We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich
Ranked #18 of 3,430 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“One of the Best”
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Location is very convenient. It takes you not more than 30 minutes to anywhere; down town, or exhibition centre or the attractions. Service is excellent. Everything is excellent too except the price of drink

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    987
    352
    94
    31
    17
See reviews for
157
232
87
796
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Aust.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Right from start, I know I made the correct decision in booking the Sofitel.
Being picked up at the GZ East Train Station in a new Mecedes, to the express check in & check out. Everything just seem to click into place, from the pool/spa to the business centre - nothing was to much trouble for the staff.
Breakfast would be a highlight and surely not to be missed when you stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank questoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

I am committed to the Sofitel brand, am a Gold member of their A Club and stay in a Sofitel Hotel wherever and whenever possible. So on our trip to Guangzhou we went for the Sotiftel. I was concerned about the very mixed reviews on TripAdvisor and now I can see why. This is another mixed review.

First, the Good: there is the usual excellent rooms, MyBed and all the amenities. We had an amazing dinner at the Robata restaurant - the food and the manager and his staff were wonderful. It was one of the best meals we have had for a long time. The spa and pool were impressive. The Club Lounge was very good.

Sadly, there is also the Bad: On arrival, there was a very friendly and helpful French man who helped us to check in and also, later, the Club Lounge staff were good, but, with great regret, we had very bad experiences from the Reception staff.

We had booked for two nights but decided to stay for a third night. We asked for this at Reception and there was great confusion about what the rate would be for the third night. For some reason, it could not be the same as the first and second night. The manager dealing with us said she would leave a message with the rate - but three hours later had not done so, which meant I had to go back to Reception. In the end, we accepted another rate and agreed to stay a third night. When we came to check out, the French lady who checked us out clearly did not know how to deal with customers or how to use the reception computer! As I asked to check out, she answered her phone and walked off to deal with it, leaving me waiting for 10 minutes! She presented me with my bill which had a room rate for the third night way above the agreed rate. It took 45 minutes to sort this out at Reception, with various staff involved, including a manager. This was a complete waste of time and was very embarrassing and uncomfortable, which is completely unacceptable for any hotel, let alone a Sofitel hotel.

Unfortunately, this has made me think twice about ever coming back to this hotel or another Sofitel. However, I know this hotel is new and many people are still learning their roles. Read the reviews carefully. Maybe they need more time to get it right - but they are certainly not getting it right and they have caused this loyal Sofitel customer to be very disappointed and unhappy with the whole experience at the Sofitel Guangzhou. I will have to find somewhere else for next month's trip to the city.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank matthew792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

As I lay by a magnificent indoor pool I write this review.having read some of the reviews core this hotel I feel it is important to add mi view.we are currently here with 2 children aged 11 and 8.this hotel is by far the best in Guangzhou that I have stayed in. We travel 3 times a year to Guangzhou spending time between the garden,ritz Carlton and white swan.
For this trip we are here and will head to chime long for a night before re booking to come back for a few more nights.
Some of the complaints are so unnecessary.we all know about the language barrier in china and yes I experienced it here apron arrival while checking in but for anyone to say this hotel is not magnifique is wrong.for china standards it is wonderful.come and try for yourself and help the Chinese improve with their language and service instead of criticizing them.if I have any faults with the hotel I will let them know directly because this hotel is the best you will find!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessibelladelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 November 2011

The breakfast in the cafe was amazing and our 58 sq mt room was magnifique.......Oh outstanding design. Latest interiors and brilliant, spacious bathing room. Loved the stay. I could not have the chance to dine in the restaurants due to the packed schedule Nevertheless will do so on my next stay which definitively will be at this hotel in Guangzhou. Perhaps the best sofitel i visited.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2011

When I arrived the hotel had the wow factor, But I learnt fast ther was no value. I booket and bigger room from the standared and recived a room that I thik they make Porn movies in. I tryed ti plug in a desk light and the power point fell out, I tried to hook up to the internet, to do this I had to lift the top of desk and plug into inlet inside to top and I could not clost the top as it would break the connection, So I ballance my laptop on the front edge of the draw and pencil case. It was hopless. It cost AD$10 for a donut and I feel ripped off, Bad sleep for three days, Happy to leave the place and will not go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 390rogerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management S, Manager at Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you very much for your comments.

Out of our 493 rooms, we propose 6 “Honeymoon Rooms”. Their design is in line with the traditional Chinese decorations used to celebrate such events, with symbols of happiness and prosperity and a lot of red in the design. These rooms are in fact extremely popular for Chinese weddings and honeymooners, but we totally realize that they could appear surprising without prior explanation. Nevertheless, we assure you that they are in no way used for any other purpose.

The fact is our hotel was full during your visit and our Ambassador failed to mention the nature of the room you were upgraded in. We deeply apologize for this situation and would like to assure you that every necessary trainings have been reinforced to ensure this does not happen again.

We thank you for your understanding, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich in a not too distant future.

Warm regards,

The hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Great new hotel with superb free fitness zone on the 7th floor, which includes nice gym, fantastic big pool, small pool with hot water and a cozy sauna. Spacious standard rooms with virtually any amenties you may need. Separate shower cabine and bath.

Breakfast is great as well. Buffet dinner is 350 +15% RMB, which is quite a lot in my opinion. There are two restaurants - Chinese and Western style. The bar on th 8th floor is not operating yet, so the only option to have a glass of smth is the bar at the lobby.

Most of all I've enjoyed the pool, and the surrounding amenities) It was great to get a full fitness programm after a working day.

What else?

Late check-out is not a problem
Taxis are always available
Staff speaks fine English, at least it's not the issue in standard situations
Lack of restaurants outside is a real problem if you don't want to drive for dinner

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Makin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
1.0 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
596 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
#19 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
763 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#14 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
2,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Westin Guangzhou
The Westin Guangzhou
#12 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
1,325 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
#7 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
538 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
#2 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich

Property: Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich
Address: No.988 Guangzhou Avenue Middle, Guangzhou 510620, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#6 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#9 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#15 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#18 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#52 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich 5*
Number of rooms: 493
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in Tianhe, the most dynamic financial and commercial district of Guangzhou, the hotel is less than a kilometre away from city landmark CITIC Square and a five minutes drive from Guangzhou East Railway Station, the transportation hub connecting Guangzhou, Dongguan, Shenzhen and Hong Kong. Facilities include 493 spectacular Paris style decor rooms and suites, all overlooking TianHe trendy skyline, 5 innovative bars and restaurants,extensive recreational facilities from SoSpa, SoFit 24-hour fitness centre to an indoor pool enjoying a panoramic view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich Hotel Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing