We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renewed :) It s a good thing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre
Ranked #13 of 3,436 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Hangzhou, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Renewed :) It s a good thing”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Been to this hotel a couple of years ago when it was International Hotel. Was old , worn out furnitures. But this time to my surprise I booked it as Crowne Plaza, and all renewed. In the mid. of downtown very good location as well.Choose higher floors if possible:)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPCityCentreGZ, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write your wonderful experience you had with us during your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Our team strives to exceed the expectations of our guests and provide the true hospitality of a 5 star hotel.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you need any assistance, we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre in the near future.

Molly Zhang
Public Relations
molly.zhang@gz63.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    177
    53
    11
    9
See reviews for
34
49
23
337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
mewcat1959
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I have just returned having spent 6 nights at the city centre hotel. I have stayed in many hotels at Canton fair time and this one rates the highest to me. The rooms are very spacious with free internet connection. It is nt free for one day only as suggested by some reviews. You just have to click on the free 24 hours internet icon each day. That is why some reviewers have been confused. I stayed for 6 days and it was free the whole time which is imperititve when trying to work away from the office.

The bed was large and very comfortabel and the reviews about the pillows being so fantastic (which i though were odd comments when read before i visited) are totally true. The best nights sleep i have ever had in china!! Rooms had all the amentities like kettle, complimentary water each day, wardrobe personal safe, and sizable TV, shower and bath. The staff were very helpful and many spoke English very well. Each day for the fair there was a hotel shuttle bus on regular occassions.

The hotel is very central and so ideal for meeting up with people and shopping.

All in all i would stay again and recommend it to others

Room Tip: Try and get room away from the lifts as the 'bing bing' noise they make all through the nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mewcat1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPCityCentreGZ, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time in writing your review and your wonderful experience you had with us at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre.

As a 5 Star hotel, we dedicate ourselves to achieve the true hospitality and excel in our service standards. We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and provide a memorable stay.

Thank you for sharing your story with us and please do not hesitate to contact me if you need any assistance, we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre in the near future.

Molly Zhang
Public Relations
molly.zhang@gz63.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saginaw, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I just completed a 4-night stay at this property during Canton Fair...I've stayed no less than 8 different hotels in Guangzhou in my 15 years of attending Canton Fair twice a year...It was my first stay at the Crowne Plaza Guangzhou, and I hope it won't be my last.

Arrived at the train station to find that the hotel had a counter, which led me to a complimentary shuttle bus which took us straight to the hotel. The check in line was long, but a manager saw my Platinum card, and directed me to the Club Floor for check-in...

Check-in was fast and efficient. While I had a reservation for a standard room, I opted to add Club Floor access for RMB400/night. A great deal for 2 people, which gave us breakfast, evening cocktails and snacks and internet access.

Breakfast was great in the lounge--eggs cooked to order, a noodle bar for the Asian crowd, plenty of other hot dishes, fruit, pastries, cheeses and more.

The evening reception was also great--several hot dishes to choose from, salad bar, great cheese/meat selections, and honestly--some of the best desserts I've had in China. It was more than enough for dinner--and didn't venture beyond the lounge for anything to eat the entire stay.

The room was clean, comfortable, modern. Nice LCD television, comfortable bed (by China standards--still a little hard from a western perspective, but definitely palatable), and an amazingly large bathroom, which had a separate glass shower and tub. We had a corner room (# XX07)--which seemed to be laid out a little differently than the other rooms--I'd almost call it a mini-suite--there was a separate room/hallway between the bedroom and the bathroom that offered ample storage space for luggage and an open area to hang your clothes.

Staff was very friendly, especially those in the Club Lounge. The shuttles to/from Canton Fair were prompt and comfortable.

Great hotel--lots of amenities, clean, comfortable, beautiful lobby...I can't say enough good things about this place. I just made my reservation there for October's Canton Fair--can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPCityCentreGZ, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre while you are travelling to Guangzhou! It was such an honor that we could have your comments and high valuation regarding to our service.

We are delight that you enjoyed all our facilities which is available in the hotel and our location; it is our endeavor to ensure that we provide all the necessities to our discreet travelers within the hotel. Next time you come to Guangzhou, please do contact our colleagues for more local information and I am sure that they are happy to show you the nice scenery and facility in Guangzhou.

Hope you will also love Guangzhou. Thank you for choosing our hotel while you back to Guangzhou, We are looking forward to welcoming you again for a renewing experience at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre and wish you all the best!

Molly Zhang
Public Relations
molly.zhang@gz63.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Staying at the Crowne Plaza in Guangzhou has been a pretty nice experience. Rooms were pretty nice and quite large. The hotel was quiet and well-decorated. Atmosphere overall pretty comfortable. Having a drink at the lobby bar is fine - except for the fact their cocktails contain no alcohol or so little you just can't feel it. Breakfast is very complete, offering a lot of choice and during our stay there was a turkish corner! (don't know whether it was a special or permanent thing!).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emfal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPCityCentreGZ, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write the review and we are happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre.

We are highly appreciated for your constructive comments, which are extremely helpful for our improvement of service and facilities. Next time you come to Guangzhou, please do contact our colleagues for more local information and I am sure that they are happy to show you the nice scenery and facility in Guangzhou.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you need any assistance and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre in the near future.

Molly Zhang
Public Relations
molly.zhang@gz63.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Was in town for work, stayed here because it was right next door to the TV station where I was going for work the next day so for me, location was perfect. The room was average, nothing special. The sauna was great. Restaurant was alright, buffet was fairly well priced and had a great selection. Check in was okay. Didn't really feel like this was a 5 star hotel, I would prefer to say it is a 4 - 4.5 star hotel. Not bad, but for the price I just felt like something was missing. BUT... the bed was extremely comfortable!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazza H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I stayed here for a business trip and as I am a Platinum IHG member I got an upgrade to a small suite. Great super impressive room with a HUGE square bathtub (I would have preferred a longer one as I am not a square but more of a rectangle).

I had a great room on the upper floors and you can see for miles--or you could if there was no pollution but that's hardly the fault of the hotel.

Upon checkout I was asked to pay for my hotel stay despite arriving with a PriceLine voucher. I argued with the front desk staff but they insisted that it was a formality in case PriceLine refused to pay. I agreed to pay on these grounds.

Imagine my surprise when I got home and found that not only had I paid on Priceline but I had also been charged TWICE by the hotel for the room. Once in RMB and once in my home currency so I have in effect been charged THREE times for the same room! I wonder how many Priority Club points that will get me! :)

I have contacted the hotel and Priceline and Nelson, the assistant manager, assured me that it would be sorted out soon. I will update this when there is a resolution one way or the other.

Room Tip: Higher floor is cool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ben s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPCityCentreGZ, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre on your recent stay in Guangzhou. We would also express our appreciation for your comments with concern to the hotel services.

Please do accept our sincere apology for any inconvenience caused. We would like to assure you that we have communicated your feedback to the concerned department and corrective action has been taken.

I hope that this experience will not deter you to visit us again in the near future. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be any of your assistance as I would be more than happy to help.

Molly Zhang
Public Relations
molly.zhang@gz63.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

The Crown Plaza offers western class accommodations at a reasonable price. Located in a heart of the city, there are great restaurants and shops within walking distance. The beds are soft and the internet works well. Would recommend this hotel for business travelers.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank portagio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#12 of 3,436 in Guangzhou
2,531 reviews
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,436 in Guangzhou
605 reviews
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou
#16 of 3,436 in Guangzhou
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
#20 of 3,436 in Guangzhou
772 reviews
Yuexiu District
China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
#8 of 3,436 in Guangzhou
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre
Address: No.339 Huanshi East Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510098, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#11 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#13 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#34 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre 4.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre is an exclusive international 5-star hotel located on Huanshi Road East, the heart of downtown’s bustling commercial and shopping district. An airport express bus station is located at the hotel’s entrance, 7km to Guangzhou East Railway Station and walking distance 200m to Guangzhou Metro Station. The hotel features 460 well appointed guest rooms and suites with an extensive city or greenery view. Complimentary wi-fi and a collection of specialty pillows are on offer. Club floors with 73 rooms and suites offer personalized service and additional privacy for the needs of today’s busy executives. In addition, three superb restaurants and a lobby lounge are on offer, including Baiyuelou, a popular Cantonese restaurant featuring organic, fresh and healthy specialties; Fresh, all-day international dining hosted by engaging chefs in show-kitchens offers a lavish buffet selection; Hao Chi, a casual Asian restaurant, serving exquisite dim-sum, hand-made noodles and a variety of delicate snacks; and the Lobby Lounge, offering a relaxing atmosphere where guests can enjoy a variety of cocktails, fine wines and beers, as well as an array of your favorite appetizers. Over 2,000 sq meters of meeting space includes a 985 square-meter pillar-less Crystal Ballroom with an impressive 9 meter high ceiling. The Pearl Ballroom, Diamond Boardroom and 9 Jade function rooms feature state-of-the-art audio-visual equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre Hotel Guangzhou
Guangdong International Hotel
Guangdong International Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing