We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
Ranked #9 of 3,436 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

I've been traveling all over china and often stay in Marriott hotels. I must say this is clearly my favorite. The staff is very friendly and efficient, the rooms have a great feel to them and the bed is amazing. There is no waiting time at breakfast and the quality is excellent. For those who love the gym and can only recommend it. Machines are new and well maintained, the changing rooms are very clean and the sauna is top quality.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank heiner h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    142
    32
    8
    11
See reviews for
57
64
31
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

If you're not sure, I'm telling you this is a fantastic place and you should book it. Was in GZ for business and our clients stayed at the Ritz. This hotel is just as nice but in a better location. Total luxury. Big rooms, super comfortable, and high-end amenities. Your key only gets you to your floor so no worries about anyone who shouldn't be there. The surrounding area is GREAT! Tons of shopping and places to explore. At night there's lots of fun activity on the streets. The trees all have lights hanging from them and there's vendors along the sidewalks. You can tell this is a hot area for the locals too. During the day there's a park across the street where people fly kites, do Tai Chi, group dance classes, play ping pong, and all sorts of lively activity. Restaurants on-site are good too.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hytman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed 2 nights in September 2013. The hotel is very new. Rooms are large, modern, and very comfortable. Breakfast buffet was excellent. Staff were very friendly. Not sure about their English since I speak the native dialect.

Location is very convenient, within blocks of Tianhe City, a huge indoor shopping mall, in addition to being next to another large mall. The malls have fancy restaurants to fast food so lots of choices. The Metro is walking distance. The hotel also have a free shuttle (make appointment) to the nearby train station (15 min drive) that will get you to Hong Kong in less than 2 hours. The concierge will evan buy the ticket for you if needed. Taking the train to HK is the best option, rather than by bus or flying. The train first class is excellent (there's no lower class only a higher class, premium) with the trains being very new and very good, clean, toilet facility on board. cost is very reasonable at $190 hk dollar or $25 US.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TooMuchTravel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I spent my vacation in the Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe from June 26 to June 30 2014. Hotel sent a nice person to meet us at Guangzhou East Train Station.
Room was fantastic, clean and modern.
Breakfast quality can be improved but evening food at executive lounge was good. There were special promotion of some seafood dishes in the Chinese Restaurant. Most dishes were very creative and very tasty.
Staff are courteous, friendly and well trained! Everyone from housekeeping to Manager was gracious, friendly and smiling. The team was excellent and provided top tier service.
Special thanks to Ms Leaf Huang, the executive lounge manager, she got a very positive attitude to do well and to help their customers.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HW_GeorgeCHIU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel has always been my favorite experience hotel.. Everyone me, my wife and 2 daughters love it.. Today check in and found these weird regulations at swimming pool. We had to use shower cap for swimming.. Reception told me this new rules.. We had to pay 25 rmb for 1 cap and found it ridiculous.. But anyway found it funny and not acceptable.. Hahaha

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, Alabama, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I have stayed at this location numerous times since it opened in 2011. The location is perfect for Guangzhou. Easy walk to the metro and public bus depot. Short taxi to the HK rail station. Easy access to the freeway for a 30 minute drive to the airport. A western style grocery/department store is right around the corner.

The property is new and well kept. The internet is fairly good....good enough for wireless skypeing. The breakfast both downstairs and in the lounge offers many rotating choices as well as cook to order options.

The indoor pool, sauna and steam room is fantastic! Great pool if you bring small kids! Good exercise room and outdoor jogging across the street.

Rooms are US size...spacious and beds are the best I have had in my decade plus of traveling in China.

Staff is well spoken (English) with good mix of international managers.

You will enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Best view of the city is on the north side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCKey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Our first visit for a 3 day stay. Definitely not five star. More of a business Hotel well located in the Tianhe district 5 min walk to our office. The room was quiet and reasonably clean. Furnishings good & bad. No door to the toilet in main bathroom seemed strange. No spoons, corkscrew, wine glasses or ice cubes at turndown so you get to talk with the service centre a lot and wait some time for room service to bring your request. Therefore discovered some staff with limited English skills (but way better than my Cantonese!!) The breakfast buffet is very busy with limited western style options. Lounge facilities and layout very basic, like a cafe, food offerings also limited but a very generous cocktail hour period. Mega mall attached and plenty of other shopping near by. My overall impression of the Hotel was that is was a bit hit and miss. Nothing really bad nor overly exciting. Needs committed supervisors to improve. I would take a short stay here again for business due to the location and depending on the rate, otherwise looking for a better experience.

Room Tip: High floor gives a good view of the Neon lights in GZ
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ron c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
#8 of 3,436 in Guangzhou
556 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,436 in Guangzhou
605 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
#3 of 3,436 in Guangzhou
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
#19 of 3,436 in Guangzhou
772 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Guangzhou
The Ritz-Carlton, Guangzhou
#4 of 3,436 in Guangzhou
951 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin Guangzhou
The Westin Guangzhou
#11 of 3,436 in Guangzhou
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe

Property: Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
Address: No.228 Tianhe Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 3,436 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe 5*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Marriott, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing