We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
Ranked #9 of 3,521 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed their in April for the Canton Fair. It was close to the fair and the busses ran regularly or it was a 20 min taxi ride.
The Hotel was of a high standard and the breakfast was great as it had a lot of variety. The staff spoke good English and were very helpful. The executive lounge was a little impersonal but the facilities & food was good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (630)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

340 - 346 of 631 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

I stay at this hotel for one night to spend the weekend with my boyfriend, since I have a reward night.

The outlook of the building is not that impressive, but once you get inside, it's another world. The lobby is on the 5/F and it's very efficient check-in. All staff are well mannered and going out of their way to help you.

I spend a lot of time in the in door pool and it is fantastic. There were many loungers to hangout and the most impressive things are the 3 king size bed but served as loungers. I m not kidding, it used mattress, same mattress in you room. I felt asleep
immediately and don't want to leave.

The steam room, suna and jacuzzi were inside the changing room. It's very spacious inside and luxurious. The marble floor is heated which is considerate.

I am staying on the executive floor and have access to the club lounge. Free breakfast, snack and happy hours. Excellent.

It's only one train station from GZ East station. Get off at tiyu xilu. Short walk from there. It's very difficult to get taxi in GZ and I used the
underground most of the time.

Love this hotel, will come back more often.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Uffizi930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I lived there for 6 nights for a business trip. Very spacious, excellent bathroom and services. Nice breakfast and room services. It would be even better if the hotel is linked to the MTR. Now is a 10-15 mins walk.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

The Tianhe Marriott is located right downtown, with many restaurants and shops in quick walking distance. Traffic is a bit of a challenge getting in and out of the hotel however. The rooms were very spacious and clean. The bed was a bit harder than I expected, but very comfortable by Chinese standards. A wonderful and huge bathroom. I was surprised by how loud the hotel was. There was a concert across the street (and over 20 floors below). The set up went on ALL day and the concert itself was ridiculously loud. I could hear individual words clearly, which should not have been possible with me so far away. More sound-proofing is needed in the rooms. I was not able to sleep well.
I had a room service dinner which was tasty with good sized portions. Price was high, but not as high as many hotels in this class of service. The buffet breakfast in the morning was only OK. I expected more from a Marriott. Food choices were more than plentiful, there just wasn't anything that exciting and flavors were very blah.
service was excellent throughout the hotel except the lobby cafe, where it was extremely slow.
Overall a nice hotel and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side of the hotel AWAY from the sports stadium due to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravlnTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I was booked into this hotel by local colleagues, and didn't know exactly what to expect -- Marriotts can varied widely. This one was absolutely top on the spectrum! Rooms surprisingly large, with a bathroom bigger than some hotel rooms I've had in France. Absolutely comfortable bed, generally great staff. My only reason for not giving a 5 would be the breakfast in the restaurant - food good enough, but service was rather haphazard and abrupt. Would suggest to hotel management that they focus a little training in that area - but, this issue not enough to ruin my stay or prevent me from returning when next in Guangzhou.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheRealPhilGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

Cant say anymore words. ..This is one of the best hotels i ever stay...traveling for many years and very recommended hotel...hope Marriott can keep up to this services forever.this hotel is very clean and the view is very beautiful.i like the living room too

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jokooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I stayed here twice in May. Both times I did request a king size bed and I didn't get it on both occasions! Also on my first check-in I had to wait ages to check-in. Only two staff were at the counter but a number of people were waiting to be served. Also I had a problem with my keycard to my room. I went down to get my keycard sorted out and again had to wait a long time to be served. I also overheard a lady before me also had the same problem with their keycard!

Finally I got to my room, after about half an hour, and it was impressive. The room was large and had a light beige wood theme. The room was modern and clean. The impression I got was that this must be a new hotel. The bathroom was large and housed a bathtub and a shower. Both times I was given a twin room rather than a king bed. The bed was comfortable. Unfortunately, wi-fi is not included in the price. Both times my room overlooked the unexciting Tianhe Road. The nearest metro station is Tianhe Sports Centre and the hotel is next to a very large shopping mall

For dining, I went to City Bistro for breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was included for me. I would say both breakfast and dinner was very good. A lot of international choices and not just Chinese. For drinks, I went to The Lounge. It's not a large bar but they do have live performances. The service at City Bistro and The Lounge was very good. I also tried Java+ but was disappointed that they didn't serve sandwiches. They had salads and pastries

If you don't speak Mandarin or Cantonese you will find it tough in Guangzhou. Hotel staff spoke good English but outside the hotel you will struggle to find English speakers. The metro and train stations are all signed in Chinese and English. Taxi drivers usually only speak in Mandarin (not Cantonese or English). Best to write down address in Chinese and ask hotel staff how much roughly it will cost to get there. Taxis, at the end of the journey, automatically give you a receipt. If you're not happy with your fare suggest you take this receipt and make sure you have the taxi license number

I would say I did enjoy the hotel despite the check-in issues and I couldn't get a king bed twice. I probably try a different hotel in Guangzhou so I compare it with the Marriott. A good solid choice from the Marriott name though

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stanley2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
#8 of 3,521 in Guangzhou
614 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,521 in Guangzhou
638 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
#19 of 3,521 in Guangzhou
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
#3 of 3,521 in Guangzhou
765 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin Guangzhou
The Westin Guangzhou
#10 of 3,521 in Guangzhou
1,449 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#14 of 3,521 in Guangzhou
2,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe

Address: No.228 Tianhe Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 3,521 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range: £118 - £326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe 5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe is located in the hub of tianhe commercial district, adjacent to Zhujiang New Town and available to reach directly to the subway station. It is only 5-minute and 15-minute drive from East Railway Station and Guangzhou International Convention and Exhibition Center. It joints with one of the largest shopping centers of Asia with more than 750 shops and restaurants. It has 319 rooms and suites with modern decoration and magnificent city views, which are equipped well with facilities, high-speed Wi-Fi and Marriott’s signature bed mattress of REVIVE. Executive Lounge provides exclusive club benefits on 20th floor. 24-hour Fitness Center is equipped with an indoor swimming pool, steam room and sauna room. There are three restaurants serves guests with authentic and exquisite food. The banquet and conference space covers 895 square meters with advanced meeting facilities and professional service for any of the outstanding business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing