We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canton Fair and China Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou
Ranked #24 of 3,522 Hotels in Guangzhou
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We spent a week for Canton Fair and the bedroom was very good. The most amazing thing is the service and variety of activities from breakfast alternatives to Happy Hours on Executive Lounge. Very convenient on City Center with Metro Stop right below. Very easy ride to Canton Fair with one interchange. Main Guangzhou non business activities within 2 or 3 stops from Marriott.

Room Tip: Definitely High Floors and take advantage of Executive Lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juanfer07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,802)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

527 - 533 of 1,802 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

I stayed 3 nights at this hotel for business in April. For a China Hotel, it was up to par. The food and service were ok, except for the steak house which was very overpriced for the quality at over $100 us for each person. The shower could have been cleaner, but again for Mainland China it was fine. Rooms are well apointed with Glass Shower stalls and have western amenities. The executive lounge had breakfast and snacks and drinks at dinner. I would reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BjB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel early April. It is fine hotel but show its age compared to other newer hotels in the city. However, this is only hotel in the Marriott Group. There is no alternative b/c we like to stay at Marriott. Location is right in the city center.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluebirdchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The China Marriott Hotel pleasantly surprised me after a long journey through China. The service at this hotel is quite amazing and organized. Rooms are a little on the small size; however, well appointed with smart modern eastern decor. The breakfast buffet is includes in the price, and is vast complete with international fare.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed here a week, and were very pleased. The hotel is beautiful, clean, upscale. The rooms are lovely, though not incredibly large. We ate breakfast daily in the hotel and it was outstanding, a tremendous selection of fresh food, eastern and western palates equally served. There is a reasonably priced hotel convenience store within the hotel, as well as a Starbucks. Just outside the hotel is a McDonalds and a 7/11 for folks who need to taste American food. A lovely park is within walking distance, as are several good restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

The hotel is good by global standards. The rooms are nice and well appointed. I particularly like the longer bathtubs that enable me to fit my whole body. The smell of cigarette smoke was not as prevalent as at other hotels in China in which I have stayed, but could be smelled as one walks down the hallways.

The Executive Lounge, which serves a free breakfast buffet was good. However, even though the posted hours are from 6am -12am, the buffet was not "ready" until closer to 7:30am. I think after 8am is more realistic. If you want cold food...that was ready by 7am, but nothing hot was even close to ready by 7:30. The potato cakes, though deep fried, were, at best, room temperature on the outide and cold on the inside. The cooked to order egg station was not ready to cook until 7:30, and the stove was not even wamed up yet. The omelet I ordered more resembled a scrambled egg in it's preparation. The bacon seemed as though it was cooked the night before, refrigerated, and then put out to warm up at room temperature since the heat lamps were not working properly. I'm not a fan of cold bacon. The fried noodles were also cold, not even warm. Maybe by 8 or 9am they are truly ready. So if you are looking for a good early breakfast before you head out for the day, this may well be a let down...unless you like your hot food served cold.

The exercise facilities were excellent. A pool in which you you could actually do laps, numerious cardio and weights options and a nice, albeit small, hot tub in the locker room.

If they get the Executive Lounge buffet thing straightened out, I'd rate it a 5.

Room Tip: Hallways are long, so best to get near an elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thom1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

When I saw the building I was quite worried as it looked really old & boring. Until we stepped into the lobby, everything was perfect. Nice big room, newly renovated. We had breakfast at the food street & four season restaurant, quite expensive in China standard, but the dim sum are really good, especially in Four Season. It very convenient too as it just above the Metro station. And train station is also a few minutes by taxi away.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miaw G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.1 mi away
Dongfang Hotel
Dongfang Hotel
#22 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
916 reviews
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Guangzhou
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#14 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
2,587 reviews
4.2 mi away
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
#9 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
631 reviews
10.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Guangzhou Dongpu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou

Address: 122 Liu Hua Road, Guangzhou 510015, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou > Yuexiu District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#12 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#24 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#26 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#44 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range: £82 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 850
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 850 guestrooms, China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel presents a classic charm delicately blended with contemporary leisure and business facilities to make your stay the most pleasurable possible! Our dedicated chefs will take you on a culinary journey through Western and Asian cuisines to ensure that your business dinner or your family and friends gatherings meet everybody's expectations. With over 1200m2, our large meeting space is complemented by friendly and efficient service on offer from our banquet menu - enough to make every business event or social occasion an unparalleled success. Creating unforgettable moments by offering the highest service standards -"The Marriott Way." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Marriott, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
China Hotel Marriott
Marriott Guangzhou
Guangzhou Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing