We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big rooms, far away from the city center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Guangzhou Ying Ge Hai Holiday Hotel
Ranked #822 of 3,396 Hotels in Guangzhou
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Big rooms, far away from the city center”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The rooms are big and clean, the stay is comfortable. Although it is near the highway, the rooms are well sound-proof. The view is nice if you are living in the 5th or 6th floor.

They have a nice conference room which is very suitable for professors or students to use. As you know, the hotel is 10-min drive from the University region.

It is far away from the city center and the transport connection is not good. You can only take the bus or drive to the city center. Do not think about the cabs unless you call them by phone.

The air-conditioner is weak, you have to wait for long time to cool down the room if you check in at summer time. Do not try to use the morning call service. They either miss it or call you at a wrong time.

Room Tip: Try to live on the 5th or 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HenryL34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    5
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
1
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alor Star. Kedah
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Minimal activities around the hotel vicinity. Room is clean with firm bed and flat pillow. Chinese tea packs in the room, but no coffee, sugar or creamer. Free WiFi. TV channels are minimal and mainly Chinese channels. Breakfast only available after 7.30am with few simple dishes.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne_My
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cartago, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

This hotel is close to the Fair complex and also offers breakfast included. Also there is a Cantonese restaurant on the second floor with good food at very good prices. Breakfast has the chinese alternative but also offers western food such as sausage, frieds eggs and several pastries and breads. Choice of juice, coffee and tea also.
Shuttle service to the fair for free everyday and there is a free service at night to downtown for shopping or dining.
Enjoy it!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ericardo1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cali, Colombia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Very clean and great hotel, with english speaking staff, good price and very close to the canton fair, they even offer bus shuttle to the fair with pick up and also a shuttle to beijin road at 7 pm. Best breakfast in my trip, with eggs, bacon and nice selection of bread.
Over all i really like the hotel. The restaurant is VERY slow, for a dish they took 2 hours, but there is nothing close to visit, only the fair.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gorocreep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

I felt this hotel is a 2 or 3 star. Have stayed in many China hotel and this was one of my least comfortable stays.
- Hotel was distant from city center, and nothing of interest within walking distance.
- Staff was pleasant and helpful as could be
- restaurant was open for breakfast only. Typical Chinese buffet breakfast, functional. For dinner, I was directed to the hotel across the street as it was walking distance. I did go, and did not stay for dinner as I found it to be dark and dingy, and didn't smell so appealing. Not really ideal as a restaurant to dine alone. I opted to get potato chips, instant noodles and a bottle of wine from the business center / convenience store.

Room:
- run down, but was clean
- mattress: like sleeping on a concrete slab. Pillows not comfy and not enough of them.
- desk: i suppose the desk was part of the credenza where TV was ? not good work space and had to save my email and wait to send using LAN which was inconveniently located across the room next to the bed. Somewhat amusing as the cable was quite short, so had to sit on floor with laptop on chair to send email. (with wine and chips)
- shower: I suppose it had been cleaned, but was so worn down that it looked dirty. I showered wearing hotel slippers that I brought with me from previous hotel as I didn't really want to put my bare feet on floor.

I'm a trooper, travel alone in remote areas frequently....but I really wanted to get out of these soon as possible. Was a very well priced hotel and shared a cab to Canton Fair with some other people ....so that part was convenient enough.
Stayed 2 nights, and read my books very slowly to kill time as there was only 1 English TV channel which was working properly and it was NOT CNN or anything interesting.

Typically I can entertain myself alone, and have no problem sitting at bar or in restaurant alone...just didn't feel so comfortable there. KTV Kareoke bar on site, which I didn't feel to go to on my own as a woman.
Like I said, I'm usually good on my own, just didn't feel comfortable at this location.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travellingunderpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Guangzhou hotels

Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

This is probably not news to anyone who has read the previous reviews. The staff were very nice at this hotel, and there are one or two restaurants located within walking distance to the hotel. We arrived at the hotel and decided to move to another hotel located in the city near China Marriott Hotel. From the airport, the cab took an hour to arrive at the Holiday hotel for about 160 - 180 yuan. The rooms were nice enough, but there is only one or two english stations on the tv. This hotel did work with us on asking the booking company to refund our money for the Holiday hotel. This was quite difficult with the language differences, but my husband stayed with the hotel manager, while I called the booking company on Skype. The internet is quite slow at this hotel. Be aware that this hotel does charge for breakfast and even for sugar that should come with the teabags that are placed in the room.

There is a club located next door to this hotel, but I did not go in. They collect a door charge.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for an upgrade if the room does not suit your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shadya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

Pros
Large neat and clean rooms
Good service by all staff
Free Wireless Internet in the lobby and wired Internet in the room
Free shuttle bus to Canton Fair
Not very far from Canton fair, about 15-20 minutes by shuttle bus
Free shuttle bus drop to city center every evening


Cons
Far away from the city center
Have to wait about 10 minutes to get a taxi
The night duty front desk staff does not speak English
No wireless Internet in the room so IPad and small laptop owners have to sit in the lobby to get internet access
No bar at hotel
No restaurant at hotel
No foot massage at hotel
No night clubs nearby, Staff at KTV next door speak "No English"
No Mc. Donald's, KFC or western restaurants nearby
Will be very expensive to travel by taxi if you need to visit city center everyday

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Splurgeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
Haizhu District
Sanflowery Hotel Guangzhou
Sanflowery Hotel Guangzhou
#949 of 3,396 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
President Hotel
#66 of 3,396 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Paco Business Hotel (Jiangtai)
#327 of 3,396 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Movie Star Hotel
#780 of 3,396 in Guangzhou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Pearl River International Hotel
#303 of 3,396 in Guangzhou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Soluxe Hotel Guangzhou
#37 of 3,396 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guangzhou Ying Ge Hai Holiday Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guangzhou Ying Ge Hai Holiday Hotel

Property: Guangzhou Ying Ge Hai Holiday Hotel
Address: No.2 Tuhua Road, Haizhu District, Guangzhou 510320, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #822 of 3,396 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guangzhou Ying Ge Hai Holiday Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guangzhou Ying Ge Hai Holiday Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing