We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou
Ranked #23 of 3,480 Hotels in Guangzhou
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I stayed two nights in this hotel.Very easily to get around . staffs are friendly and kind. ready to help in any uncomfortable. highly recommend this hotel.we customer gets there,get high value.Also close to air port.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank husin49280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,780)
There are newer reviews for China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

366 - 372 of 1,780 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed in May of 2013. Our room was very comfortable. We could have used stronger A/C, but it was typical for China. The shops downstairs were convenient. The staff was very accomodating. The breakfast buffet was plentiful, but average. Our room was cleaned well.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leafsfan927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My title tells you the bad but its not all bad. First the good. The room we had on the 14th floor was spacious and overlooked the swimming pool. The bed was firm and very big! We opted to take the executive option, which was an extra $90 NZ a night, it included full breakfast for 2, executive lounge access with free drinks and nibbles between 5.30 pm and 9 pm, and a room upgrade. The staff were friendly and helpful and there are some good restaurants in the hotel to eat in, especially the 'China Kitchen'. We enjoyed the pool everyday. The hotel provided a bus to and from the fair free of charge. Now the bad. The room was not clean, there were dirty hand marks on the bathroom doors, the shower corners had gunge and mould growing in them, Yuk! We stayed for several days while the Canton Fair was on and the room never felt clean. The air conditioning was noisy and one evening we arrived back to a flood in the bathroom from water backing up in the ceiling. Octoberfest was taking place across the road from the hotel and for 5 nights the music noise was HORRENDOUS, it was so ridiculously loud the windows vibrated! The location was close to the metro but seemed a long way from anything else, not much happening in the area. I hate being ripped off paying 4 times the normal rate for a room because of the Canton fair.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snookface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I stayed here for a few nights in October. The room was spacious and clean, and relatively quiet at night (not a lot of traffic noise as the room I had faced away from the main road). The bathroom was good, with a very nice shower. The toiletries provided were lovely and good quality.

Unfortunately the safe didn't work in my room - I reported it and an engineer was sent the next day to fix it, however I would have expected the safe to be working in a place like the Marriott. Another downside was the internet connection which really fell short. It was slow and emails kept dropping, which was quite frustrating. Finally, the room service - I only ordered it once and when it turned up the pasta was undercooked and very dry. However I called and explained and the kitchen made up a fresh one which was delicious and properly cooked. So overall the room service wasn't bad, however I did have to send it back.

There is a Starbucks located within the Marriott hotel and also a Post Office, which is very convenient if you have letters to send. There is also a restaurant called Food Street within the Marriott that serves delicious Chinese food, I thoroughly enjoyed the meal that I had there.

I found it very easy to get taxis from this hotel and hardly had to wait at all.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petite_alouette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This hotel might have once been grand but is now badly in need of a renovation. Not up to typical Asian standards at all. Service was decent at front desk and concierge but housekeeping lacking. Hairs in bathroom, no washcloths, damaged and dirty carpets. Not good at all.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank LotsaTravelGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I was disappointed with the physical condition of this hotel. While it was tired, the staff were its saving grace. The first room I was assigned was dirty and had holes in the carpet. I returned to the front desk and was assigned another room quickly and was assured that the room I originally got would be decommissioned as it didn t reflect the Marriott brand. No kidding!! So if you get room 1450, pass.

Room Tip: Pay for an Executive class room to guarantee it will be habitable.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lakeside100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Great hotel with beautiful rooms, they offer a fantastic breakfast offering multi nationality offerings, they got the general gist of American breakfast items but sometimes their cultural variation was a little funny... close but not close enough in some cases if you know what I mean. The location is good but if you are going to the Canton Fair... the complex is like 45 minutes away, I am sure there are closers hotel of the quality but I bet the cost a whole lot more. Overall great hotel... its looking like I will be staying there twice a year for indefinitely!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.1 mi away
Dongfang Hotel
Dongfang Hotel
#26 of 3,480 in Guangzhou
875 reviews
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou
#18 of 3,480 in Guangzhou
457 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#11 of 3,480 in Guangzhou
2,553 reviews
4.2 mi away
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
#9 of 3,480 in Guangzhou
594 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
#24 of 3,480 in Guangzhou
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou

Address: 122 Liu Hua Road, Guangzhou 510015, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou > Yuexiu District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#12 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#23 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#26 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#46 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range: £77 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 850
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 850 guestrooms, China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel presents a classic charm delicately blended with contemporary leisure and business facilities to make your stay the most pleasurable possible! Our dedicated chefs will take you on a culinary journey through Western and Asian cuisines to ensure that your business dinner or your family and friends gatherings meet everybody's expectations. With over 1200m2, our large meeting space is complemented by friendly and efficient service on offer from our banquet menu - enough to make every business event or social occasion an unparalleled success. Creating unforgettable moments by offering the highest service standards -"The Marriott Way." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Marriott, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
China Hotel Marriott
Marriott Guangzhou
Guangzhou Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing