We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment all around”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Tulip Carat Guangzhou
Ranked #82 of 3,559 Hotels in Guangzhou
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I have stayed at this hotel at least five times and have always given it a 5 out of 5 rating. Not this time. I stayed there with my friend from 4 November to 8 November 2013 with my friend Patricia
On check in there was no one to show us to our room, we had to go searching for the room, only to find we had been given a smoking room, I phoned front office and asked to be moved. We then went out for a couple of hours, on returning we were told to go collect our bags from the old room and take ourselves to the new room, they didn't even b again.other to just move our stuff to the new room. Again there was no one to accompany us to the new room.
The room was fine until we showered, the shower water was not draining and pooled from the shower to the toilet next door. Again I called front desk in the morning to report it. When we came back in the evening we had been moved to yet another room only to find this on also had a problem with the shower drainage as well. The water seemed to pool on the floor of the toilet.....There is nothing as horrible as using a toilet that has a floor that's completely covered by water! Again I called front desk who then sent someone from housekeeping, the gentleman came in I showed him the problem, he looked around then he left. Never to be seen or heard off again. Thats when I stopped trying get problems attended to. and just looked forward to our depature.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PortiaNoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalTulipCarat, Manager at Royal Tulip Carat Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear guest,

Thanks for taking time in giving us your feedback. We fully understand your situations and sincerely apologize for all the inconveniences caused to you and your friend for recent stay with us.

Your feedback has been shared with the entire team and we are taking necessary steps to enhance our service level to meet or exceed guest expectation. We highly appreciate your comments and we hope that you will consider a return visit so that we have an opportunity to bring back ever good memories your spent with us before, please feel free to contact us via info@royaltulipcarat.com to be of assistance with any future reservations prior your arrival, and we will ensure your next stay goes smoothly.

Thanks again for your valued time and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Royal Tulip Carat-Guangzhou in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

I usually go there at the time of Canton Fair as Rooms are OK (make sure not to take the ones without windows). The hotel is nice (please see hereunder) but do not go there if you need a proper internet connection as the one in the rooms is not working or very very very slow (it took few hours to download my emails!)

When asked about the issue (Which I knew as I stayed in the hotel before and it was exactly the same problem) they told me it could come from my computer.. I had a good laugh even more as all my colleagues had the same issue. Well, as a conclusion: Don't go there if you need Internet Connection (and you won;t found one in a nearby restaurant or Cafe are there are none).

This time the room given was very close to the Highway and therefore very noisy... I asked to change and this was done.

Fitness Room is very nice also

Room Tip: Be careful to take a room with window! Rooms starting with a 2 are quieter than the one starting w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShanghaiJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalTulipCarat, Manager at Royal Tulip Carat Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear guest,

Thanks for your recent review of your stay in Royal Tulip Carat-Guangzhou. We are glad to know you like our room and fitness room. Maybe next time you should try our swimming pool which is highly spoken of by our guests.

Regarding internet speed issue, our management team is looking into it seriously to improve it. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at next Canton Fair so that you can experience the difference.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This hotel is beautiful, loved the room, very modern but very dull. Called help desk to brighten up but apparently that was the brightest. I could hardly read. Rooms are very spacious, loved the waterfall shower. Daily housekeeping was good, complimentary bottled water - you need plenty of this in China! The beds were the best so med to soft and comfortable.

Service - Major let down. The ladies in particular are very very rude, they talk over you, point at you while speaking in their language to another person and laugh, they raise their voices in their own language at you if you don't do what they want, half way through serving you if someone else comes they will leave you and go and serve the next person and the next and then come back - this happened 4 times!!!! They speak very little to no english at all and it's the most frustrating thing ever.. The service is -0/5!!!

Breakfast buffet & Restaurant set up was awesome!! Good selection of foods available.

Location - no one seems to know this hotel even exists so you MUST carry the hotel card that has their name in Chinese plus a map to show the taxi drivers as they speak NO English whatsoever!!!

Cost - I think it was okay for the hotel. I asked reception for my invoice and she accidentally printed another rooms invoice and I found they were charging other people less than half what I paid for the exact same period & room!!! I was so annoyed but they refuse to budge and would not give me a discount.

The hotel had a Canton shuttle which helped plus a shuttle that took their guests to different malls and shopping streets each night during the Canton. This was a huge bonus as got to see a lot of different shopping areas, they take you there and bring you back.

I would probably not stay here again because I cannot deal with disgusting service. This the norm in China, non english speaking staff so if this is a big issue for you, your better off staying in the big chains hotel where they have english people working there.

Room Tip: If your travelling alone, room 1415 is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gustavia_lui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalTulipCarat, Manager at Royal Tulip Carat Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear guest,


Thanks for your recent review of Royal Tulip Carat-Guangzhou! Thanks for your kind comments for our modern style room, breakfast buffet and restaurant set up. We regret to learn that your stay was not up to our standards of service level we strive to offer for our guests. Our passion is to provide you the ultimate service that exceed your expectations. The management team will do our utmost to improve the staff’s English communication skills and enhance our service. We truly hope you would reconsider a return visit to see our improvement on your next stay. Please contact us at any time if we can be of any assistance via info@royaltulipcarat.com.


Once again, thanks for your time to let us know of your stay. We are looking forward to see you on next Fair period.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Hi visted guangzhou for the 5th time and this is the best hotel I have stayed so far for sub rs 25k price bracket.
Service is excellent rooms are fresh and neat decor is average.

2 biggest grouse:
1, seperate wc area and shower area but they have a common door. Very inconvenient if you are with a business colleague. Hotel should definitely have seperste doors for the same.

2,location wise its far from fair area around 20 mins by bus or car but they provide free shuttle so cant complain. But nothing to do around the place.

Overall very good


Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank vvora701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalTulipCarat, Public Relations Manager at Royal Tulip Carat Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thanks so much for choosing the Royal Tulip Carat Guangzhou for your stay when visiting Guangzhou last time and for sharing your comments on Tripadviosr community center. We are glad to learn that you like our excellent service and clean room.
Our hotel is situated right at the foot of the famous scenic Baiyun Mountain, adjacent to Lu Hu Lake, it is a serenity from the city. Located minutes away from the Wanda Intl Square, the hotel is only 20-min drive to Baiyun Intl Airport, Guangzhou East Station and Pazhou Exhibition Center. Next time, maybe you would like to spend some time hanging around those places to enjoy the natural beauty with fresh air? We are looking forward to seeing you on next Trade Fair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

First off this is a beautiful hotel and I mean beautiful! I was blown away as soon as the taxi pulled up. The room was spacious with an excellent soaking tub and separate glass shower. My king size bed was perfect! The pool area was so relaxing. The entire hotel is a relaxing experience. The wifi in the room was reliable which was refreshing.

The downsides: Well this hotel is very popular for weddings. Which means if you are bothered by loud noises then you probably don't want to stay here on the weekend. I sleep with my ipod on so it didn't bother me. Also I stay out late myself so by time I decided to go to sleep the party was over or winding down.

As mentioned by another reviewer this hotel is not well known. I felt like I was alone in the hotel except for the wedding party. However they didn't stay at the hotel overnight. This can either be a good or bad thing depending on your personality.

For being a luxury hotel Royal Tulip has the WORST food ever. I can't even begin to explain how bad the food is. It's not even decent. Also if there is a wedding you won't be eating anyway because the restaurants will be closed.

The hotel is about 27-30 CNY which is about $5 USD away from the popular locations in Guangzhou. Which means every time I was hungry I had to get in a taxi for 15-20 mins there and back.

Also if you are looking for a hotel with a decent English speaking staff this is NOT the hotel for you. I'm pretty sure if I spoke Chinese I would have had excellent service. There was just a communication break down that confused everything. However the staff tried VERY hard and I appreciate and thank them for their patience.

When I booked this trip I had no idea where I would spend most of my time in Guangzhou. This hotel was a little distant from where I ended up spending my free time. Overall I enjoyed my stay. It's a high quality hotel, and I got to practice my Chinese. It was relaxing getaway after staying in the fast paced city of Hong Kong.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BritSuchALady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalTulipCarat, Public Relations Manager at Royal Tulip Carat Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thanks so much for you squeezing your time to pen down your experience on Tripadvisor community center. Your comments are truly valuable to not only improve our English communication skills, but as well our restaurant services. The management team here will do our utmost to improve the staff’ English communication skills and food & beverage services, we are confident that you will see those changes upon your next visit. FYI, our hotel is newly-managed by Louvre Hotels & Golden Tulip, the world's 8th biggest hotel player and we are working up to the top.

BTW, Royal Tulip Carat Guangzhou is situated right at the foot of the city’s famous natural beauty - Baiyun Mountain, adjacent to Lu Hu Lake, it is a serenity from the city. And we are sure this will be part of your next discovery here.

Your valuable comments would be shared with our team to enhance our service. Our mission is to provide you the ultimate service that exceeds your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Not a very well known hotel, but I was satisfied with it. The front of house staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean. We felt that the housekeeping staff was not very good, as we would often return to the hotel in the late afternoon to find it not yet cleaned. Wi-Fi, room service and the restaurants were good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsTM199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalTulipCarat, Public Relations Manager at Royal Tulip Carat Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Royal Tulip Carat Guangzhou for your stay when visiting Guangzhou and for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor community center. FYI, our hotel is newly-managed by Louvre Hotels & Golden Tulip, the world's 8th biggest hotel player. More information could be found via www.goldentulip.com; Your valuable opinions would be shared with our team to Improve our services for our distinguished guests.We are looking forward to seeing you again in our unique hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

HOTEL SERVICE - EXCELLENT is the right word
HOTEL STAFF ---- EXCELLENT
HOTEL DECOR ---- EXCELLENT
truely a real 5 star in 80% respects

the hotel even cooperated well by returning my lost item which i forgot in the room

BREAKFAST -- is now very basic compared to what it used to be earlier, its no more international ,its become chinese now which international tourist or business visitor like
me will not like , they have removed pastas ,cheese and similar things and international
juices and jams ,now it caters more to chinese taste .It needs lot of improvements if hotel wants to woo international vistiors rather than domestic

LOCATION --- still in the middle of nowhere and hard to find 7 - 11 stores nearby , you need to cross the road to even get any basic thing

taxi ride to main spots like beijing lu etc takes 25 rmb but its not difficult ,

KALI JU DIAN BINGUAN is what taxi driver understands but do not forget the hotel name card as otherwise you may never reach as the road name noone understands ,

SERVICE is greatest and the staff is excellent -- you dont even find this helpful people who just have a yes sir attitude to anything you say at even any time of night --- so to the staff - GREAT JOB , this is the reason why hotel is still full

THEME -- ANTS AND INSECTS PICTURES EVERYWHERE IS MOST NEGETIVE POINT , I ALREADY POINTED THE MANAGEMENT AT RECEPTION TO FORWARD THIS TO THE TOP PEOPLE TO CHANGE -- its really irritating ---

rest the decor , cleanliness is great , truly a 5 star and price is OK to pocket

Room Tip: rooms with view are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suneetkamra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalTulipCarat, Manager at Royal Tulip Carat Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for squeezing your time to share your comments on Trip Advisor about your stay with us during your visit in Guangzhou. We are pleased to read that our service was highly recognized and hoping to get your support as usual.

We will improve our buffet breakfast with a mix of extensive buffet selection. Once again, thank you for your review and endorsement. Our passion is to provide you the ultimate service that exceed your expectations and welcome you back again on your next journey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
3.9 mi away
Overseas Chinese Friendship Hotel
4.1 mi away
Royal Mediterranean Hotel
Royal Mediterranean Hotel
#66 of 3,559 in Guangzhou
317 reviews
16.4 mi away
Hao Yin Gloria Plaza Hotel
Hao Yin Gloria Plaza Hotel
#47 of 3,559 in Guangzhou
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
President Hotel
President Hotel
#81 of 3,559 in Guangzhou
434 reviews
4.8 mi away
Rosedale Hotel & Suites
Rosedale Hotel & Suites
#89 of 3,559 in Guangzhou
468 reviews
4.2 mi away
Guangdong Victory Hotel
Guangdong Victory Hotel
#33 of 3,559 in Guangzhou
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Tulip Carat Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Tulip Carat Guangzhou

Address: No.388 Guangyuan Middle Road, Baiyun District, Guangzhou 510405, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 3,559 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range: £38 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Tulip Carat Guangzhou 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Tulip Carat Guangzhou, managed by Louvre Hotels & Golden Tulip, the world's 8th biggest hotel player, is ideally situated right at the foot of the city’s best natural attraction - Baiyun Mountain and adjacent to Lu Hu Lake. It is a tranquillity for both business and leisure travellers. Minutes away from Guangzhou East Railway Station, it can be easily access to Hong Kong, Shenzhen, Shanghai, Beijing etc. For all business guests, Pazhou Exhibiton Center and Baiyun Int’l Airport are easily reachable within 20 minutes from the hotel. Royal Tulip Carat, a low-rise building, has a huge and tall lobby with 178 trendy stylish guest rooms, equipped with WIFI internet access to cater for both business and leisure needs. 600-square-meter pillar-free Grand Ballroom plus 5 additional function rooms, offering you a wide range for events from corporate meetings, education seminars or your lifetime wedding. A team of professional and innovative specialists are at your service to help you planning any of your events. Enjoy an exquisite dining experience at our Home Kitchen or the traditional Dragon Phoenix Restaurant. Unwind after a long day with your favourite cocktail at Mirage Bar. After a hectic business day, we highly recommend you to pamper yourself at our Yu Spa where you can enjoy various relaxing massages and revitalizing treatments. You will be delighted with our exceptional range of facilities and services available. Whether you plan a week-end getaway, your next corporate event or a romantic dinner, Royal Tulip Carat Guangzhou which is surrounded by lush vegetation, will allow you to escape from the hustle and bustle of city life without really leaving the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Tulip Carat Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing