We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor place to stay, Poor location except for Exhibitions” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Pazhou

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westin Pazhou
Ranked #5 of 3,385 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Poor place to stay, Poor location except for Exhibitions”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

I stayed here for two nights and did not enjoy the experience.
The lounge was very good, check in was very good but the rest of the hotel is not up to a Westin standard.

My room had various problems including a blocked toilet, loose taps etc.
Mini bar not restocked, it all just felt very unprofessional, shoddy and cheap.

Check out was the worst check out I have had from any SPG hotel and I have stayed at lots of them.
The hotel is new and I guess the staff are being trained, I do not see why customers should have to pay to train staff, cut the rates in half until they are trained.

The room was pleasant enough and the internet connection was fine.
Called down to have my luggage collected, they never came, just a horrible stay.

Rich

Room Tip: Another hotel with a trained staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich2809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    96
    25
    10
    3
See reviews for
11
16
5
249
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

A new hotel, everything is very good. Only thing is little too far out of the city center.

Room Tip: Ask a room facing city center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

what can i say about this hotel? is there anything bad to judge about it?

pure excellence at its best. hope this says it all!!

its just a bit far from the city centre (around 20 min by taxi) but what else can u expect from a hotel its purpose of which was to serve just the exhibition area of Guangzhou?

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

I love Westins. I stay at them whenever I can. This Westin however needs some maintenance and upkeep which I have written in a separate letter to the management--all this time for my simple fondness of the Westin Brand.

The staff at this Westin are exceptional without a doubt. Super friendly, very well trained, eager to assist and spoke English very well for newly trained Chinese staff.

The Executive Lounge was well appointed and I enjoyed relaxing there after coming back from the exhibitions across the street.

Only thing I would like to emphasize on is the maintenance here and there that this hotel needs in order to be in line with the true Westin standard that so many people like myself truly appreciate.

Room Tip: If you will be doing business at the Pazhou do not stay at another hotel. The location is outstandin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VenetziaOleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orang County, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stay there for 5 nights for the trade show. Great location and facility. The front entrance is big and wasted just like typical hotels in China - why can't they build it more cozy and smaller? I was upgraded to club level.

Pros:

big room, very nice bed, bathroom well designed and function.
great quite club level breakfast and happy hour - until last day some Chinese family went there and destroy all harmony. (Can those mainland Chinese act more polite and quite?)
big and nice swimming pool (100ft long), i had them for 5 days in the morning just by myself, staffs at swimming pool are very nice.

Cons:

Since it is a new hotel, staff need more training, I saw couple of western faces working there everyday and I think they will give their Chinese workers better training down on the road.

Need better sign outside hotel to the convention center and subway - subway is great had it is not peak traffic time. I pay $1.25 US dollars from airport to the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hog4oc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa, Ukraine
Level Contributor
1,056 reviews
318 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,530 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

I'm a regular SPG guest (Platinum) and therefore - due to the benefits - selected the WESTIN Pazhou while staying in the Guangzhou area.

Yes, this is a brand-new hotel, impressive by its building, the huge & high lobby, the materials used. I got a corner room with floor-to-ceiling glass-fronts on two sides, open bathroom etc. I unpacking went up to the Club to have a drink & some snacks. Again, impressive Club, huge, good selection of snacks & drinks, effective service.

We had dinner at the top-floor Japanese restaurant which was very good - but very expensive taking into account that you're not in Japan but in China.

And then everything got worse:
- room temperature below 20°C. If you adjust to 49°C it remains below 20°C. The only possibility is to switch off the ventilation completely
- difficult to close all the curtains
- bathroom floor very, very slippery when you leave the shower
- no real bar, just a very small lobby bar (no atmosphere because it's just some chairs/tables on the corner of the huge & high lobby). Not enough tables/chairs for such a huge hotel.
- bar area very dirty (used tissues on the empty tables, used plates on the floor...)
- hotel doesn't have enough hotel cars. So when you like to reserve a car the day before there's no car available anymore
- staff speaks English very badly
- staff not knowledgably

This hotel has a long way to go to be a WESTIN!

So until here everything went well, n

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HONkiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

Stayed here for business; had a trade show to attend and this new hotel is attached to the convention center. Very new, so there are still some kinks to be worked out (elevator issues for example). The room I had was HUGE and FABULOUS! I had an end room, so I had 2 walls of windows. Probably the largest rooms in China! The decor is lovely, the bathroom is terrific, and of course the bed is so comfortable. The service was excellent; everyone went out of their way to make sure all was good. We ate at the buffet in part because we weren't familiar with what else was available (not much unfortunately), and this is my only complaint. I feel the buffet cost of USD75 per person for dinner was excessive. We did finally find another place to walk to that was a nice, typical chinese style restaurant for a fraction of the cost. Housekeeping did a great job, including turn down service. Overall, I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Try and get an end room so you have more windows, making the room feel larger. Don't worry about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn_0130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.3 mi away
Langham Place Guangzhou
Langham Place Guangzhou
#4 of 3,385 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
2.9 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#2 of 3,385 in Guangzhou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou
Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou
#11 of 3,385 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
#1 of 3,385 in Guangzhou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
2.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Guangzhou
Four Seasons Hotel Guangzhou
#3 of 3,385 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Guangzhou
The Ritz-Carlton, Guangzhou
#6 of 3,385 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Pazhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Pazhou

Property: The Westin Pazhou
Address: No.681 Fengpu Middle Road, Haizhu District | Area C, Canton Fair Complex, Guangzhou 510335, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#5 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#17 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#79 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Pazhou 5*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Pazhou, a landmark hotel situates in Area C of the Canton Fair Complex, embracing views of both the Pearl River and city skyline, and enjoying enviable position of being the only hotel with direct access to the Canton Fair Complex. It only takes you 1 minute to Poly World Trade Center Expo, and 5 minutes to the nearest metro station. Convenient location provides you an effective exhibition experience, and our exclusive services must make your stay a renewal. Moreover, we are the only hotel which provides hotel golf cart shuttles in the exhibition hall. After a busy day, treat yourself in one of the Westin spacious and comfortable guest rooms and suites, eat well in sumptuous dining venues, host your events in extensive and highly flexible event spaces, and nourish yourself in the Westin signature Workout Studio and Westin Heavenly(R) SPA. Every element here is designed for a better you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Starwood APAC, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Westin Pazhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Pazhou Guangzhou Hotel Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing