We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff and facilities” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich
Ranked #14 of 3,390 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Staff and facilities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Wife and I stayed there in July this year for a week. We found the location was pretty central for us as we had to travel to various locations throughout the stay. Taxis were readily available at all times and very cheap by NZ standards. The front of house staff at the door and front desk were efficient and friendly, and most spoke good English which is a godsend. The guys out front were brilliant, getting cabs for us, loading and unloading luggage and generally looking after us getting in and out. Thanks guys.

We treated ourselves this trip to a room on the club floor, 25th for us. The room was huge and really well appointed, great furniture and bed, and Sofitel "order your pillow" as usual. We had free wifi, simple connection and available right through the hotel. Great enormous bathroom and shower but the little screen in the bathroom mirror was sensored and would surprise you by coming on automatically when you went to shave. The wife loved it as she watched the news while doing her make up, so she got to see a lot of the news!

Great views back over Tianhe towards the GZ tower from the room and the club lounge on the 29th floor above us.

The club lounge was well appointed and the staff were very helpful. Great food selection (and wine or cocktails in the evening) water, juices and snacks all day. The evening cocktails were made more special with staff bringing around wee chefs special nibbles creations which were lovely. Thanks to Victoria who hosted us there most nights, very personable and welcoming, and Lawrice and Wendy who looked after us most mornings. I would like to add that all staff we came across in the hotel were great, very professional and helpful. Thanks so much.

One thing we found this trip in Asia (stayed Sofitel or Novotel in Hong Kong) we're the hotel staff and management were readily available and gave great service. Thanks to our hotel managers (the ladies from France (Maree?) and Russia - sorry not sure of names) for taking the time to speak with us and make sure our stay was enjoyable.

We didn't eat in the hotel apart from club lounge a la carte breakfast but the rooftop bar was really nice, great staff there also. Great Singapore sling!

I swam in the pool several times for exercise. It is about 33 meters long and housed inside with nice outside views. The entry is via the spa front desk and they will ask you to use a nylon bathing cap. There is also a very good gym, table tennis, and also yoga available at times.

We didn't' t get to the hotel for several days after our booking due to delayed flights and an unanticipated visa issue and the hotel kindly refunded our missed nights. We had obtained a prepaid no refund rate when booking so we really appreciated the return, it helped cover the alternative costs that had been incurred. Airport taxi about 40 minutes in good traffic for around 120 RMB. Keep a little extra to cover any delays and tolls.

We did receive some packages at times from a contact in Shanghai. We got them all fine but one thing that would help - if the hotel could notify us they had arrived. We were expecting these, wondering where they were and had to ask on each occasion if anything had arrived. Consulting a list we would find they had already been there some time. Apart from that very minor point virtually faultless!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, shout yourself a treat and get a room on the club floor. It's a bit of an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gladstone21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management S, General Manager at Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Gladstone21,

Bonjour! I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

We pride ourselves on superior customer service and I am glad to see that our team members went above and beyond to make your stay more memorable experiences.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Life is Magnifique!

Fredrik Genberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    934
    341
    90
    31
    14
See reviews for
149
223
80
752
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed three nights with my son in a twin share on the 21st floor. Fantastic room and very comfy beds. The bathroom also had a nice big bath tub. The location seems good and shopping centres not to far away by foot. You can get a taxi to quite a few destinations which take 15-30 minutes. Had breakfast there twice and there is so much choice. The hotel is also reasonably priced especially if you are a member of Accor. The staff there are fantastic and checking in/out was a breeze and changing money was easy and good rates. Definitely come again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ShanoP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management S, General Manager at Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear ShanoP,
Bonjour! I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

We pride ourselves on superior customer service and I am glad to see that our team members went above and beyond to make your stay more memorable experiences.

We look forward to your next stay, and want you to know that we truly value you as our guest!

Life is Magnifique!

Fredrik Genberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat
Level Contributor
93 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Its a city hotel, I was there for business. The staff is nice and courteous at the Mar Tea Ni lounge where we sat for most of the day until evening receiving business guests. The restaurants are of good too. We tried their lounge bar in the evening one day, it was nice. Language is not a challenge at the note as most people speak english. The concierge desk is helpful. The colors of the hotel are a little loud for me but the rest of the stay makes that bearable. They did not have the gold channel which was a let down as the PGA tour was on. Recommend this hotel for business stays.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NStar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management S, General Manager at Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear NStar M,
Bonjour! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I very much appreciate your kind words, and positive feedback. I hope you have left our hotel ‘Feeling Magnifique’.

I am glad to see that our team members make your stay more memorable experiences and I personally do note your kind suggestion to PGA tour programme on TV channel.

I hope to see you again soon, and want you to know that your patronage and your comments are appreciated and shared with my team.

Life is Magnifique!

Fredrik Genberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Recently stayed in a junior suite here for 3 nights. Wow, what an experience. The facilities in the room are everything you'd expect in a true 5-star hotel.

What really made this visit memorable though is the service. From the contact with the customer service manager prior to making the reservation, through check-in (at 8am no less!!), the Club Millesime, Restaurant Le Chinois and check out, we were made to feel special through the stay.

Every staff member, without exception, was happy to go the extra mile. Too often when staying at hotels, I find there are some staff that are helpful, but others are clearly just going through the motions, doing their job. At this hotel, we were reminded that there is a big difference between an experience that is 95% there, and a hotel that has 100% of their ducks in a row.

This is the way hotels used to be - well done for maintaining superior standards, I say.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheLongWayHome_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management S, General Manager at Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear TheLongWayHome_10,
Bonjour! I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

We pride ourselves on superior customer service and I am glad to see that our team members went above and beyond to make your stay more memorable experiences.

We look forward to your next stay, and want you to know that we truly value you as our guest!

Life is Magnifique!

Fredrik Genberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savoie, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Our stay was exactly as their advertise says: "magnifique".
Great facilies. we enjoyed the heated indoor swimming pool with kids, as well as jacuzzi. Indoor swimming pool is a must in Guangzhou compare to outdoor, as in summer it rains a lot and winters are pretty. Spa & massage are excellent.
World class service, beautifull & well equiped rooms.

Room Tip: We suggest strongly to book a room with the millesime lounge access. Their coktail from 5.30-7.30pm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management S, General Manager at Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Frank W,
Bonjour! Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. We have worked hard over the years to attract and maintain valued guests such as you. I would like to thank you for your positive review and your kind words.

I hope to see you again soon, and want you to know that your patronage and your comments are appreciated and shared with my team.

Life is Magnifque!

Fredrik Genberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Wow, this place is fabulous. i have been here for 3 nights so far and everything is perfect. The room is amazing with everything you could ever want or need. extremely well equipped rooms.
The large bath tubs fill super quick. The TV in the bathroom mirror is great. Love the huge windows with city views.
I was upgraded to a club room due to Platinum Accor membership, but would be very worth paying for the benefits. The 2 hour evening wine tasting is great, with lovely wines and every other drink you can think of. The continual food offered is beautiful and we have been so well looked after by the staff ( special thanks to Victoria ). Breakfast here is also wonderful. Very quiet and relaxing. The perfect atmosphere for a club lounge. top quality food and quick service. great coffee.
The staff genuinely want to help and are so friendly.
The pool is great. i just can't fault this hotel and will definitely stay here for our next trip to Guangzhou. Don't really want to leave.

Room Tip: Treat yourself. Go for a club room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willtravel44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management S, General Manager at Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear willtravel44 ,
Bonjour! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I very much appreciate your kind words, and positive feedback, which I have shared with our team. I hope you have left our hotel ‘Feeling Magnifique’.

I also appreciate your patronage and look forward to being of service to you again soon.

Life is Magnifique!

Fredrik Genberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
1.4 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#2 of 3,390 in Guangzhou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
#15 of 3,390 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#10 of 3,390 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
#1 of 3,390 in Guangzhou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
4.4 mi away
Langham Place Guangzhou
Langham Place Guangzhou
#5 of 3,390 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Westin Guangzhou
The Westin Guangzhou
#19 of 3,390 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich

Property: Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich
Address: No.988 Guangzhou Avenue Middle, Guangzhou 510620, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#6 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#9 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#12 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#14 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#56 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich 5*
Number of rooms: 493
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in Tianhe, the most dynamic financial and commercial district of Guangzhou, the hotel is less than a kilometre away from city landmark CITIC Square and a five minutes drive from Guangzhou East Railway Station, the transportation hub connecting Guangzhou, Dongguan, Shenzhen and Hong Kong. Facilities include 493 spectacular Paris style decor rooms and suites, all overlooking TianHe trendy skyline, 5 innovative bars and restaurants,extensive recreational facilities from SoSpa, SoFit 24-hour fitness centre to an indoor pool enjoying a panoramic view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and ACCOR so you can book your Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich Hotel Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing