We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
Ranked #2 of 3,396 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

Stayed there for the Canton Fair, price of the room was overated.
Check in was ok, but check out was a nightmare. Not enough staff, and couldn't understand english.
Breakfast has nothing to do with a 5 star hotel. Order an omelet, never received it on my table - took a while to get a coffee (which by the way taste terrible).
Would not come back!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ele N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_GUANGZHOU, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou on Trip Advisor. I sincerely apologize for your recent disappointing stay.

I regret to learn that your stay was not up to the standards of service we strive to provide to all our guests. I will share your comments with the team and reinforce training that focuses on providing excellent service that is gracious, personalized and attentive. We do not tolerate negative behavior from our colleagues and will address this seriously.

Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your stay. We appreciate your comments and hope you will reconsider with a return visit. Please contact our Executive Office by telephone on +86 20 3808 8888 or by e-mail at the address wwang@ mohg.com to be of assistance with any future reservations.

Sincerely,

Clemens Hoerth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    511
    79
    20
    7
    3
See reviews for
88
105
47
294
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Stayed here on business. Check-in wasn't that good. English was very poor, seemed management were busier chatting then actually helping. Breakfast was not good at all, not what 5 star quality should be. Luke warm food, servers didn't understand what coffee was. Overall a disappointment. I would not recommend this hotel for the outrageous price, maybe for half the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NuffieCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_GUANGZHOU, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou on Trip Advisor. Your constructive comments are very important to us.

I sincerely apologize for the deficiencies in service during your recent stay. We can offer no excuses for your disappointing experience. Please understand that providing excellent service that is gracious, personalized and attentive is our top priority and we continue to train our team of hard-working colleagues on a daily basis.

Thank you for your valued feedback. Although, we regret that we did not meet your expectations on this visit, we value and respect your opinion and hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Clemens Hoerth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
75 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

I stayed at this brand new Mandarin for the 1st time for biz few weeks ago. I have to say it's very impressive in a lot of different ways.

Good:
Brand new hotel with stylish deco from the lobby, room, lounge and restaurant.
Convenient located in the heart of Tian He with the latest up market shopping mall right next to it with many good restaurants.
Very attentive services from the staff.
The room is quite big and nicely designed.
The food at all day dinning restaurant is very good. Must try the Tiramisu.

Bad:
The layout of the hotel is bit over partitioned with different sections, same with lobby and even room. It makes the places look like small and complicated like a maze.

Ugly:
GZ traffic is just as bad as in BJ and sadly the hotel is located in the wrong spot of the busy intersection. The traffic light could hold you up to 10min when you are approaching/leaving the hotel drive way.

To be fair, this is not a cheap hotel, but you get your money worth from hard to software they offer and it does make you feel like you are NOT in GZ, which is a big PLUS to most of the biz travellers.

I will recommend any biz traveller to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eDUBShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_GUANGZHOU, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a review regarding your stay at Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou.

I am delighted to read how much you have enjoyed your stay with us, and that the hotel location, the architecture of the building, the big and comfortable rooms, the food quality as well as the level of service exceeded your expectations.

We are sincerely honored to receive such a fantastic comment, and you can rest assured we will do our very best to deserve such high praises.

Once again thank you very much for your recommendation; I truly hope to welcome you back to Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou in the future.

With my very best wishes,

Clemens Hoerth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

I've always enjoyed staying at Mandarin Oriental hotels as each of them has its own unique charm yet maintains the same high standard in service. I was very pleased to have stayed at the new Mandarin Oriental in Guangzhou with a good deal and a nice room upgrade. The hotel design is clean and classic. I usually don't like hotels with dark color tones but this one gives me the right solid feel. I especially enjoyed sitting at their Loft bar. The room we had was nicely cut into two areas with huge windows surrounding our bed. You can imagine how lovely it must feel when the sun is streaming down.

Of course this doesn't mean the hotel is 100% perfect. I didn't understand the meaning of having the second sink in a complete different design. I suppose it would have been nice if the sink functioned well but the truth is the water kept splashing out. Don't expect any lady to like using that sink. Their shower drainage was also not working properly. I told this to the management and it seemed like they were well aware of this situation.

I also felt that the quality of their breakfast wasn't very high. I didn't get a chance to try a meal in their restaurant , therefore their breakfast was the only food I can comment on . It wasn't just the food quality that didn't match the hotel , the variety and staff service also seem to be lacking some competiveness to other good hotels.

The biggest disappointment though came from their spa. When it comes to spa and massage or any other well-being treatment people immediately think of Thailand. I must say the best massage I've had was at the Mandarin Oriental in Sanya. I really thought this one might be at least close to what I had in Sanya ....but then.... I've had enough of spas and massages to come to understand it's certainly not just about being in a luxuriously designed room, or have the masseuse asking how is the pressure or wether you like the smell of the essential oil. It's all about techniques! No guests would feel their money spent matched a good value if they could get the same result from a street massage chain.

Other than these personal opinions listed above, I did again enjoy my stay with Mandarin Oriental. Their staff was generally polite ( except for one evening on duty front-desk) and helpful even detailed to the security guard. I especially liked their front desk manager Lynny who initiatively asked my comments and critics. Every guest might encounter any difficult situation possible but what's more important to me is the attitude I receive from the hotel.

Room Tip: Some lower floors might get noise from outside as the hotel is located at a big intersection
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SirKimmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_GUANGZHOU, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your experience about your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou with the TripAdvisor Community.

I regret to hear that you did not feel as delighted as you should have expected, your comments regarding the room, dining and spa are well taken indeed. Please rest assured, that your comments will be shared with the entire team and thank you very much for such an honest feedback.

Once again, thank you again for sharing your comments with the TripAdvisor Community. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou.

With best regards,

Clemens Hoerth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australian
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

I'm away every second week from home for work, so I'm not so easily impressed by a hotel. This brand new Mandarin in Guangzhou exceeds every expectation.
The trip was a short break away from Hong Kong. The staff here are amazing, from the pickup at the train station, check in, housekeeping and room service.
The rooms are luxurious, stylish and very comfortable, the whole place is so relaxing.
I went for a club room, and the club floor facilities and service are great, no half attempt at breakfast like some hotel club floors, there is a chef on duty for your eggs to be just the way you like them.
The gym, pool are spa are fantastic.
There importantly is such a warmth and generosity of service in this hotel that I will indeed be back many times. They've even provided the supplier details for some of the furniture int he hotel so I can get some.
The new town with the museums etc is only a 30 minute nice walk away. There are many shpping malls right near the hotel and a couple of IT centres.
Make sure you vist Shamin Island while you're there
Treat yourself to a luxury break, this is the spot.

Room Tip: go for a club floor, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank disport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_GUANGZHOU, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review and positive comments following your stay at Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou.

I am thrilled to read that the room facilities, the gym as well as the services provided by our colleagues have met and even exceeded your expectations. Your compliments mean the world to us. Our main goal is to always satisfy our customers and make them feel home away from home.

I sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou.

With my warmest regards

Clemens Hoerth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

I made a reservation to stay at the mandarin oriental to celebrate my bday in march.
Since the moment of inquiring and making the reservation on the phone, the service was very top notch.

Once in the hotel, the service was very friendly and accommodating-- we stayed in the Club level and we had a champagne bottle and chocolate cake waiting for us in the room, all courtesy of the management with a signed note from the general manager which gave it a very personal touch.

One side note: as another reviewer mentioned in other comment: the beds are somehow on the hard side, could be a bit more "welcoming", we mentioned this to the mgt and they assured us it will be taken into consideration.

We also had drinks in the bar (I think its called The Loft?) and the ambiance was quite nice, offering a sort of semi private rooms. The whiskey offer is quite interesting. (Better selection than the Grand Hyatt bar and could be also as good as the Ritz's Churchill bar?).

The club features breakfast and afternoon drinks and snacks which we enjoyed fully. The Club level service was excellent and very very customer oriented. The food was freshly prepared and the menu (for the afternoon snacks) changed day after day which was quite nice.

We took advantage of the "The second night on us" promotion so we had the chance to enjoy all the weekend in the hotel, that is very well located and easy to access. At the moment, the hotel could be considered "secret pearl" that sooner or later it will be discovered.

Room Tip: The club level perks are quite nice-- but overall the rooms are quite new and big. The light block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_GUANGZHOU, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing such a generous review with the TripAdvisor community. I am very pleased to read that you have enjoyed our hotel, including our Oriental Club Lounge, The Loft, and our legendary service. Please be assured that your positive comments have been shared with the rest of the team.

Once again, thank you for your review and endorsement. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou.

With warm regards,

Clemens Hoerth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

Last Thursday was 14Mar,it was White Day,my hubby booked the afternoon tea of Mandarin Oriental,Guangzhou to celebrate this day.

The location of Mandarin Oriental,Guangzhou is very good,it is next to Taikoo Hui,it is very convenient for shopping lovers.

When we arrived at the hotel,we were warmly welcomed by a smile from the doorman,when we asked where the Taikoo Lounge is,he led us to it with smile.The lobby was oriental and beautiful,the doorman was very nice,so the first impression of this hotel was great.

The Taikoo Lounge was situated on the 1st floor,it was large and the atmosphere was good.When we got in there at 15:00,the nice waitress just asked us how many people we were,after we said we needed table for two,she led us to the table,she was friendly and nice,however,my hubby had already made the booking of the afternoon tea on Wednesday,but she didnot ask if we had any booking.Around 15:30 they called my hubby to see if we were comming,my hubby told her that we had already been there for a while.I think that the waitress should ask the customer if they have booking first,that would be more considerate.

They offer two kinds of afternoon tea set,one is traditional,the other is chocolate,only RMB218/set/person,the waitress said we could share one set,the other one could order a drink.That was considerate,because the afternoon tea set included many cakes,although all of them were small,as afternoon tea,the portion is big enough for 2 persons.We chose the chocolate set,most of the cakes were tasty,we loved that!We will try the traditional set next time.
Before we left,their staff asked my hubby's comment,my hubby said that would be fantastic if there is Darjeeling tea in the menu,and then she went back to confirm immediately and told us that they offered the Darjeeling tea as well,but it was not in the menu,we can order it next time.This attitude was pretty good!

We love their cake so much,so we bought a cake in their cake shop after shopping,cake shop's staffs were nice too.The price was acceptable.

Overall,this hotel is excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penelope L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_GUANGZHOU, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time and sharing such a positive review with the Trip Advisor community.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our Taikoo Lounge and Cake Shop. Your kind words regarding the quality of the service and the friendliness of the staff is a reward for us.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou soon.

With kindest regards

Clemens Hoerth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.4 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,396 in Guangzhou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
1.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Guangzhou
Four Seasons Hotel Guangzhou
#4 of 3,396 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Guangzhou
The Ritz-Carlton, Guangzhou
#3 of 3,396 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#13 of 3,396 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,465 reviews
3.4 mi away
Langham Place Guangzhou
Langham Place Guangzhou
#5 of 3,396 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
#8 of 3,396 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
Address: No.389 Tianhe Road, Guangzhou 510620, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3,396 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to TaiKoo Hui Shopping Centre, each of the hotel’s 233 spacious guestrooms, 30 suites and 24 serviced apartments reflect the Group’s distinctive elegance and style. Diverse dining choices include Jiang by Chef Fei, one of China’s most notable chefs known for his creative flair; a classic grill restaurant, Ebony; The Taikoo Lounge; The Mandarin Cake Shop and The Loft. The Spa at Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou offers city dwellers and visitors a rare opportunity for peace and tranquillity with nine private treatment rooms. Top-tier meetings and function facilities are spacious and equipped with the latest technology, and the hotel’s expansive 750 square metre ballroom is set to become the city’s premier celebration and events destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing