We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They would not know if you stayed or not..!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
Ranked #35 of 3,408 Hotels in Guangzhou
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“They would not know if you stayed or not..!!!!”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Super location... Good hotel though not 5 Star as shown on a government certificate.
Staff in general are above average for any hotel in China, typically not very interested in talking to guests. One change- I left the safe locker open n morning and when came back in evening money was intact!!. Informed the Guest Relations. Also Concierge and Front Desk better than average for China. However the Guest Relations in Lobby behave more like security.
Stayed for 5 nights and does not make a difference to management at all. First day there were 5 pieces of fruit and never replenished. Same for bath shampoo etc, have to request.
Worst is when the Security took over the hotel for their VIP function. Guests were frisked every time they enter despite protest. Management simply said can't do anything.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Upul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    539
    136
    33
    15
See reviews for
14
18
16
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We organized our plans and paid for accommodation via Agoda in August 2013. On arrival for our stay in Sept, the hotel lost our accommodation booking and initially was very unhelpful in resolving the issue. Some of the staff were rude and refused to extend themselves to review their systems, even though we showed them the confirmation and payment made. After 45 mins of waiting in their lobby, they finally found our booking and didn't even offer any apologies. Apart from the initial disappointed, we made a request to have our hotel room safe checked and for the safe battery to be replaced. It never happened despite repeated request. We used the hotel as a base hotel before travelling to other parts of China and Hong Kong. On our return from our travels, we had an unexpected knock on the door after midnight from someone claiming that we called for a masseuse. We voiced our complaint to the hotel front desk, and were concerned on the lack of security in the hotel to monitor unwanted or unwelcomed guests. Hotel could have activated the lift security function after hours to ensure that strangers do not wander into floors soliciting for business. Overall impression of the hotel, some staff were excellent, friendly and helpful while others could improve on their customer relations and service. Breakfast service was excellent with good standard of care and hygiene. Executive lounge was excellent. Free wifi services available, but connections can be intermittent. Location ideal as its close to Tao Jin metro line.

Room Tip: Executive rooms on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Some friends were in GZ on business and so they booked their rooms and mine here. Rate was 410Y which was reasonable. The hotel is conveniently located across the street from the Garden Hotel, one of the airport bus stops.

I was only here for two nights so I didn't use any of the hotel's facilities. I took a walk around and they have a business center, barber shop, massage spa/suana, several restaurants, and high-end luxury brand clothing stores. I found the rooms in good condition and wi-fi was included with my room, although a hotel employee had to come to my room and install a wi-fi router on the desk.

Although I didn't eat at any of the hotel restaurants, my friends' clients took us all to dinner at a Chinese place next to the hotel (note: as you exit the hotel and onto the sidewalk, turn right and walk about 100 meters). It is not a fancy place, more like a hole-in-the-wall type joint, but the Chinese food was really good here and likely not expensive. There was no signs in English, so I took a photo of the only sign in front (Xi Fang Cai). See attached photo.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baron45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Generally it is passable for a hotel stay with most service as what you would expect from any hotel. They check room cards after midnight so that is a plus. The bad thing is the bed, which is rock hard and unlike most 5 star hotels, it is more like 3 star quality. Will not recommend for anything other than business travellers. Lastly, one rude staff at the hotel lobby spoilt my entire impression of this hotel. I had to meet a business associate in the lobby and had forgotten to bring my phone from my room, therefore I asked a service staff standing at the lobby if there is somewhere I can make a quick call to my associate's cellphone. To my disbelief, he replied "find a phone yourself" in mandarin in a very disrespecting tone and even starred at me like I was the one being ridiculous. Very disappointed in how this staff treats his hotel guests. Would have made a complain but my associate arrived and I had to leave. Not the treatment one would expect from a self claim 5/4 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tatsu_Chijmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I have been staying at this hotel since 2002 (back then it was a Best Western). In 2006, the hotel was sold and completely remodeled. This property is in my favorite section of Guangzhou (very upscale and international). The cost is 3/4 of the price of other near-by hotels (the best pricing is through Expedia or Ctrip). Location is great, walk to subway (around the corner) and shopping surrounds the property. I'll be back next summer.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank china4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

I was 3 nights in there mini bar was too bad and hotel charge us for bottle of water but most of hotels is free for 2 small bottle in each day but unfortunately hotel charge us 60 rmb for each small bottle and unfortunately no print the price on menu of mini bar

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bijan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Good location. Free and good in room Wifi. Everything ( bed, pillow, room size and cleaniness) up to its should be standard. Good location.

Standard Cantonese dimsum, at similar prices, should cross the bridge to Garden hotel for better quality.

But at its rate (~RMB530), very good value. Recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qYu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.4 mi away
Ocean Hotel
Ocean Hotel
#42 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#14 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,482 reviews
2.6 mi away
Jianguo Hotel
Jianguo Hotel
#27 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Guangdong Victory Hotel
Guangdong Victory Hotel
#33 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre
1.8 mi away
Dongfang Hotel
Dongfang Hotel
#40 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel

Property: Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
Address: No.367 Huanshi East Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510065, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
#33 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#41 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 588
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Guangzhou
Guangzhou Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing