We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good classic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou
Ranked #20 of 3,387 Hotels in Guangzhou
Jakarta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A good classic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

The hotel has been around forever. Everyone pretty much knows the hotel so getting taxi to go there was no problem at all. Although it is a bit dated, everything else is very satisfactory. Front desk staffs have good command of english, breakfast is international but nothing to write home about. Subway is literally 20 feet away from the hotel's side entrance. Starbucks and 7 eleven is right on the building, mcdonalds is next door, and some other restaurants are around a block away.
We didn't have any problems getting a cab from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank setyono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    860
    190
    42
    27
See reviews for
137
68
52
532
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

we stayed 10 nights there ... very nice service & good location ... the breakfast was very nice Very nice rooms, good shower and good bed. Loved the terrace near the outdoor pool for a drink. Would go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yomnazaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

I booked a no-smoking king bed Executive Floor room directly on the hotel’s own web site for my wife and myself. On arrival (in the afternoon) I was surprised to be told that we could have a smoking room on the Executive Floor, or be downgraded to a no-smoking room on a lower floor (though still with access to the Executive Lounge). It was only after I indicated that this was not acceptable to the Front of House Manager, that a room as booked was given to us. This was despite the fact that I am a Marriott Rewards Elite member.

Despite this disappointing start, our stay at this hotel was satisfactory - though nothing to write home about. The hotel is in a very convenient position, next to a metro station. Our room was comfortable. The Executive Lounge was unexciting, and mainly self-service. The hot food choice in the evening was also nothing special. We do not eat meat and noted that the same fish choice was offered on two nights of our stay, and that there was no fish at all one night.

We tried the Executive Lounge breakfast on our first morning; subsequently, we always went for the breakfast in the restaurant (either is complimentary for Executive Floor guests). The restaurant breakfast offers a much wider selection. Also, although the Executive Lounge makes eggs to order, the range is limited. We wanted poached eggs; we could not get these in the lounge, but they were available in the restaurant.

It was very convenient to be able to catch a coach directly from the hotel forecourt to Hong Kong, but the hotel does not warn you that, at the border, passengers must move their luggage some distance through Chinese and Hong Kong customs/immigration and then board another coach on the Hong Kong side. Crossing the border took us about 45 minutes, even though it was not particularly busy. No trolleys were available. It is also worth noting that the arrival times in Hong Kong quoted on the timetable provided by the hotel understate the journey time. Our total journey took an hour longer than stated, even though there were no traffic problems.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MSDSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

I stayed 2 nights there and was quite satisfied with a balance of price and quality. A shower booth is constructed with full marble and touch feeling with barefoot was super. Funny thing was a flame of window has still a plastic cover and unpeeled.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amsel_Piyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee, Usa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

A nice hotel with ok service. Located very convenient to the metro. The rooms are nice, I lucked into staying in a 2 room suite which was very nice, lots of room to stretch out with friends and not feel like you are in a hotel room. The work out room is great, modern machines and free weights as well as a hot tub, sauna and steam room.
The bar on the 2nd floor is fair, service is a little slow and prices are a little high. There was a band in the evening that made the visit more enjoyable.
Lots of shoppes attached to the hotel, including message, Japanese restaurant and a very popular Starbucks.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Trip88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

The hotel is conveniently located close to a subway station as well as walking distance to Yuexiu Park, which is one of the landmark sites to see. The twin-tower hotel elevators operate through a card system which is a nice security feature. There are shops and cafes which are independently operated and are part of the shopping complex situated on the main floor. The reception service was fast and efficient. There is a McDonald across from the hotel if one doesn't want to spend too much on breakfast. The room was of decent size and clean. The only negative is the long corridor and walk to the rooms located at the far end from the elevator which I understand is because of the 600 plus rooms within the hotel.

Room Tip: Chose a room overlooking the pool which also provides a bird's eyeview of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrZeeCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in this Mariott which is famous as China hotel a lot on business.
It is a vey nice hotel, it's really huge, with very nice clean rooms and very clean housekeeping.
My biggest problem there is the food I don't think the room service menu has a lot of options.
When I'm there I'm always in the executive floor so I have acess to the lounge, they serve good breakfast in the morning and at the evening there's a light dinner that's very poor in choices and open bar.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tamer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
1.6 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#10 of 3,387 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,445 reviews
4.3 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#2 of 3,387 in Guangzhou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou
#17 of 3,387 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre
4.2 mi away
Jianguo Hotel
Jianguo Hotel
#25 of 3,387 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
4.2 mi away
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
#8 of 3,387 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou

Property: China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou
Address: 122 Liu Hua Road, Guangzhou 510015, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou > Yuexiu District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#12 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#20 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#26 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#62 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 850
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 850 guestrooms, China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel presents a classic charm delicately blended with contemporary leisure and business facilities to make your stay the most pleasurable possible! Our dedicated chefs will take you on a culinary journey through Western and Asian cuisines to ensure that your business dinner or your family and friends gatherings meet everybody's expectations. With over 1200m2, our large meeting space is complemented by friendly and efficient service on offer from our banquet menu - enough to make every business event or social occasion an unparalleled success. Creating unforgettable moments by offering the highest service standards -"The Marriott Way." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
China Hotel Marriott
Marriott Guangzhou
Guangzhou Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing