleaner wishing you pleasant dreams.

I can't fault this hotel, from the moment you walk in it's impressive. the staff were great, lacking a little english with a few of them, but then again my chinese isn't so great.

there are two gyms to choose from, the hotel gym which is free and a private pay as you go gym which has a fully equiped gym along with a spa attached. I used the hotel gym, and found it to be great for what i needed, a tredmill, weights and even a dance room...yeap a dance room, a little odd i thought, but hey if your up for a boogie they have a space for you to indulge ;-)

Getting to the hotel from the Guangzhou EAST railway station was easy, the hotel has a service desk with a mini bus to take you directly to the hotel free of charge.

If you book here you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2010

Got very good rate via Agoda which made this hotel excellent value. Room standard good but probably not 5 star. Service and communications good. Location excellent near to underground station and lake area with plenty of eating options for Western tastes. Only negatives were the never-ending, smoke filled corridors and seating areas between blocks and some Chinese guests who are very noisy until late at night. The positives make up for the lengthly bus, taxi or train ride to Pazhou exhibition centre on the other side of the side.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrettSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2010

I wrote a review regarding the water smeel problem...
After my review was posted, hotel sent me a e-mail that they will fix this problem as soon as possible.
I was very impressed with their customer service follow-up.
So I gave them another chance.
I stayed Deluxe Business Room this time.
I didn't have problem with smell and leaking water from shower room!
And their room service and house keeping service is very quick!
When I asked house keeping to bring something (3,4 times), it didn't take more than 5 min every time.
Room was three times bigger than Deluxe Room and it was very clean.
I definitely go back...
Actually I went back a couple of times since Nov.!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kay0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
Yuexiu District
China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
#33 of 3,384 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#10 of 3,384 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guangdong Victory Hotel
#30 of 3,384 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Landmark Canton Hotel
#48 of 3,384 in Guangzhou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou
#17 of 3,384 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dongfang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dongfang Hotel

Property: Dongfang Hotel
Address: No.120 liuhua Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510016, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#37 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#39 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dongfang Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 679
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Dongfang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dongfang Hotel Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing