We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich
Ranked #16 of 3,462 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Good Hotel”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Good lunch buffet although it is a little bit expensive.
Good hotel for staying although it is a little bit isolated.
Good manner staff and they are helpful.
Good for those who are familiar with local spots because public bus is nearby.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Rolandmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management S, Manager at Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments. It will be an honour to welcome you again. The Sofitel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,013
    357
    94
    31
    18
See reviews for
167
234
89
812
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2013

The hotel is in a very good location and perfect for business travellers. The breakfast and buffet dinner restaurant has so much to offer and is excellent taste. I like this hotel very much , however some of the staff service is not so good and they can be alittle rude. Also the lights in my room kept turning on in the middle of the night , and when i turned them off they automatically came back on again, so I lost some sleep in the early hours due to not being able to turn the lights off. Anyway hotel is good enough and I will stay there again. I like the cleanliness, the spa/pool and the food.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank jaime_gaskell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management S, Manager at Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We have shared them with the team and you can rest assured that it will be a pleasure to welcome you back in a near future. The Sofitel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Stayed here with the husband for about 4 nights in Dec 2012.
Gorgeous room, excellent service (for most of the staff members we met) rendered and quality food served. Loved the tv screen in the bathroom mirror. The bathroom was lovely and the room was really beautiful. The welcome gift of a small pack of macarons was a sweet touch.

Examples of good service:
1) Prompt check-in and check-out.
2) Concierge helped to book the tickets for a circus show we were keen to watch. But this was after the first attempt, where a surly looking staff member at the concierge counter brushed us off with a "no, we don't help to book tickets for the circus" reply. Nevertheless, we are happy with the services rendered.
3) Husband was not feeling well. I called the concierge who got his staff to buy medicine for my husband. After getting the medicine, a staff member came up to our room and explained in detail on how to take the medicine.

Disappointed that we weren't able to try out the buffet breakfast as my husband was unwell, so we ordered daily room service for breakfast and the occasional dinner. Food was fresh, well cooked and portions were generous.

Location wise, not ideal, as the metro was not within walking distance. You could take a 15-min bus ride (bus stop is less than 5 minutes of walking from the hotel) to the nearby GZ East Railway Station, and transfer to the metro there. We encountered rain on most of the days there, so we took a cab mostly whenever we went out. Be sure to bring along an address card as most of the drivers did not know the name in English. By the way, the drivers would know the location if you could say "Suo Fei Te Jiu Dian", which translates into Sofitel Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moonsafarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management S, Manager at Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments. It will be an honour to welcome you again. The Sofitel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Rooms were very big and elegant. Went on a business trip and coming back to the hotel was very relaxing. The staff was very nice and helpful. Breakfast had a wide selection. Swimming pool was amazing. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silbayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management S, Manager at Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We have shared them with the team and you can rest assured that it will be a pleasure to welcome you back in a near future. The Sofitel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

One of the best hotels in Guangzhou. As usual, superior quality and service from the Acchor Hotels brand. Great location and well maintained rooms. Highly recommended. Around 30 kms from the airport but right in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank thezaksons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management S, Manager at Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments. It will be an honour to welcome you again. The Sofitel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

I go to Guangzhou often, and I have stayed at various hotels in the city, and I can say without any doubt that this is the best of them all. The service is excellent, the staff care about the guests and they really make an effort to make the stay pleasant.

Congratulations!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Marco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management S, Manager at Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We have shared them with the team and you can rest assured that it will be a pleasure to welcome you back in a near future. The Sofitel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I have stayed a night in this pretty new hotel on 6 March 2013.

This is an excellent hotel for both holiday makers and business travellers - very clean and very modern in interior design.

The location is good as it is near to the shopping areas.

The staff is extremely professional and helpful:
1. when I asked about the nearest subway station, I was given detailed direction with supply of subway map - simply impressive!
2. the front office is flexible when it comes to acknowledging my cancellation of a night without penalising me although I have done it at 2pm that day - really flexible!

The unit that I have stayed is rather spacious and luxurious.

However, do note that the room that I have stayed is not suitable for couples with kid/s as the shower room and bath area are "semi-open" in concept, and I believe is it the same for most, if not all, units.

It is very clean and well kept.

The bed is big and comfortable, and it gave me a good sleep.

The breakfasts are good - a lot of varieties and very fresh.

It is rather pricey by the Chinese standard - at CNY1,150 per night.

My overall experience is memorable.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LML1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management S, Manager at Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments. It will be an honour to welcome you again. The Sofitel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
1.0 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,462 in Guangzhou
611 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
#18 of 3,462 in Guangzhou
790 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#12 of 3,462 in Guangzhou
2,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Westin Guangzhou
The Westin Guangzhou
#11 of 3,462 in Guangzhou
1,361 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
#8 of 3,462 in Guangzhou
572 reviews
4.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou
Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou
#13 of 3,462 in Guangzhou
1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich

Property: Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich
Address: No.988 Guangzhou Avenue Middle, Guangzhou 510620, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#6 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#9 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#14 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#16 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#47 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich 5*
Number of rooms: 493
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in Tianhe, the most dynamic financial and commercial district of Guangzhou, the hotel is less than a kilometre away from city landmark CITIC Square and a five minutes drive from Guangzhou East Railway Station, the transportation hub connecting Guangzhou, Dongguan, Shenzhen and Hong Kong. Facilities include 493 spectacular Paris style decor rooms and suites, all overlooking TianHe trendy skyline, 5 innovative bars and restaurants,extensive recreational facilities from SoSpa, SoFit 24-hour fitness centre to an indoor pool enjoying a panoramic view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich Hotel Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing