We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is City Center !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre
Ranked #13 of 3,430 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It is City Center !”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Its location is excellent. All main hotels are located on the same street. A huge high end mall is 5 minutes walking distance. A lot of foreign restaurants and pubs are located in the same area. Pizza hut, 3 Starbucks stores, Turkish and middle eastern cuisines are all walking distance.

One must be more careful in Guangzhou and specially in this area which considered hot spot for foreigners. Unfortunately crime exists in this area and it is committed by nationals and foreigners alike. You will come across many foreigners who will approach you to offer different services: currency exchange, prostitution and drugs...etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelHilal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPCityCentreGZ, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Mike Helal,

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback. Im glad that you enjoyed our convenient location. I believe that many future guests will find your comment useful and informative. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre.

Kind regards,
Jenny MacDonald - Guest Services Manager
jenny.macdonald@gz63.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    174
    53
    10
    9
See reviews for
32
49
23
329
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The room was freezing cold despite climate control set at 23 degrees. I thought the climate control in my room has malfunctioned. When I called guest service, I was told that central heating has been turned OFF for the entire hotel. I asked her why. She said that, "it is not cold enough today to need heating, so we turned it off". It was 10 degrees at the time. She then delivered a portable heater to my room. Basically what she was telling me is that heating has been turned off to save money. It is ridiculous for any hotel to turn off heating in the middle of winter, especially when this is a Crowne Plaza.

I just read another review at the hotel complaining about broken air-con. Well, it seems that it is a common practice for the hotel to turn off climate control habitually.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davolaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPCityCentreGZ, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Davolaki,

Please accept my apologies first of all that your stay was so disappointing for you and secondly that you have used different avenues already to express your concern and you feel your comments have gone unrecognized. Please be rest assured that I have personally attended meetings in which our management team has reviewed your specific case and it is being reviewed to come to the best solution to find comfort for all of our current and future guests needs. It is truly disappointing that this incident has tarnished your impression of IHG as a whole. However if you feel that you could be confident to return to our hotel in the future, please feel free to contact myself personally and I will be happy to ensure you a pleasant stay. Sincerely wishing you all the best and a speedy recovery from your cold.

Kind regards,
Jenny MacDonald – Guest Services Manager
Jenny.macdonald@gz63.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The views from our deluxe 45th floor room were great. Well worth the modest cost of upgrade to deluxe. On the second night though, with the air-con set at 18 degrees, the room temperature would not go below 27 degrees, which was much too hot for comfortable sleep. Called reception at about 5am and were visited by someone who said that the air-con was fine, who set it to 10 degrees and who opened the windows. Didn't know if mosquitoes fly that high but as our sons had recently received numerous bites with an open window in Varanasi we were not thrilled about that. Desperate though we left the windows open. The temperature was 28 degrees by the room monitor at 9am after no more sleep. We left this otherwise beautiful hotel that morning tired and dispirited. The bathroom was great, the room was otherwise great but there is no point to a hotel room in which you can't sleep.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrettinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPCityCentreGZ, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear BrettinNZ,

Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback. It am glad to hear that the majority of your stay was wonderful, however it is so disappointing to hear about the problem with the air conditioning. The solution offered to you was clearly unacceptable. Please accept my apology and know that this has been reported to our engineering team to take care of the issue. I do hope that you will feel comfortable to stay with us again and please contact me for future bookings. Here at the Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre we wish you to have a wonderful and comfortable sleep and I will ensure this for you on your next visit.

Kind regards,
Jenny MacDonald - Guest Services Manager
jenny.macdonald@gz63.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

It was the first time I stayed at a brand of Crowne Plaza hotel, I would say I have had a very pleasant time from checking in to checking out, the staffs were helpful and polite, the room was spacious and clean, with modern design and plenty of international and local tv channels, speedy wifi and wired internet were freely provided, moreover, the room was also provided an iron and iron board, a good convenient for customers.

For the dinning, I have tried two restaurants, one was called "Fresh" for breakfast, another one called "Hao Chi" for lunch. The breakfast was certainly a plus for the hotel, variety of choices and good quality (see the photos I posted). For the lunch, if you would like to try different flavors cuisine of China in one place, here would be a good choice for you.

Room Tip: higher level for a better view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FernandoCg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPCityCentreGZ, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear FernandoCg,

Here at the Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre we are always please to receive great feedback from our valued guests. We trust you will choose us for future visits and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre.

Kind regards.
Jenny MacDonald - Guest Services Manager
jenny.macdonald@gz63.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karachi
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Every thing in this hotel was great, very comfortable bed, clean good size room, very nice breakfast, well trained staff, good selection of english tv channels, very fast free wifi, i would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone as its worth every penny
spa was bit disappointing, bathroom shower had no pressure, but overall hotel was GREAT

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sohailarif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPCityCentreGZ, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear sohailarif,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your glowing feedback and I believe your comments provides useful information for future guests. I am sorry about your negative experience with the spa. As you may be aware the spa on the 5th floor is seperately owned and operated from the hotel however we can pass on your feedback to their management. We hope you will choose us in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre.

Kind regards,
Jenny MacDonald - Guest Services Manager
jenny.macdonald@gz63.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
136 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Excellent, fast, complimentary wi-fi in the rooms as well as all over the hotel. Rather stingy with soap cakes.. only a single one provided and not added to for 3 days! Good breakfast spread. The first time I saw 5 different menu cards at their fine dine Chinese restaurant for dinner. The staff is eager to please, repeats exactly what you spoke in English, so you feel they have understood, though usually not the case.
Was happy that with your room key, you could travel to any floor, not only your own in the elevator!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrQuresh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPCityCentreGZ, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear DrQuesh,

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback. All of your comments have been brought to the attention of our Department Heads and will be followed up on. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit to Guangzhou. Please let me know if you require any assistance with future bookings.

Kind regards,
Jenny MacDonald - Guest Services Manager
jenny.macdonald@gz63.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Decent hotel with nice large rooms, service in cafe rather slow and language issues for some staff due to lack of English. Main issue was the elevator system for floors 40 and above-only 4 elevators were very insufficient! Took 15-20 min to come down to lobby in the morning as generally very slow

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkemt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPCityCentreGZ, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear dkemt,

Your feedback is very valuable for us. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I have shared your feedback to all department leaders to review and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention as this is the only way we can improve for our guests. I apologize for your poor experience with our elevator, all of the lifts have been under inspection and maintenence in the recent days. I hope we can rectify this for you and I hope you will trust to return to the Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre in the near future.

Kind regards,
Jenny MacDonald - Guest Services Manager
jenny.macdonald@gz63.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#14 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
2,497 reviews
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
596 reviews
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou
#16 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
#19 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
762 reviews
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
#7 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
538 reviews
Yuexiu District
China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre
Address: No.339 Huanshi East Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510098, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#11 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#13 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#40 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre 4.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre is an exclusive international 5-star hotel located on Huanshi Road East, the heart of downtown’s bustling commercial and shopping district. An airport express bus station is located at the hotel’s entrance, 7km to Guangzhou East Railway Station and walking distance 200m to Guangzhou Metro Station. The hotel features 460 well appointed guest rooms and suites with an extensive city or greenery view. Complimentary wi-fi and a collection of specialty pillows are on offer. Club floors with 73 rooms and suites offer personalized service and additional privacy for the needs of today’s busy executives. In addition, three superb restaurants and a lobby lounge are on offer, including Baiyuelou, a popular Cantonese restaurant featuring organic, fresh and healthy specialties; Fresh, all-day international dining hosted by engaging chefs in show-kitchens offers a lavish buffet selection; Hao Chi, a casual Asian restaurant, serving exquisite dim-sum, hand-made noodles and a variety of delicate snacks; and the Lobby Lounge, offering a relaxing atmosphere where guests can enjoy a variety of cocktails, fine wines and beers, as well as an array of your favorite appetizers. Over 2,000 sq meters of meeting space includes a 985 square-meter pillar-less Crystal Ballroom with an impressive 9 meter high ceiling. The Pearl Ballroom, Diamond Boardroom and 9 Jade function rooms feature state-of-the-art audio-visual equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre Hotel Guangzhou
Guangdong International Hotel
Guangdong International Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing