We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but far”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou
Ranked #25 of 3,506 Hotels in Guangzhou
Reviewed 27 January 2013

I went to this hotel on several ocassions when the canton fair was held in Lihua, it was the best hotel to stay since it was connected to the fair and was an ellegant hotel with great rooms and food and also it was one of the few american chains in town so it was the place to go. Now with so many alternatives closer to the Pazhou complex starting from the Grand Hyatt, Four Seasons, and Ritz with almost the same room rates all the way to the Shangri La and the Westin at are across and connected to the fair it virtually useless to go to this hotel. As for the service and the room quality, the hotel is now old and you will definitively have better of this at the other hotels mentioned.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Labne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,790)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

460 - 466 of 1,790 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2013

Fabulous spa with first rate massages. Tried the vigorous sports massage after a long day. My sister had the foot massage, very good as they are experts in reflexology, treat yourself!

Glad fresh OJ is back in the lounge and better food selection recently. Really can’t fault China Hotel on location, accommodation and service, we’ve been staying here for years.

Room Tip: Executive lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mainevent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Executive room during stayed 23/12-26/12, Very high service standard with well trained staff, Lots of choices & wonderful breakfast. Location right at the MRT station. No complaint, no regret to stay. Definitely will recommended to friends and must come to stay with them again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosanna2516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed at the China Hotel in August 2012 while adopting our son. It was a haven! The rooms, while relatively small, are well-appointed, clean, comfortable, and largely quiet. Maybe most-importantly in Guangzhou in August though, they were pleasently cool!! Our sons, ages four and two, LOVED the pool which our room overlooked and liked the play area which is pretty big. Having a Starbucks and a few dining opitions as well as a few small stores *in* the hotel "complex" was nice, and the short walk to the 7-11 and McDonald's was a blessing! We were also able to hit a couple restaurants and shopping areas frequented by the locals. There is also a large park nearby. The breakfast was vast and delicious even though the cooks look less than enthused to be making it for us. ;) Since we had our adoption agency looking out for us and taking care of most of our details, we didn't have a chance to interact with the staff, but the few times we did were positive experiences. Although we were sad not to be staying on Shamian Island for this adoption, we are extremely pleased this is the hotel of choice for our adoption agency. It's a great, beautiful hotel!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sturgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We stayed here over the Christmas and New Year period. We had an excellent buffet on Christmas Eve with plenty of variety for all tastes. Overall I couldn't fault the hotel, the Concierge was helpful, all staff spoke good English. It was very clean, comfortable, great location for the metro, which is so easy to use and so cheap. We went to the Chimelong Safari park, which was great and again so easy to get to. The weather was very up and down and it was difficult to know what to wear each day. It would have been nice to have been able to use the pool which looked lovely. The gym had everything you would want and was quiet, but then I think it was a quiet time of the year. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would happily of extended it.

Room Tip: Executive was worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Guangzhou is the industrial capital of China. With thousands of factories and traffic jams that go on forever, it’s nice to get to a hotel like the Marriott Guangzhou so that you can unwind. The good news is that the hotel is located in an area where you have plenty of options for eating and shopping. There’s even a bus stop for a trip to Maccau at the corner.
The rooms are luxurious and room service is perfect. Everything is clean and the amenities are great. I wish all my meetings could have been scheduled at this location.

Room Tip: High floors with a city view. The pool view, as you can see, is just OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayoplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Nice hotel with friendly and helpful receptionists. Room is well-lit and clean with comfortable beds and is reasonably spacious. Just a few minutes walk out of the hotel is the metro. Starbucks is within the hotel building itself and Mc Donalds is nearby. Not much to do around the hotel ... but there is a well-known park nearby. However with the metro nearby it is easy to get to some places of interest which are just a few stops away.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jadene_Yeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.2 mi away
Dongfang Hotel
Dongfang Hotel
#23 of 3,506 in Guangzhou
897 reviews
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Guangzhou
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
#9 of 3,506 in Guangzhou
613 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#12 of 3,506 in Guangzhou
2,564 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
#17 of 3,506 in Guangzhou
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou

Address: 122 Liu Hua Road, Guangzhou 510015, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou > Yuexiu District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#12 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#25 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#26 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#50 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range: £83 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 850
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 850 guestrooms, China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel presents a classic charm delicately blended with contemporary leisure and business facilities to make your stay the most pleasurable possible! Our dedicated chefs will take you on a culinary journey through Western and Asian cuisines to ensure that your business dinner or your family and friends gatherings meet everybody's expectations. With over 1200m2, our large meeting space is complemented by friendly and efficient service on offer from our banquet menu - enough to make every business event or social occasion an unparalleled success. Creating unforgettable moments by offering the highest service standards -"The Marriott Way." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
China Hotel Marriott
Marriott Guangzhou
Guangzhou Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing