We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape the miazma”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
Ranked #3 of 3,558 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is modern Asia in fine detail and 5 star luxury. A modest, almost understated entry/reception belies your experience when you stay your journey to your room. I was greeted by Chris (the front desk manager) whom escorted me to my room and guided me through the stylish suite. Beautifully decorated and appointed room with fine appointments.
I experienced the yum cha lunch at Jiang which I defy anyone to taste a better batch of dishes.
The spa experience also had to be experienced with a swim, spa and many other offers. Although the massages etc are typically expensive.
I would suggest paying for breakfast as part of your package as it's pretty good (although expensive if you had to pay separately). I would also recommend the executive lounge if you can as the staff are brilliant and the food, drink etc is worth it.
I commuted to the Pazhou fair easily via the underground right next door where there is a pretty glam shopping centre.
Try to get the hotel directions in Chinese because no taxi driver knows any hotels in GZ due to language.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank divdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_GUANGZHOU, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a review regarding your stay at Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou.

I am delighted to read how much you have enjoyed your stay with us, and that the architecture of the building, the well-equipped and beautiful rooms, the food quality, the spa as well as the level of service exceeded your expectations.

We are sincerely honored to receive such a fantastic comment, and you can rest assured we will do our very best to deserve such high praises.

In addition, your comment regarding the hotel directions in Chinese is well taken indeed. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. You may wish to know the taxi card is ready at our Concierge. Our hotel address and contact information as well as a simple map are indicated on the taxi cards.

Once again thank you very much for your recommendation. I truly hope to welcome you back to Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou.

With warm regards,

Clemens Hoerth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (796)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

346 - 352 of 796 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed at. First impression at the reception area wasn't great as it could possibly get quite crowded when the hotel runs busy at certain periods, but it was soon forgotten when I walked in to the room. It was beautiful, and the placement of everything was perfect. I have stayed in Many luxury hotels in Guangzhou and this is probably the best so far. The big shopping center which can be accessed through the hotel is definitely a great advantage of this hotel over many other hotels in the city. I'd like to try the W at least once as I am a big fan of their hotels, but it will be tough to beat this MO.

I tried to explain to the receptionist why the down light over the round desk wouldn't turn off by the master off, and she tried to explain that it was designed that way which I found it hard to believe. I didn't mind to get up from bed and switch it off every night, but if it also went off with the master switch turned off, then it would make more sense and would be more convenient. Anyway, I still give top spot for hotels in Guangzhou. That little inconvenience was insignificant to give my review any less points for this hotel. True MO standard!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_GUANGZHOU, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us during your visit to Guangzhou and for sharing such a generous review with the TripAdvisor community. I am very pleased to read that you have enjoyed our hotel, including the well-equipped and beautiful rooms as well as the convenient location of our hotel. Please be assured that your positive comments have been shared with the rest of the team.

In addition, I can assure you that your notes regarding the inconvenience of lighting control is well taken indeed and I would like to thank you for bringing this comment to our attention. Our main goal is always to delight and satisfy our guest.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back to Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou.

Clemens Hoerth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Here's why I loved this hotel:

Everything.

Here's what I had a problem with:

I couldn't figure out the iPad connector to play my own music in the room.

Sounds silly, right? That was my biggest problem, though.

Service to and from the airport was prompt. The room was beautiful and well-designed. The service from the staff was excellent and made me feel like I was very important to them. The food was very good, and even better, the lounge. We tried a few different cocktails and I was actually shocked by how good they were. If you enjoy a tasty drink, treat yourself to their custom mojitos.

If I had to nitpick, the view isn't great because, well, Guangzhou is a major city with a lot of big building, but that can't be helped. The location is town is still very good, though. Things were pricy for China, but so it goes when you want the best. The intersection where the hotel is is crazy busy, but that's not the hotel's fault.

Also, the staff informed me on multiple occasions that they're renowned for the spa. Having gone through an hour treatment, I can see why. Excellent masseuses, a beautiful and serene environment, and just a great time. My wife has been thanking me for weeks since we went.

The reviews for this hotel are good. There's a reason for that. Listen to all of these people.

Room Tip: When the bellboy offers to teach you about the features of the room, say yes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffkatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_GUANGZHOU, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed review and positive comments following your stay at Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou.

I am thrilled to read that you have enjoyed so many aspects of your stay, including the design of the hotel, the well-equipped and beautiful rooms, the quality of the food and our legendary service as well as the delightful moments in our lounge. We are sincerely honored to receive such a fantastic comment, and you can rest assured we will do our very best to deserve such high praises.

In addition, your comment regarding the Ipad connector is well taken indeed. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and rest assured that your feedback is shared with our colleagues, as we are always aiming to deliver the perfect hotel experience to our guest.

Once again thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back to Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou.


Clemens Hoerth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The hotel is brand new, next to a huge shopping centre in case you're bored. There's a large outdoor pool and a separate Spa annex and state of the art gym. I only tried the breakfast buffet which was included in my room rate and that was excellent. Wifi coverage throughout the hotel.was good. TV channels.were abundant. Nespresso machines are in rooms. NB the sheer curtains go down, and not up! Rooms are very big with bathing and shower areas separate from the handbasins and WC. Beds are.comfortable but hard.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Potato100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_GUANGZHOU, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking your time and for sharing such a positive review regarding your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou with the Trip Advisor Community.

I am very delighted to hear that you have spent such a wonderful time at our hotel, especially I was pleased to find out that the location of the hotel, the room equipment as well as our Spa and gym totally satisfied and convinced you.

Your kind and enthusiastic comments are our best reward - rest assured that your compliments have been shared with the rest of the team.

I would once again like to thank you for your time and effort, and sincerely hope to welcome you back to Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou.


With warm regards,

Clemens Hoerth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

One big thing that you should consider about China hotels is the staff's fluency with English. China is now what i call "post-American". They are doing great business with themselves and the rest of Asia and so English is actually less emphasized now than it was 12 years ago on my first trip to China.

Mandarin Oriental sees itself more as an international hotel and of the 7 hotels on this trip scored the highest in staff mastery of English. Not to say you still won't struggle ordering coffee at 4:30am.

Additionally, the Chinese do not love air conditioning as much as I do (having been raised in Texas). This hotel had the best air conditioning. i could cool my room under 71 degrees (what seemed to be the minimum at most of the other hotels).

Mandarin has a 'Western' restaurant, too. Very, very nice.

Room Tip: On Yahoo maps, Guangzhou (pronounced "gwon jo") is a 90 minute drive to HKG but the staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripReviews101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_GUANGZHOU, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your generous comment on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for such a positive feedback. Please rest assured we will share your words with our entire team.

We would love to welcome you back soon to Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou.

With warm regards,

Clemens Hoerth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

When i chose and pay a 5 star hotel I expect the best of everything. My stay in MO was not perfect.
Very small lobby with no place to sit. Rooms are nicely designed but not perfect. Difficult light switches, uncomfortable sofa to watch TV, very high WC and no magnifying mirror with light.

Upon arrival i asked for the room internet password thinking always it was included in the room rate but to my surprise the front office lady said it was not included. When i complained that a real 5 star luxury hotel should have internet included in the rate, the poor answer from the lady was that my booking was not done thru the hotel web but thru CTRIP and the online agencies rate dont include internet. Poor decision from the management not to include rate and trying to make a ridiculous profit with the internet extra charges upsetting from the outset their customers. I complained to the lady but she refused to grant me my expected free internet.

Second surprise was that i wanted to eat something at 2.30 pm and they told me all the restaurants were closed and i could only order room service and eat in my room. First time i see that a luxury hotel does not have any open restaurant day time.

In the evening i was expected the usual special touch of a luxury hotel for the turn down service but to my another surprise the turn down service came without anything at all, no chocolate, no gift, no card, no nothing. Thats not a 5 star service!!

I was booking a dinner with the concierge when i asked him how much was the exchange rate of the day to the USD. Very easily he told me to go to the next counter - just one meter away -and to ask the front office staff about the rate. I asked him to go himself , found out and to come with the answer. Thats not the way to reply in a top service hotel.

When i wanted to change USD in front office they told me the maximum i could change was 500 USD per person per day. When I asked to change 1000 USD , 500 for my wife and 500 for me, they said it was 500 USD per room per day. When i asked why that policy they replied Management instructions. So i asked to change 500 USD only and to keep the other 500 USD as deposit to my bill. The new answer was they cannot keep deposit in foreign currency following again Management instructions. Other top hotel brands dont have such rules, sorry.

We requested the hotel limo, good Mercedes car, but the driver was playing the radio and listening
to his favorite channel instead of offering a selection of music or at least to play the hotel choice of relaxed music. Not nice.

Kudos to Angie, the Guest Relation Manager!

Good but not perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_GUANGZHOU, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and sharing your review with the Trip Advisor community.

I regret to hear that your experience with our hotel did not meet your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. I would like to thank you for bringing your experience to our attention and would be grateful for the opportunity to discuss your experience in detail at your earliest convenience. Please kindly contact me directly by telephone on 86 20 3808 8888 or via email at clemensh@mohg.com.

Despite your experiences, we do hope that we shall have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Clemens Hoerth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

In China, a lot of hotels can be rated as 5 star for the hardware, but Mandarin Oriental makes it to more details and you can feel it from every details they made and from the smiles from the hotel staffs.

From check-in, we're warmly welcomed by welcome drink, quick check-in process and friendly staff who lead us to our room. The room is perfect with a hallway, a luggage area, separated toilet and shower / bath area. The room is equipped with capsule coffee machine, tea set, welcome fruits, and stationary. We brought our child together with us and the hotel staff quickly brought him slippers and robe.

The hotel is in the Taikoo Hui which is a nice place for shopping and restaurants. Parking is free in the underground parking lot and ask for the parking coupon when you check out. Wifi costs 120 RMB per day.

This is the first time I tried Mandarin Oriental Property, looking forward to experience other Mandarin Oriental hotels in other cities.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luca_Luo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_GUANGZHOU, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed review and positive comments following your stay at Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou.

I am very pleased to read that you have overall enjoyed our hotel, including its location, the room facilities and especially our legendary service. Please be assured that your positive comments have been shared with the rest of the team.

Once again, thank you for your review and endorsement. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou.

With warm regards,

Clemens Hoerth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.4 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#2 of 3,558 in Guangzhou
666 reviews
1.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Guangzhou
Four Seasons Hotel Guangzhou
#8 of 3,558 in Guangzhou
842 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Guangzhou
The Ritz-Carlton, Guangzhou
#1 of 3,558 in Guangzhou
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
#4 of 3,558 in Guangzhou
716 reviews
0.9 mi away
W Guangzhou
W Guangzhou
#7 of 3,558 in Guangzhou
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou

Address: No.389 Tianhe Road, Guangzhou 510620, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3,558 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range: £173 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to TaiKoo Hui Shopping Centre, each of the hotel’s 233 spacious guestrooms, 30 suites and 24 serviced apartments reflect the Group’s distinctive elegance and style. Diverse dining choices include Jiang by Chef Fei, one of China’s most notable chefs known for his creative flair; a classic grill restaurant, Ebony; The Taikoo Lounge; The Mandarin Cake Shop and The Loft. The Spa at Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou offers city dwellers and visitors a rare opportunity for peace and tranquillity with nine private treatment rooms. Top-tier meetings and function facilities are spacious and equipped with the latest technology, and the hotel’s expansive 750 square metre ballroom is set to become the city’s premier celebration and events destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing