We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO EXCUSE WHY IT TOOK ME THIS LONG TO COME BACK”
Review of Summer Palace

Summer Palace
Ranked #60 of 7,288 Restaurants in Guangzhou
Description: Savour the best of regional Chinese cuisine at Summer Palace, one of the classic Chinese restaurants in Guangzhou. The stylish surroundings of Summer Palace feature 18 luxurious private dining rooms ideal for an intimate meal or formal business entertaining.
Restaurant details
Description: Savour the best of regional Chinese cuisine at Summer Palace, one of the classic Chinese restaurants in Guangzhou. The stylish surroundings of Summer Palace feature 18 luxurious private dining rooms ideal for an intimate meal or formal business entertaining.
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Having lived in Guangzhou for 11 years now, I have been to summer palace in 3-4 occasions before, the last time being at least 3-4 years ago. I cant explain why its taken me this long to return, but when I wanted to really impress my brother who was craving for Cantonese and I only had the pazhou area to make my selection, I knew right then and there that I should take him to summer palace and I was confident that I will not go wrong.

From the moment we sat until we left, the service was more than attentive. The waitresses were
more than polite ( to the point it became a bit too courteous ). We ordered

1) peking duck, cooked 2 ways-just excellent. 9.5/10 ( the only flaw was the meat was too lean, which is good healthwise, but the duck virtually had no fat !!! )
2) prawns sauteen in orange sauce-10/10. We've had this years ago, we actually remembered and ordered again. Just as good. A definite MUST TRY
3) sautéed veggie ( Cantonese KAILAN ) in ginger sauce. 9.5/10. The taste and the freshness of the veggie is spot on. The only flaw is that the serving is rather small.

We had this meal a week ago, I remember we ordered tofu and a starter but I really cant remember enough to give a fair review.

OVERALL: Food quality, service is definitely top notch. Price is rather reasonable for a 5 shangrila. I am actually questioning myself why its taken me this long to return.
I will definitely go back much sooner than later.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tony c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 24 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2013

Food were great! I will said it's the best restaurant in GZ Shang. Well, it's Chinese food in China, I believe they won't fail it like other restaurant.

Thank sbugbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

The food , choise and service where all excellent.

Thank dmacBenalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed Summer Palace also viewed

 

Been to Summer Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing