We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and people”
Review of Lazy Gaga Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lazy Gaga Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place and people”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

i have been stayed there for 3 times and i always feel satisfied with all my experience while staying there. the people (i mean the staff), the place include the decoration, and the location are absolutely great. the location is so strategic, near the metro station (the nearest is ximenkou 西门口 exit B) and also near the shopping district (beijing lu 北京路). the first time you enter the hostel, you will see a big LCD screen and a comfortable sofas combined with a colorful decoration that make u feel homy. you will see kindly face from the other guests you will be meet and know a lot of new friends here. no worries for come alone here, because you will never feel lonely :) then, the people will greet you and serve you with a big smile in their faces. the people can say both of chinese and english. from the front office area, you can see a small but clean and full equipped kitchen. if you go inside their lobby, you will be more amazed. they provide a lot of games stuff there. after you go through the lobby, you will go up to your room. they have many kind of room. room for 2, dormitory for 4, 6, 8 people. you can choose between male, female or mix dormitory (i have try stayed in mix dormitory with 6/8 people and also female dormitory 8 people). the room was so clean. the bed is good. they will give a new bedsheet and cover for pillow and bedcover (you should covered it by yourself). for 6/8 people dormitory, there are outside bathroom. 1 for each floor. each floor will have 3 shower room and 3 toilet (with shower also). each bathroom equipped with a hairdryer, hot and cold water for shower. the cleanliness is great. i am suggested this place to every people who search a good place to stay. because this place is actually great and wonderful..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefanii_Wjy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    28
    17
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
20
39
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This was my first hostel in china and a great way to start the trip, it's new and still has a lot of building work to do in the corridors and rooms etc but generally it's great value for money and the staff are friendly. It's got a cozy common area and a small kitchen which does the job if you like to cook for yourself. A bar / cafe would work wonders here! And maybe some activities on offer in the evening to bring people together? My only real issue (it's only a tiny one!) was the telly was on really loud a lot of the time and isn't it a separate room, it's a bit of a competition with the background music and makes it hard to FaceTime! Location was great and loved the 'lost in translation' leaflets! Definitely the start of a great hostel :D

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gl0b3tr0tt3r333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planet earth
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I spent 2 nights in november 2013 in this cozy friendly youth hostel.Sinc eyou step in you have a friendly feeling, like entering in a friend's house: a colouful sofa is placed just in the way to the reception towrds a big LCD TV screen showing DVD movies ranging from V for Vendetta to a B sci-fi movie.The staff is adorable, always smiling and super helpful.
The rest of the first floor is busy with tables of various size and bikes for rental a table soccer and a mezzanine where smokers are required to stay.
I rent a room quite basic but with a bery clean toilet for a very reasonable price.Will definetely come back!
PS I don't know why but it says there is a swimming pool and fitness center..I did not see any of it so I just put average to not ruin the rate of thi sreally friendly hostel.(yes I love you guys) :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lostandfound2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

One of the best hostels I have been to in China:
- Great location, unlike so many others hostels in Guangzhou, 2 min walking from one very central metro station. Giant supermarket nearby and lots of shops & restaurants.
- Very helpful and nice staff, and who can actually speak pretty good English (a rare thing in China), and available 24/7.
- Nice common area and kitchen, with some stuff you can buy like cookies, soap etc.
- Big and clean double room, pretty quiet.
- Just too bad that there's no breakfast.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathias D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Highly recommend this hostel to everyone. I think they have made a huge effort to consider small details that will make you stay awesome. It is rare in mainland China to find a place that has a large lounge area for you to hang out and make friends and a nice equipped kitchen for cooking. I also liked the dorms, spacious, each with a reading lamp, air con and... wait for it... lockers that have plugs inside so you can charge your phone/computer/camera/other gadget while away for the day. They also keep your luggage for free after checkout and have internet in every area. Finally the location is ideal, minutes from the subway and with plenty of eateries nearby.

Room Tip: I would pick a bunk bed that is away from other ones as they tend to shake a little if someone sits...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucieCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz, Österreich
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Lazy Gaga is the best hostel I´ve ever been to. The hostel is clean, comfortable and cozy. Our double room with private bathroom was as big as a normal hotel room. The staff is fantastic and makes the whole experience even better. Everyone is really cool, friendly and helpful and they all speak excellent English. One of the girls accompanied me to a place where I could send a fax which was extremely helpful! The common area is suer cozy (we spend most of our time on one of the supersoft couches :)
We stayed at Lazy Gaga for two nights and are now going back there cause it was soo amazing!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zoeraissakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palembang, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed here for two nights and it was worth it. The room and bathroom were clean and spacious. The bed was comfortable. The service was great and helpful. And it was close to the subway and Beijing Lu. It is a shame that I don't get to use its free wireless internet computers and spending more time in the lobby because our hectic schedule. If I visit to Guangzhou again, definitely will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sisca_Andriries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.5 mi away
Guangzhou Bauhinia Hotel
Guangzhou Bauhinia Hotel
#69 of 3,462 in Guangzhou
140 reviews
1.3 mi away
Guangdong Victory Hotel
Guangdong Victory Hotel
#32 of 3,462 in Guangzhou
576 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
#23 of 3,462 in Guangzhou
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Landmark Canton Hotel
Landmark Canton Hotel
#47 of 3,462 in Guangzhou
486 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou
#17 of 3,462 in Guangzhou
448 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zhuhai Special Economic Zone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Gaga Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Gaga Hostel

Property: Lazy Gaga Hostel
Address: No.215 Haizhu Middle Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510000, China (Formerly Xinhui Hotel)
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 331 Speciality Lodging in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Lazy Gaga Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing