We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for Business Visitors”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou
Ranked #22 of 3,408 Hotels in Guangzhou
Jodhpur, India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good for Business Visitors”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is a great hotel.- the wet room/bath area is a nice touch, with a window to the main area that can has an electric privacy screen. Beds are very comfortable with crisp cotton duvet and oversize down pillows. Downstairs lobby has several shops including a 24-hour Starbucks The location is convenient for shopping and eating.

Room Tip: the hotel rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saurabh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    605
    871
    194
    44
    27
See reviews for
142
68
57
544
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This is our second time at the China Hotel in Guangzhou, and since our first trip in 2004 they have upgraded many areas, including the rooms. We had a king size bed and the appointments are beautiful - the wet room/bath area is a nice touch, with a window to the main area that can has an electric privacy screen. Beds are very comfortable with crisp cotton duvet and oversize down pillows. Downstairs lobby has several shops including a 24-hour Starbucks

The location is convenient for shopping and eating. We visited a local restaurant famous for its barbeque pork, about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The staff was very helpful and proximity card readers for the elevators ensure am extra level of security.

Tip: There is a spa on premises but if you want to have an authentic tui na style foot massage that includes shoulders, back, hands and legs, there are ones down the street that are less than $20.00 US for an hour. Amazing!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veewat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
415 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is a great hotel. Very convenient if you travelling by bus from Hong Kong because the bus garage is at the rear of the hotel. The place has a great feel about it, rooms are comfortable and nicely done out, service in the restaurants and bar is very friendly and efficient. It's also around the corner from the Nanyue Tomb which is brilliant. It's about 15 minutes by taxi from Shamian Island and the Bund.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HofH999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Enjoyed my stay here. Beds to sink into. My twin room actually had two doubles in it. The current trend for full length glass windows into the bathroom made me laugh. So glad I was in this room alone. But this does mean you can watch the tv form your bath. Clean bright rooms. The breakfast buffet offers a stunning array of choices. One does not know where to begin. There is an adjoining arcade of shops, a Starbucks and a foot massage/reflexology centre. I would recommend the foot spa place in the arcade rather than the hotel spa. Better price and you can offer what you save as a generous tip to the ladies in there that work hard and only get paid per treatment they provide and low pay at that. You can expect to pay about £23 for 90 minutes - sublime after travelling so far. Hotel lobby offers free wifi but you have to pay for it in your room. But the lobby is huge and a nice place to sit and email etc. Easy to get taxis to wherever you want to go. Not far from huge shopping malls and centres of entertainment and places to eat out. Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoFSaxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2014

As a business man, I rely on fast internet and accessibility of the reception. This hotel gets 1/5 stars for having the slowest internet in China. The hotel exterior is very old but the interior is very nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kyle l, Public Relations Officer at China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Christian

Thank you for replying on our Guest Satisfaction Survey and please allow me to extend our sincerest appreciation for selecting China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel for your recent trip to Guangzhou.

Additionally, I would like to share our gratitude for your positive ratings on the survey regarding your recent stay in our property. Where above all, we take into account all our valued guests feedbacks, like yourself, though demonstrating that we are providing the services that you have come to expect.

Nevertheless, we have acknowledged that there is still room for further improvement; your concerns about the internet have been already escalated to our team for further investigation. Please rest assured that we would like to offer you an exceptional experience upon your next visit and onwards.

I would like to thank you once again for your recognition which makes us strive even more to provide a better “home away from home” experience. We will always be of any assistance that you may expect and we are looking forward to welcoming you to China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel again very soon.

Sincerely Yours,

Kyle Li
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I recently stayed at the 5 star Marriott Hotel in Guangzhou with my family.
I found the hotel well located and the staff professional and friendly.
The stand out people foe me were Jacky Su and Yourick't Gilde and Ellie.
They were very professional and helpful and made our stay hassle free and enjoyable.

We liked the hotel so much we have already booked to return again.

John Halpin
Ireland

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Very difficult to find anyone in Service staff who can understand English. We had a baby and pre-teen and the service was just okay. When we called for anything including room service it was necessary to be asked to transfer to a manager who spoke English.

Room upgrade was very nice. Housekeeping staff very friendly and helptul.

Very pricey given the lack of extra service.

Food was very average.

Room Tip: Be sure to try for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robsemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kyle l, Public Replations Officer at China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Robsemon,

Thank you for your comment for China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel; it has given us a chance getting to know your valuable comments about us. Please allow me to extend our sincerest appreciations for selecting China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel for your recent trip to Guangzhou.

Moreover, please allow me to apologize for all the inconveniences that we have caused you during your recent stay, especially about the unsatisfying staffs’ English level. From what you have commented about us, we have well acknowledged the seriousness of the issues we have created to you. Nevertheless, please rest assured that those you have experienced are not the typical Marriott standard of services China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel provides.

Please once again accept my apologies for all the inconveniences we have caused. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel to show our improvement. We want to provide you a true "home away from home" experience.

Thank you for always supporting the Marriott brand. We are looking forward to welcoming you to China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel very soon.

Sincerely yours,
Kyle Li
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou
#16 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dongfang Hotel
Dongfang Hotel
#39 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#14 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre
4.2 mi away
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
#9 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou

Property: China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou
Address: 122 Liu Hua Road, Guangzhou 510015, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou > Yuexiu District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#12 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#22 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#26 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#52 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 850
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 850 guestrooms, China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel presents a classic charm delicately blended with contemporary leisure and business facilities to make your stay the most pleasurable possible! Our dedicated chefs will take you on a culinary journey through Western and Asian cuisines to ensure that your business dinner or your family and friends gatherings meet everybody's expectations. With over 1200m2, our large meeting space is complemented by friendly and efficient service on offer from our banquet menu - enough to make every business event or social occasion an unparalleled success. Creating unforgettable moments by offering the highest service standards -"The Marriott Way." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
China Hotel Marriott
Marriott Guangzhou
Guangzhou Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing