We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, far from everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Guangzhou Dongpu
Ranked #5 of 3,522 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2012

The hotel was quite ok, nice and clean. The rooms are living up to 4-5 start hotels elsewhere in Asia, I would say. However, the hotel is far from everything, not much happening around there.

The first night, i had the room service food, and got sick. Due to the lack of alternatives, i had to eat at the hotel the rest of the week, and it was ok - the buffet at the eatery restaurant is quite ok.

The staff were friendly, and their English was quite ok, much better than other hotels I have stayed at in Guangzhou...

Overall, quite an ok place, if you have to be in that area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisskou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yen c, Online Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Guangzhou Dongpu, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Sorry for the late respond. Thank you for your kind sharing and glad the hotel is up to your expectation. Look forward to welcoming back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 104 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2012

Very nice hotel. Comfortable. Rooms are spacious. Food in restaurant is good. Big drawback is distance from city center and other places, very isolated.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobbyDayal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yen c, Online Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Guangzhou Dongpu, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Sorry fot the late respond. Thanks for staying in our hotel and glad the hotel is up to your expectation. Look forward to welcoming back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

the hotle is good
staff is very excellent
But its hard to find people or other guests , as location is a big minus , no supermarket ,
no normal market nearby, to reachmetro you have to take a TAXI first whichis not so easy to find , then need atleast 1 hour to reach city centre , hotel is exceptionally well built but in cheaper package you dont even get acess to the breakfast and need to pay , However the staff was very polite and good , decor is good , but its like a desert whenyou look out from the window , hotel is undoubtly like a 5 star but only suitable if you are out onh oneymoon and dont need even to look out of your room window , aswhen u do u see just empty ground deserted . NO FREE INTERNET MAKES U OUT OF TOUCH AS ITS VERY COSTLY EVEN IN A DESERTED PLACE SO THE ONLY THING THAT COULD RELAX YOU AND MAKE FEEL AT HOME IS ALSO NOT AVAILABLE FREE WHICH MAKES IT WORSE , SO not recommended to stay until u r there only for a good sleep and want to stay out of the city in a desert with not even anyone to see nearby the hotel , No cars , nothing , even TAXI need to wait 10 mins but hotel will arrange . on the whole cannot recommend to GO even when the hotel or staff was good , Dont expect to see any fellow guests , feel just you are the only one in the hotel

Room Tip: overlooking the sea side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suneetkamra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yen c, Online Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Guangzhou Dongpu, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Sorry for the late respond. Thanks for staying in our hotel and share great suggestion with us. Glad to share that the wireless has implemented and guestrooms are ready to use from Feb 1, 2012. Look forward to welcoming back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

I stayed a week here recently. The hotel is spotless, rooms are large and comfortable.
The staff spoke English well and were easy to communicate with.
The internet in the rooms was spotty but most of China is that way, I carry a portable router and plug it in, I have great wifi in my room :) .
The Restaurants are limited, there is a buffet in the downstairs lobby. Food is OK but it is expensive. Make sure it is included in your room rate. There is a good selection of Western food and other choices as well.

The in house Chinese restaurant did not impress me. the service was a little slow and the food was pretty standard. OK for a change but nothing to rave about.

At night the Lobby bar has a duet singing. All I can say is wow. Sorry but not in a good way. It is so obvious these two don't want to be there. They were off tune and almost painful to listen too. But they do have a happy hour with 2 for 1 beer so we struggled through it some nights.

The area around the hotel is very residential, there are some shops and local restaurants if you are a little daring and want to try something not normally found in most places (dog, cat, etc.) you are in the right area.

I also did have a massage in the hotel, used some SPG points, It was nice. The Spa was clean and modern, I would do it again.

Overall I would stay here again, but it would be nice if there was more to do for travelers.

Room Tip: The corner Suites are great, they are all quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrislorl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

I chose this hotel because I am an SPG member and it was close to the shipyard I was visiting. I stayed three nights and it was very comfortable indeed. The service was fantastic and efficient. I never had a problem speaking English either. The hotel is also very well decorated and clean, definitely a Flagship Four Points Hotel. The food was very good (especially the evening buffets) and the internet was more than adequate....apart from Chinese censorship (no Facebook, etc). If I had to criticize this hotel for anything it would be the lack of smiling staff. Some staff seem very happy and are always quick with a smile but most don't. However, this is typical of every communist country I have visited.
I will definitely be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winson796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

The location of this hotel is really a nightmare... It takes about 45mins by taxi to the commercial area of Guangzhou. So, you would at least spend 1.5 hours a day going to the city and back to your hotel. Not to mention if you suddenly feel like taking a nap or rest in between and need to go back to the hotel. The taxis are terrible(not all but, almost all), some drivers drive like hell(speeding) and most of the taxi's air-conditioner are not working properly.
The room is very nice, big and clean. But be sure to check the air-con too ! mine never stopped automatically when the desired temp. was reached. So, it went down to 18*C in a few hours, everyday, and they couldn't fix it. I didn't bother to change my room bcoz I only stayed for 4 days. I paid around $130/night. Well, you be the judge of the room rate. Staffs at the front desk in this hotel are very unprofessional. Don't be fooled by hotels carrying the name Sheraton, this is not Sheraton atall, at least to me. The lobby restaurant is huge and cozy, with breakfast buffet; lunch; and dinner. The food is average, but the prices are definitely not. Joaquin, the manager of the lobby restaurant is really nice and very professional. He's from Spain.
Anyway, I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone, for business or for pleasure mainly because of the terrible location. The rest of the problem is acceptable. Good luck !

Room Tip: Be sure to check everything in the room first, ex. air-conditioning; faucet; shower; windows..etc. b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travlfate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yen c, Online Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Guangzhou Dongpu, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Sorry for the late respond. Thanks for staying in our hotel and sharing your comments with us. Sincere apologies for the service. We will take action to improve our service in order to provide the best service to every guest. Look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Really truly nice hotel and high class of service. Brand new and has a great gym, pool and all the amenities one would need.
Just a little far from anything to do for a solo traveler looking for a mall or an area for walking, restaurants, etc. There currently is NOTHING around this hotel other than offices and homes.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry8241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
5.8 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#2 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
656 reviews
8.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre
8.5 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#13 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
2,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Guangzhou
6.4 mi away
Jianguo Hotel
Jianguo Hotel
#29 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
670 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Westin Pazhou
The Westin Pazhou
#4 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Guangzhou Dongpu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Guangzhou Dongpu

Address: No.1 Jingying Road, Dongpu Huicai Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510660, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#5 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#13 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
#22 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range: £60 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Points by Sheraton Guangzhou Dongpu 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Guangzhou Dongpu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Guangzhou, Dongpu
Four Points By Sheraton Guangzhou, Dongpu Hotel Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing