We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fair... complicated location...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elan Inn Guangzhou Huangshi
Ranked #1,565 of 3,559 Hotels in Guangzhou
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Stayed 5 nights, then 2 more. Room is what you expect from Ibis. Was there for Canton Fair Oct 2012. Hotel had bus to fair (50 RMB R/T). Breakfast was included; as in this type of hotels, it was limited. Options I found not to be too tasty. Of the 7 nights, had breakfast there only once, although I did grab a "fruit to go". An advantage for many "westerners" is that there is a McDonald's next door. Many had all their meals there. I went there for my daily breakfast.
Staff was friendly. Downside is that you are in a pure chinese area. Walk out and it's all Chinese and hardly anyone speaks the language. There is nothing to see in that area.
Metro station is about 10 min. away by taxi. I erroneously was getting out at the Xiaogang station (good to go into downtown - not good coming back!), which is very secluded at night and hard to find a taxi. Best option when going back to hotel is to get off at either at Baiyun Park or Baiyun Culture Square stations. Taxis are more available there. The stations are on Metro Line 2 (Blue).
Chose this hotel as I was late booking, but I won't stay there again. Price paid was about $47 USD with breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarshallDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

The Property is truly Ibis ,except that the location is greatly inconvienience without the Metro station , which is a good 20 mins away according to the Front Desk .
If you are on Business , be sure to take your dinner in town before heading back to Ibis .
Basic and Air Con do not work well during the Summer months

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calvinchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

I stay in this hotel 2 nights a week, since it is close to my customer.

It is no doubt very economical, and you can enjoy international chain type services, verses local PRC ones. Connection through public transport is a bit difficult, and hence the low room rate, but they do provide free parking. When their car park is full, they do validate an overnight car park nearby.

When checking in, please make sure air con is working good, the rooms with the IBIS famous plastic washroom work better for me.

The McDonalds next to it is 24 hrs, serves as a great alternative to the eatery.

There is also a big shopping mall across the highway, with supermarket and wider choice of restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with plastic bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leungleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siena2012
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Accor traveller
Jirkov, Czech Republic
1
Reviewed 13 March 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We are friends of Ibis brand. That's why we chose to stay there. We understood it was quite far from city center. For taxi is 42 RMB. We learned later from the Front Office when we checked out that we can save by taking a meter-taxi to the nearest metro (Xio-gang station) for 15 RMB. Then take a metro ride to city center each for 5 RMB. Staying there was interesting for us to see how people in that area live their ways of life. Shopping was not nice to find some cheap souvenirs. Not too bad to experience staying out of city center.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yao2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

First of all we had got headache as we reach to there. Nobody could speak clearly english and that had made a big chaos as we tried to make speak with hotel receptionist about the adress of hotel. And then next day we got a big schock at the breakfast. As we had seen in the pictures of hotel there should be fully a western type of meal but it was not. we got just few toast bread and an egg and some butter. As we asked about where the hell western breakfast they look us as they dont know what it means. Additionlly breakfast should cost us 20 Yuen as written in our reservation at the and they have tried to sell us for 30 yuen. .. The hotel was really far from fair area, and many many hotels have free service to there but our ibis hotel has made us 50 p.person for bus shuttle service. All and all after our many negative experiences I would think about your hotels at very end if I make any reservations after now.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emindemir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
Yi Li Hotel
#824 of 3,559 in Guangzhou
3 reviews
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#14 of 3,559 in Guangzhou
2,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jianguo Hotel
#27 of 3,559 in Guangzhou
675 reviews
Liwan District
RiverSide YHA
RiverSide YHA
#22 of 489 in Guangzhou
143 reviews
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#2 of 3,559 in Guangzhou
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elan Inn Guangzhou Huangshi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elan Inn Guangzhou Huangshi

Address: No.457- 459 Huanshi West Road Baiyun District, Guangzhou 510430, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,565 of 3,559 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range: £14 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elan Inn Guangzhou Huangshi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Elan Inn Guangzhou Huangshi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing