We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A luxury hotel without personality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich
Ranked #15 of 3,523 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We stayed here in business in two periods during october for the canton fair. The hotel is new and trendy, the french staff is very upersonal, the chinese staff although not everyone speaks very good English (some does)was much more friendly and helpful. The hotel feels really luxury and I can really recommend the breakfast and the spa, tho rooms where spacious and clean. Why not a top score? The hotel is quite far from everything, it took a great deal of time getting to Beijing road and Canton Fair and somehow I miss the home away from home feeling, a luxorious sterile experience...

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonasCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,091 - 1,097 of 1,632 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2011

I traveled from Canada and stayed 4 nights at this location. I reserved three rooms. The staff is not trained well enough to converse in the English language. This is an International hotel that requires much more detail in terms of staff training and the ability to assist guests. My guest who I was traveling with was stopped by their staff and asked for a room card. Without showing the room card allowed the guest to proceed into the elevators. "Security" as a result is very much compromised in my opinion. If they are going to check a guests access into the hotel they should follow through with the complete process and not allow the person to be allowed to proceed without further questioning. When asked to speak to management, for an apology we had the head of security (who could not speak english) and the resident manager named Richard come to see me after waiting for him for 45 minutes. His personal apology consisted of paying for a coffee and a slice of cake. After feeling that the hotel was a risk to me and my fellow guest traveling with me, this is not a way to resolve the issue at hand. I believe the Manager Richard should be taught a lesson on how to resolve concerns from guests in a more professional manner. I understand that we all make mistakes but its how we correct them is how we are remembered. I do not recommend this hotel due to these reasons.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management S, Manager at Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2011

Dear Michael,

We are sorry that our concern for customers safety was misunderstood. The complaint initiated by your friend was actually that he felt bad being momentarily stopped by our Security to check if he was a registered hotel guest. Our Resident Manager has explained to your friend and three other Guests, including yourself, that this procedure was requested by the local authorities, and we had no other choice than to comply.

As your friend was very upset to be politely questioned by security, the guard did not insist, which does not represent any breach to the hotel security as our hotel is also equipped with an advanced security system, which fortunately does not only rely on the random control of the keycards.

We are very surprised to read from your comments that only a coffee and a slice of cake was offered. The fact is that all your party members were offered a complimentary dinner at the hotel, even though only one person was complaining. Our offer was declined as you did request instead a complimentary night for all rooms of your party, which I am sure you will admit was a surprising and disproportionate request. As a commercial gesture, the hotel took anyway the initiative to remove the only meal taken in the hotel from your friend’s invoice.

We hope this clarifies the situation and we hope you appreciate our high concern in our customers safety.

Best regards,

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Our stay began disappointingly as we had booked a hotel car for pick-up at the Guangzhou East railway station and had to wait over half an hour as the chauffer could not find us. This could have been easily fixed by having a board with our names on it for ID.
However it was all good news from there. We had booked a junior suite and it was beyond expectations and as large as a full suite in other hotels and better equipped. Staff were excellent and any variations requested were agreed to. For instance the evening buffet is huge and I just requested to have a selection from the dessert section. This was agreed and charged very reasonably. Butlers and concerge were all extrememly helpful and everything went very smootly after our initial negative experience.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RatuD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Brand new hotel, nice and clean. Friendly staff and spacious rooms. Few things should be improved, such as tables feet of their chinese restaurant and specially a larger font size of the chinese address on the hotel card that no taxi driver could read!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusinessLeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Stayed for Canton fair so the hotel was incredibly busy. I had a few problems and the local staff couldn't understand me so the wonderful French staff especially Marie took over. Too many Chinese staff saying ' bonjour' but doing nothing else.

Having said all that the hotel is superb. Most amazing pool , gym and spa area. I thought the spa was very expensive And not worth it. Stunning bedrooms and luckily I had a superior room which was a real wow factor.

Breakfast was superb and as a lone business traveller the evening buffet was simply wonderful, especially tepanyakicice cream! The staff in the buffet restaurant were really good.

Contrary to other reports this hotel is on he edge of the business district which is much less busy and safer than other parts of Guangzhou. There is an Irish pub 300m away ( right of entrance) which has live music on Friday and Saturday night and is packed. Get in before 8.30pm.

The nearest Metro station and Starbucks is 900m left and follow the pavement round. So the hotel is very accessible even without a taxi. I have been to Guangzhou many times and find the Metro easy to navigate , but would not use it on my own at night.

Despite some problems which are probaly teething difficulties of a new hotel, I would definitely stay there again. Make sure your have your plastic with you, as this hotel is expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuluNorthYorks_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Me and my daughter got chance to stay on 12 Oct 2011 in Sofitel Guangzhou, China. When we checked in we enjoyed a great hospitality from their recepcionist, then we were delivered to our 'big' room with tv inside bathroom! We got a marvelous day there, especially their indoor swimming pool, very cozy place to hang out. Most important this hotel located near the east railway station as we knew train is the most convenient and practical to travel in China. Sofitel give us such unforgattable moment in Guangzhou!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

This hotel is a really cozy, highlights the services of a Spanish girl, very efficient with their work, pretty and nice. Very good food, nice bedrooms and a really exotic decoration.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ricardo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
#19 of 3,523 in Guangzhou
827 reviews
1 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#2 of 3,523 in Guangzhou
653 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#14 of 3,523 in Guangzhou
2,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Westin Guangzhou
The Westin Guangzhou
#11 of 3,523 in Guangzhou
1,454 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
#8 of 3,523 in Guangzhou
624 reviews
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich

Address: No.988 Guangzhou Avenue Middle, Guangzhou 510620, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#6 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#9 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#13 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#15 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#44 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range: £95 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich 5*
Number of rooms: 493
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in Tianhe, the most dynamic financial and commercial district of Guangzhou, the hotel is less than a kilometre away from city landmark CITIC Square and a five minutes drive from Guangzhou East Railway Station, the transportation hub connecting Guangzhou, Dongguan, Shenzhen and Hong Kong. Facilities include 493 spectacular Paris style decor rooms and suites, all overlooking TianHe trendy skyline, 5 innovative bars and restaurants,extensive recreational facilities from SoSpa, SoFit 24-hour fitness centre to an indoor pool enjoying a panoramic view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich Hotel Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing