We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed is Hard and Hotel is Freezing Cold”

Tianhong Hotel (Shatai South Road)
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tianhong Hotel (Shatai South Road)
Ranked #1,182 of 3,503 Hotels in Guangzhou
Reviewed 17 February 2012

If your traveling on China Southern Airlines with a overnight transit in Guangzhou (their hub) then you'll probably have been given a free hotel to stay in by China Southern Airlines. Well this is one of the two hotels they will either put you in. I got the pleasure to stay at both hotels and this one is by far the worst of the two.

The worst time to arrive/stay in this hotel is the winter. Because as soon as you walk in you'll be freezing cold this could be the thin glass entrance doors that allow all the cold air to enter the hotel. Even the staff are freezing. The hotel has a private restaurant that is only used to serve a free 6 item Breakfast buffet in the morning and if your need to use the washroom while your in the lobby hopefully you'll be able to hold it because the washroom involves a lot of walking. When you arrive as a guest in-transit the staff will hold on to your boarding passing until you leave (I don't know why they do this probably to prevent you from running away). Now I don't know if it's like this on every floor of the hotel but on the second floor of the hotel it is cold. I think we got room 203 and it was freezing because the latch of one of the windows was broken leaving cold air to enter the room. We had to sleep wearing sweaters and speaking of sleep the bed is hard it feels like sleeping on a rock.

You can only access internet in the main lobby but that means you'll be freezing while surfing and like all internet in China it is slow and sites like Facebook and YouTube are blocked by the government.

Room Tip: Try room on higher floors like the sixth floor they might have been updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jedimaster10248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 14 reviews

A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 18 July 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 14 June 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 1 June 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 26 May 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 9 January 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 12 November 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
3.7 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#12 of 3,503 in Guangzhou
2,561 reviews
1.7 mi away
Jianguo Hotel
Jianguo Hotel
#30 of 3,503 in Guangzhou
662 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
#17 of 3,503 in Guangzhou
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
#24 of 3,503 in Guangzhou
789 reviews
2.9 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,503 in Guangzhou
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tianhong Hotel (Shatai South Road)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tianhong Hotel (Shatai South Road)

Address: No.163 Shatai South Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510507, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,182 of 3,503 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range: £33 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA so you can book your Tianhong Hotel (Shatai South Road) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing