We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hostel in Guangzhou” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lazy Gaga Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lazy Gaga Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Best Hostel in Guangzhou”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

I stayed at this hostel for 3 days. This hostel looked really bright and happy from the outside, which is always a good thing after a long flight. The staff were really nice and helpful. They spoke adequate English but I wouldn't mind as I can speak Chinese as well. They helped me with recommending restaurants, finding roads, getting taxi, ect. I stayed in a 6 bed dorm, room was quite big with a lot of space to move around, bed was also comfortable. Shower area was excellent with working hot/cold shower. What I like the most was the lobby. It has a massive HDTV playing movies, a dedicated space to chat and mix of Chinese and Western crowd. I can't think of any downside of this hostel. Definitely coming back here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramli_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    25
    16
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
19
34
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, CA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

This is the best youth hostel I have ever stayed at, and the cheapest.

I spent 168RMB (US$ 26) a night for a single room with private bathroom.

The best thing about the place is the atmosphere in the lobby. Free all-you-can-watch movies and games on HDTV. A well equipped kitchen. A very nice mix of Chinese and foreigners. A staff that is super knowledgeable about where to find the cheapest and the best in Cantonese cuisine.

Room Tip: Some of the room's windows are bricked up. So try to get a room with window view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed in Lazy Gaga for a week and I have to say we were so happy with the place. The staff are soooooo friendly and they've put a lot of work into making the place feel homely. We stayed in our own personal bedroom which was massive, bigger then some hotel rooms we've stayed in in Europe. We had electric blankets AND a cleaner which was very unexpected!!
Lazy Gaga is definitely the best hostel we've ever stayed in and I couldn't recommend it enough!!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
148 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

When we went of the train at Guangzhou East station, it was without a single renminbini. As the cash machines wouldn't accept our cards, we could neither take a taxi nor the metro. We called the hostel, and they told us just to take a taxi. They could pay it - which they did.

The three person room on the eight floor, with its own bathroom, was very spacious with a view over an older part of the city. We were maybe not meant to, but we "reversed" the aircondition so it heated the room. Otherwise, the place was very cold. We came to Guangzhou on a rainy, windy day with 8 degrees - unsual, I think, for a tropical city. And they never heat in southern China. In the hostel lounge, people sat with thick blankets, eating and reading.

You shouldn't fault the hostel. They simply never heat. Restaurants, trains, stations, everywhere was icy cold.

The service was excellent. They were really helpful and interested and spoke English fluently. The hostel is a short walk from many points of interest in central Guangzhou.

We are sometimes a bit apprehensive about flats being turned into hostels, as fire escape routes etc. are not always up to standard. But here they were. There was a new sprinkler system installed, new fire houses and alarm sensors everywhere.

The money thing sorted itself out. We stayed for one night only. One could well be at this hostel for a week.

Room Tip: The three persons room on the eight floor was big and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brainspin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

The hostel is very spacious with a vivid communal lounge and well equipped free kitchen. Good selection of music and a very clean room. But they don't just have this. Once you come in, you'll easily have an illusion of visiting the home of good old friends.

We had some personal troubles during our stay in Guangzhou. That was quite embarrassing but the staff cared about us so much, tried every way to help us out. It would be a shame to call it a "customer service" because they don't just see you as a source of income and a customer. They take us like old friends who came a long way to a country we are so unfamiliar with so they help in every way they can.

I didn't book through a booking site so I left my review here to tell you guys how much we love you!

P.s. A small handmade gift is just sent to the hostel today by my Hope you guys 'll like it.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperMickTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

I was travelling around guangzhou recently with a couple of friends. We stayed 2 nights at lazy gaga hostel.

The hostel's location is very central and can easily be reached by metro or taxi. If you take the taxi, make sure you get the address (preferably in chinese) first. Many sightseeing spots are nearby, even in walking distance (for example temple of six banyan trees is less than 1km away, pearl river cruise can also be reached by walking straight south from the hostel). When leaving the hostel, many local food places and small convenience stores are near.

The hostel itself was very good too: friendly staff, very nice common room with lots of board games, free wifi, some souvenirs, comfortable couches and some necessities, should you have forgotten to bring them (towels, toothpaste, etc. can be bought). There is also a kitchen that is open to anyone. Rooms, bathrooms and showers are clean. The mattresses were a bit hard, but still comfortable. There are lockers provided both in the room for your personal stuff and in the entrance area, should you wish to travel around guangzhou even after checking out! The hostel is staffed 24/7 which allows you to check in late, should you wish to do so (we came from shenzhen late in the evening).

The price we paid for a shared male only bedroom was very fair for china standards, and cheap if you travel from anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank i b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Extremely friendly staff who can communicate in both English and Chinese. Very helpful in looking for another hotel/hostel in another city (free services). They can also book the High Speed Train for you to and from which ever city you want to travel. You need to pay in cash + a commission. The commission is paid to the person who deliver the ticket to you in person within the same day and that really safe you the trip of going to all the way to the station and get the ticket yourself. By the way the trip to the Station to and back costs $10.00 Your commission per person for the ticket is $20.00 Book for a private single or double upfront. It's money worth because you will have a very clean modern en suite attached. The chances are, there won't be any left when you just roll up to the front desk.

Room Tip: Upper level is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtjpoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
1.4 mi away
Guangdong Victory Hotel
Guangdong Victory Hotel
#30 of 3,384 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
#20 of 3,384 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
4.6 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#2 of 3,384 in Guangzhou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#10 of 3,384 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,445 reviews
4.9 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
#1 of 3,384 in Guangzhou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.5 mi away
Guangzhou Bauhinia Hotel
Guangzhou Bauhinia Hotel
#75 of 3,384 in Guangzhou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Gaga Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Gaga Hostel

Property: Lazy Gaga Hostel
Address: No.215 Haizhu Middle Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510000, China (Formerly Xinhui Hotel)
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 285 Speciality Lodging in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Lazy Gaga Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing