We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Central - rooms small. Restaurants very expensive.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou
Ranked #22 of 3,408 Hotels in Guangzhou
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very Central - rooms small. Restaurants very expensive.”
Reviewed 26 February 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights, with our 2 children - had the Nickelodian package which the kids enjoyed. Hotel very busy. Caters more to businessmen. Staff helpful and spoke english. Very central for sightseeing. Rooms very small. Lifts could be very annoying having to insert cards all the time - couldn't get up to see relatives on higher floors - so had to keep going down to concierge. We went to one restaurant - Prime - which was extremely expensive. We waited for absolutely ages for the food which came out in dribs and drabs. My lamb was raw! Don't recommend if you're in a hurry! Overall if you want to stay in the city then this place is fine. Otherwise I would stay at Chimelong Hotel - especially if you have kids! (we stayed there for 4 nights and loved it!)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lrb88888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    605
    871
    194
    44
    27
See reviews for
142
68
57
544
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

We stayed in winter and got free upgrade to an executive suite which was quite large and comfortable with 2 toilets and an huge bathroom. Generally, we could not fault this hotel apart from the fiddly card insert at the elevators. Many a time we got sucked up by some one before we had a chance to insert and remove card and press the floor button. I think we did that to more than a couple of people as well on our way down. That aside, the Four Seasons Restaurant was quite pricey and the dishes were small. The executive happy hour snacks was better value.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FossFoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2011

I was given a free room upgrade which was large and comfortable. The food at the four season was great but expensive .The hotel was plush except the reception that looks old with broken furniture.I had a great stay and will go back next trip.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank businesswoman32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
94 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

I spent one night here at the end of my three week China trip. I was stuck between a rock and a hard place as my flights had been booked and itinerary set well in advance, and with no idea that there was a huge trade fair in Gaungzhou during my stay. Consequently this was the cheapest priced available hotel... at £350 per night eeek!

I checked in late (gone 11pm) and ordered room service, which was prompt and very easy to communicate (in my experience, some Tier Two cities in China have language barrier that are higher than others) what I wanted with staff.

The bathroom was spacious with a great shower. My room was an unusual shape for a hotel room, making it quite a change, and had a nice view. The bed was comfortable and I found this place exceeding a Renaissance in quality.

Breakfast was in a huge C shaped room on the first floor, and it was easy to lose oneself. One corner was the smokers area, so try to avoid walking through if you are a non-smoker as it is thick with it.

There is a vast lobby downstairs with several ATM machines. These are replenished at the busiest time of the morning, which was irritating as it meant having to wait for half an hour. Also checking out took forever - it was a weekday with a large number of conference/trade show exhibitors checking out. This was my sole bug bear of my stay in Guangzhou.

The location was excellent: forty minutes from the airport (allow 100RMB), and easy to get to my appointments and to the Guangzhou > HK station.

Literally spending twelve hours in a hotel, using few of the facilities does not really qualify me to comment on anything other than what I experienced, but I would return here, providing I got a good price. Although comfortable and functional, I wouldn't have said the service, facilities and decor or my room were worth £350

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WoodTiger77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shanghai
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2011

I have stayed in guangzhou a few times and I'm still waiting to find a great hotel at a reasonable price. This one falls into the so so category. The rate wasn't bad, the room wasn't bad, the elevators are out of the way and can be frustrating to operate. There is a bar downstairs in the lobby and the band members are very friendly and provide some great entertainment if you don't feel like venturing out. Drink prices are ok for a hotel. Taxis are hit and miss and one cold night I had to wait 45 minutes. There is not much around the hotel in terms of restaurants and bars and inside the hotel complex is a starbucks which must be one of the coldest starbucks I have ever been to. Granted, this is the middle of winter but I wish they would close the outside doors. All in all, you won't be disappointed but you probably won't rave about it either. If you can get a good rate at the garden hotel you will probably prefer the location but I always feel a bit ripped off when I stay at that hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjc1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2010

My first business trip to China (attending Canton Fair) in ten years, how things have changed. We used to stay in budget hotels, so when the boss told me too book this one and enjoy I was chuffed to bits.

Arrived late in the evening, and in view of their being a major exhibition on it was very very busy. Joined queue to check in, only to be told there had no rooms in the class I had booked and the rate was higher than that given to me on the booking website. What do you do - you can hardly turn around and walk out and I guess with so many business travellors in town it would have been difficult to find anywhere else. I told the girl that as the rate went up then I should have better room, with no objection I was given a suite on the 15th floor which was huge, stylish and well kept.

There are alot of staff around the hotel who do not seem to do alot just stand there as if on parade. It seemed more like an office block than a hotel. The restaurents were average, the steak one "Prime" was ok, but I have been brought up on the "aged" and "matured" beef, where as the chefs were clearly sawing up fresh pink meat so the taste just was not there. The buffet restaurent "Cafe Veranda" was shocking value in the evening for someone who doesn't really eat a lot and for breakfast a downright rip off.

We stopped having breakfast here on day 2 and used Starbucks in the mall attached to the hotel. There is also a middle eastern buffet restaurent just up the road from the hotel with live music which is a better option.

Only used the Saphire Bar (next to the steak restaruent) as my colleage was not keen on the attention he received from the local ladies in the bar on the ground floor. Still we got a bit of attention in the Saphire Bar once or twice but the girls were courteous and not persistant so not a problem at all.

In terms of the Canton Fair, you could register at the hotel which was a bonus, albeit a bit disorganized as you joined a queue for around 10 minutes and when you got to the front the girl asked you if you had had your passport checked by the a sole police officer sat across the room. Not really th hotels fault but as it was on their premisis it should be mentioned. Top marks to the hotel for the organization of the courtesy coaches. We were told we had to book, but in the end just started turning up and no problems.

Taxi Drivers are a bit odd. We queued on the hotel rank for a cab and when we got in the driver drove ten yards and stopped. The concierge came over and asked what the problem was and told us the driver had decided he did not want the pick up and was going to take a break, so we had to join the back of the queue.

I think the hotel serves its purpose, but I could not imagine anything other than a business trip here.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mardood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level Contributor
104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2010

Fantastic hotel. Geared more towards the businessman than families with children however the service and rooms are the epitome of comfort... The chinese restaurant is fantastic and the hair salon great! For businessmen, the executive lounge is great where you can have your meetings in peace and yet be in the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RKM466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou
#16 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dongfang Hotel
Dongfang Hotel
#39 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#14 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre
4.2 mi away
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
#9 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou

Property: China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou
Address: 122 Liu Hua Road, Guangzhou 510015, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou > Yuexiu District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#12 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#22 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#26 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#52 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 850
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 850 guestrooms, China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel presents a classic charm delicately blended with contemporary leisure and business facilities to make your stay the most pleasurable possible! Our dedicated chefs will take you on a culinary journey through Western and Asian cuisines to ensure that your business dinner or your family and friends gatherings meet everybody's expectations. With over 1200m2, our large meeting space is complemented by friendly and efficient service on offer from our banquet menu - enough to make every business event or social occasion an unparalleled success. Creating unforgettable moments by offering the highest service standards -"The Marriott Way." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
China Hotel Marriott
Marriott Guangzhou
Guangzhou Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing