We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, great for the budget concious traveller”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nomo Grand Continental Service Apartment
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good location, great for the budget concious traveller”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed in a standard twin room. First impression was the room was reasonably spacious (though very tired). Handy to have small kitchenette with fridge, kettle, sink, microwave etc. Bathroom was clean, spacious shower. Had to turn on hot water before using the shower.

Beds were very hard (typical chinese beds), though were slightly larger than a normal single bed which was nice.

The view of the river was nice when you could actually see anything out the window (Guangzhou is very polluted).

Service at the front desk was not very good, only one person spoke English, and were unable to give me basic directions or help us book train tickets etc.

The whole property is looking very tired, and in need of a makeover, though I believe some of the upper floors are already undergoing refurbishment. Wasn't terrible though.

Breakfast was 30Yuan per person, buffet. Very limited western options, wouldn't recommend eating there. McDonald is only a short stroll away anyway.

Beijing Lu is maybe a 7-10 minute walk away, which has some good shopping and HEAPS of dining options.

Guangzhou is a great city for shopping, and there is plenty to do just in the hotel area.

Given 4* rating, as we only paid $55US / night, got a great rate with Agoda.com. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for High Floor - river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank renegado_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    38
    36
    12
    16
See reviews for
22
14
6
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

the rooms are very bad. when you are outside home.. you would like to stay in a place that would be like a hotel not as shabby as a shack..!!!.. thats all i have to say.. it was a horrible experience and the last time i would even think of staying there...

Room Tip: " DonT CHooSE ThiS PLaCE... "
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vrSharath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stayed on the top floor with a great view of the river.The rooms were large,modern & the bathroom was excellantWould stay here again next trip.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiki036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
135 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This building is a mixed use building so it is not totally occupied by hotel guests. Apparently, the owner sold several units so the buyers either use them for offices or for their own homes. Big safety issue because there really is no way security can check ( he doesn't ). People can walk in freely without a security check. Except late at night when the guard on duty probably checks but I have never been stopped and asked. And the guards are not always the same so how can they memorize the authentic hotel guest from an unwanted guest, I wonder.

The beds are hard as a rock. Luckily, I found relief that there are other centrally located hotels with far better beds.

Funny water heaters. Relatively easy to operate but good luck : )

Cable tv reception was quite fuzzy on most occasions. The screen would freeze, too. Haha
Including CNN, bbc, etc.

Front desk personnel either cant speak english or with a terrible attitude which I experienced twice. I can forgive a non-English speaking personnel although this can be annoying at times. But to be given an attitude despite their bad service is the ultimate test. Sadly, this hotel certainly does not know 'Service'. You carry your own suitcases, too. I found the two porters inside the back room office doing something. Don't know why.

Saw heavy construction across the street from my top floor room. That explains the 24/7 thumping sound. A future stop of a subway or something, I suppose.

Front desk manager has been very helpful but the most of the staff needs reorientation. No General Manager. No real lobby. A portion has been set aside to sitfor refreshments, for a fee.

Noticed a lot of middle eastern and Indian patrons here. With sacks of stuff purchased. Nothing against them, of course.

Room Tip: GZ has hundreds of hotels. We have other choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oskrehoboth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

My family travelled in a large group and thus we opted for a suite (2 bedrooms) and a normal room. Alas when we arrived, the suite could only fit 3 people (one queen bed and one single bed in different rooms), which was pretty much the same as the normal room with two beds as well (which could accomodate 2-3 as well if we squeezed).

Cleanliness and location was acceptable and as for the suite, there was a microwave, additional sink, cooking area with a stove, which was a delight, but we were also unable to make use of them since there wasn't any pots, pans or even spoons. There is no view to speak of since the windows were dirty and visibility was low. And for those who are afraid of the cold, if you visit in winter it would be quite bad as they do not have heaters in the room. Just request for a portable heater from the counter and pray for one ;)

Last two pointers about the place. Their room phones do not directly connect to the reception and thus we had to make a few trips down when we had to request or clarify things. Also, be sure to leave the place a bit earlier before heading to the airport as the staff take some time to help you check out. They had to have someone run up to make sure that the room is proper (and probably that you did not steal anything).

Considering the location, it's not too bad a place, justifying the normal rooms' values, but the suites are not really worth it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank neelie-scribbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed at Grand Continental Service Apartment for almost two weeks. The only reason we stayed there because of location. Its near the famous Beijing Road and Pearl River in which you will find major shopping stores and restaurants. At nights , you can go and relax at Pearl river atmospheres .
The hotel itself is not much in term of cleanness and tidiness . but its okay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Khalifa_161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

1. As an international hotel they need to upgrade their services level, from greetings, communication skills, etc.

2. Cleanliness is a must whether it's in the room or in the waiting room in the lobby. An absolute watch out.

3. Honestly speaking, last time was my first and gonna be my last visit. Aside from services problems and cleanliness I encountered, I also faced one HUGE problem. The male cashier who refunded my deposit money apparently used FAKE money for as much as RMB300 (the total amount).

The taxi driver who drove us to the airport suspected there's something wrong with it and didn't take one of the RMB200 I gave. The tea shop I went to also knew there's something wrong with it. Finally, the souvenir shop where I had my purchase claimed that the money was FAKE. I then showed her the other RMB100 and yes, only then I realized my RMB200 have the same series numbers.

As a cashier, like in all shops in China, they will check the legality of the money and double check using money detector. It is impossible for the cashier not to know of the money he's using to refund me.

ALL guests should be careful of the incident I encountered.

As an international hotel, let alone services and cleanliness are such issues; fake money?

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank T. Sutejo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.3 mi away
Guangzhou Hotel
Guangzhou Hotel
#90 of 3,394 in Guangzhou
461 reviews
0.5 mi away
Guangyong Lido Hotel
Guangyong Lido Hotel
#1,561 of 3,394 in Guangzhou
356 reviews
0.5 mi away
Guangzhou Bauhinia Hotel
Guangzhou Bauhinia Hotel
#82 of 3,394 in Guangzhou
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilbin Hotel
Hilbin Hotel
#1,574 of 3,394 in Guangzhou
160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Landmark Canton Hotel
Landmark Canton Hotel
#47 of 3,394 in Guangzhou
476 reviews
0.3 mi away
South & North International Apartment
South & North International Apar...
#216 of 3,394 in Guangzhou
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomo Grand Continental Service Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomo Grand Continental Service Apartment

Property: Nomo Grand Continental Service Apartment
Address: No.147-149 Beijing Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510115, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 294 Speciality Lodging in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Nomo Grand Continental Service Apartment 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nomo Grand Continental Service Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Continental Service Apartment Hotel Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing