We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou
Ranked #21 of 3,396 Hotels in Guangzhou
Corona, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Always nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

I've stayed here before and the service has always been outstanding. It seems that if you book directly through their website, the room location is much nicer and sometimes you may recieve better deals. I was upgraded to a suite when I had booked a regular room. Very well appointed and huge. This time I took the Metro from the airport and with one transfer got here in 20 minutes. Yuexiu Park exit on the blue line drops you off right in front of the hotel for $17RMB about $3 US. Hotel offered pick up for 450RMB about $75 US. Good choice of restaurants at different price ranges and a Mc Donalds open 24hrs. next door. English is spoken by everyone, and I feel very comfortable and safe here. Have a great pool and kids area. The beds are great as is the location. This is my hotel of choice here in Guangzhou regardless of the newer ones.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghorita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    866
    190
    43
    27
See reviews for
139
68
54
537
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Delhielhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

My office booked this hotel as I had been to Guangzhou to take a training session to my colleagues there. The hotel, like most Marriotts, is huge and charge accordingly. The first irritant I faced is the lack of English knowing persons (even after the Asiad!). Secondly though they collected a specific deposit towards telephone charges they did not activate the phone services in the hotel room. And my requests to get this activated did not bear fruit, owing to the language problem.

Food, whatever I could eat, was average - almost all menu cards are entirely in Chinese! So there was no way to actually make out what was Vegetarian except to mime it out with the servers. The staff mean well and are courteous but the lack of English makes all this not of much use. So, all in all, the stay in this hotel is something I would not like to experience ever again.

This said, there is nothing wrong with the room - it was spacious and pretty, though a tad small. And the bread, coffee and tea kit available in the room prevented me from totally fasting.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank subramanyan_nv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

Stayed here for the Canton Fair. Hotel is very nice and everyone speaks great english. Had the nicest bathroom of my trip in terms of facilities and layout, but was looking a little rundown. Beds were very comfortable.

Hotel has many options downstairs for food (definitely try the xiao long bau in the market hall) and starbucks is a good start to the day.

Next door to the hotel i recommend visiting the market for some shopping. Also head to the Beijing Road market for handbags / watches etc. But remember to bargain!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dubadelic_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

stayed here for a night. nice big room for business travelers. mcdonalds was just a few steps away from the main entrance. good for non mandarin speaking travelers.

one good thing to share is that Marriott Guangzhou offers free shuttle service from the main train station (took a train from Hong Kong to Guangzhou) to the property. They provide free shuttle for the return as well.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndrewSim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

We visited Guangzhou for 5 days in April 2011. We found the Marriott (also known as the China Hotel) to be a comfortable and clean hotel with good facilities including an outdoor pool and a choice of restaurants and bars. As with most hotels in Asia, there is a high ratio of staff to guests and a pleasing emphasis on quality of service. We were always made to feel very welcome, and front-line staff are mostly proficient in English. As a diversion, watch the gorillas on security - they look like they came straight from a Jackie Chan movie. We set ourselves the challenge of making one of them smile. We failed.

For independent travellers the hotel is well located for exploring the city. Guangzhou is not a city that gets a lot of western tourists but, in our experience, is well worth a visit. Adjacent to the hotel are two beautiful parks, LiaHua to the west and Yuexiu (Yo-shee) to the east. Both are accessible through pedestrian underpasses which is a big bonus in Guangzhou's chaotic traffic. Yuexiu park contains amongst other things the Zhenhai Tower museum and the Five-Rams sculpture. We found it to be a charming place to visit, particularly at the weekend when it is full of happy family outings. The small restaurant by the lake in LiaHua park is a real gem. Nobody speaks English but they make up for it with abundant enthusiasm. Also within a short walk of the hotel is the Han Dynasty Tomb and museum, well worth a visit. Most signs are in English. From the Yuexiu subway station, adjacent to the hotel, it is relatively easy to get to other visit-able sites such as Shamian Island, Temple of the Six Banyan Trees, and the Beijing Road shopping area. Travel on the subway is quite easy, with ticket machines, signs, etc being in Cantonese and English.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at this hotel and and would recommend it as a safe, convenient and comfortable place to stay in Guangzhou.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marcus_and_Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
110 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

This place in addition of being elegant and well-appointed has everything. In fact, I attended the Canton Fair and they even had a shuttle bus that was prompt and very helpful.

I was upgraded to a superb suite. The comfort was great, very spacious. You can work comfortably. Most people at the front desk can speak English and are willing to help in any possible way. I came in contact with three of the concierges: Eri, Randall and Stanley, their service was impeccable.

I agree with some of the reviews that on the second floor restaurant in addition of being pricey, the service needs attention. The wait staff is attentive but need to pass by the tables and ask if something is needed not leave the customer unattended for a long time.

If you get a room facing the pool you may experience noise from the bar, even if you are staying in a high floor. The music stops around midnight.

I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CandyManMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

The hotel and the service was really nice. Went with my husband and couple of friends. the rooms were spacious and very nice. The staff was also very nice and courteous. Most of the staff at reception could talk in English which is otherwise a problem in China, it wasnt ofcourse the most fluent but decent enough.
The breakfast spread was also very nice.
The only problem that the wi-fi which they said is in th ewhole hotel was just in one of their bars and that too was shut whenever we wanted it. There was a starbucks in the hotel which had free wi-fi so it was alright.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hkdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou
#17 of 3,396 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dongfang Hotel
Dongfang Hotel
#38 of 3,396 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#13 of 3,396 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,396 in Guangzhou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre
4.3 mi away
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
#6 of 3,396 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou

Property: China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou
Address: 122 Liu Hua Road, Guangzhou 510015, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou > Yuexiu District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#12 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#21 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#26 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#54 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 850
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 850 guestrooms, China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel presents a classic charm delicately blended with contemporary leisure and business facilities to make your stay the most pleasurable possible! Our dedicated chefs will take you on a culinary journey through Western and Asian cuisines to ensure that your business dinner or your family and friends gatherings meet everybody's expectations. With over 1200m2, our large meeting space is complemented by friendly and efficient service on offer from our banquet menu - enough to make every business event or social occasion an unparalleled success. Creating unforgettable moments by offering the highest service standards -"The Marriott Way." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
China Hotel Marriott
Marriott Guangzhou
Guangzhou Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing