We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GOOD QUALITY HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre
Ranked #14 of 3,503 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We were on a business trip to Guangzhou and stayed in the hotel for four days. It was a hectic trip as we had to travel for long period every day. Swimming pool and the spa were a good distraction after a long day of work. The staff were very cordial and could communicate with us in English well. Rooms were spacious and the layout very good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gugs2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPCityCentreGZ, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear gugs2013,

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre.

Kind regards,
Jenny MacDonald - Guest Services Manager
jenny.macdonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

271 - 277 of 570 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Not sure if its because of the culture here as its my first trip to Gangzhou, I did not find the hotel staff very welcoming even though we check in at late 11pm and there is no other guest at the check in counter. No one also bothered to help us with the luggage to the room. So we lugged the heavy luggage to the room all by ourselves.

The staffs are also not meticulous in their work in our opinion. We booked our guangzhou-hk train tickets through the concierge and set to collect it at 9pm on the same day. We were horrific when we saw that the boarding dates were wrong (an expired tickets) and we are due to leave the very next day. Though this was rectified the next day at 12pm (train leaves at 345pm), we were surprised that no staff (the one who collected the tixs from the agent and the one who passed us the tickets) bothered to check through before handing this to us for the first time. I am not sure what will happen if we did not check at the onset and presented these tickets at the train station. There was also not much apology from the staff for the above error.

Lastly, we accidentally left a jacket which we treasure, in the room. We tried to email the hotel about it, hoping that they may have found and kept it under lost and found. But alas, no response from the hotel on this. This is really disappointing.

The room itself was great with a couple-sized bath tube so it was good. Everything was also working fine with quality finishes in room. Just one thing on the house keeping, we went back one day and found the windows opened! Probably the housekeeper forgot to close it but as our room is located at a pretty high floor (level 27), i find it pretty scary to have to close the windows ourselves.

The above ratings are purely for the quality room provided (for its great!) and none for the service. I would consider to stay in this hotel again only if their service has improved.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Janet81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPCityCentreGZ, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Janet81,

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback, I am so sorry to hear of the inconveniences caused to you during your stay. Please contact me directly and I would like to find out the details of these cases and help to find out why no response was issued and if we can locate the coat. Please contact me directly at your convenience.

Kind regards,
Jenny MacDonald - Guest Services Manager
jenny.macdonald@gz63.cn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

suppose to stay for 3 night , but was force to leave earlier due to the hotel is fully book on the last day. Had stay once before , not much to complain at , check in is fast , didn't encounter a problem, the breakfast buffet is ok, ( nice to chef david , still at helm ) , had a nice chat with Jenny M . , who is busy manning the breakfast counter . the room is ok and clean which is very important for me. The reason why I like to stay at crown plaza city centre , bec it's very convenient for me to go to my suppliers in shoe city ( just a bus ride ) and just across the street Japanese own department store and supermarket, in case I need some basic items

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank afc45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPCityCentreGZ, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear afc45,

It is so nice to receive your message and it was so nice to meet you. I am sorry that that our occupancy was full for the duration of your stay due to Canton fair. I am happy to here that you should be returning soon and we will be happy to accomidate you as always! It is our pleasure to serve you and happy to hear that our loction is conveniently located close to your office. We will look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Guangzhou!

Kind regards,
Jenny MacDonald - Guest Services Manager
jenny.macdonald@gz63.cn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

i was on a business trip to Guangzhou. I spend three night in crowne plaza city centre. it was nice to stay with crowne plaza. the room was amazing and the bathroom was quiet big. I enjoyed my stay. the coffee shop was not too big.....but was ok. the staff was helpful.

Room Tip: the room and bathroom was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sohilsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPCityCentreGZ, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Sohilsm,

It is so nice to receive such positive feedback and comments from our loyal guests. Thank you for your support and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre!

Kind regards,
Jenny MacDonald - Guest Services Manager
jenny.macdonald@gz63.cn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

I am writing this from the relaxed atmosphere of the club lounge before heading to Hong Kong . I have stayed this trip for 5 days and the service and staff has been first class as it has been on my previous visits. A special mention to James the Guest Services Manager who is very helpful and looks as though he is really enjoying his job. Rooms on club floor are huge. clean and nicely decorated. All the hotel is well maintained . Only criticism is the dining room is a little uninspiring to look at as against other top hotels. Membership status is also recognised.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank MSManc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPCityCentreGZ, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear MSManc,

Thank you so much for your kind feedback. I'm so happy to hear you were relaxing in the lounge and found the service great. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Gunagzhou City Centre!

Kind regards,
Jenny MacDonald - Guest Services Manager
jenny.macdonald@gz63.cn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

After a disappointing experience elsewhere, we checked into the Crown Plaza for our remaining 2 nights in Guangzhou and were very pleased that we did. Everything about our stay at this hotel was "simply fabulous". Staff are very well trained and just so efficient and polite. Every operational service that we experienced was possibly the best ever. Management is to be congratulated on maintaining a fantastic place to stay. I am sure that our room must have been upgraded as it was very large, roomy and so comfortable, everything worked and service was impeccable. Even on checkout, when I didn't rember to collect my credit card, staff provided exceptional service and actually contacted the taxi that we departed in (how I don't know), and we returned to collect the card. Thank you so much, a memorable and a pleasure to stay at the Crown Plaza, City Centre, Guangzhou.

we departedstaff

Room Tip: The only place to stay in Guangzhou
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockyj837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPCityCentreGZ, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear RockyJ,

It is our pleasure to have you in our hotel and so wonderful to receive this great feedback from our guests. I am sorry to hear you had an unpleasant experience in the previous hotel but it is so great to hear that our team could turn that around for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Guaungzhou City Centre in the future.

Kind regards,
Jenny MacDonald - Guest Services Manager
jenny.macdonald@gz63.cn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This was my second visit to this hotel after almost a year. I selected this hotel again mainly because of its location and because of great hospitality. Staff is very courteous and very helpful. I stayed there for 4 nights and this time I booked for Club floor and its really worth for money spent. Rooms are very spacious, clean and comfortable and modern design, all facilities.
Breakfast at club lounge is really very good with lot of choice, but being vegetarian (not even sea food) I wish for some more variety in Vegetarian dishes, but otherwise, its really good.
Location as I mentioned earlier is excellent. Its just opposite is a big departmental store and super market and even cinema theater. One of the best Indian food restaurant is just across the road. Foot overbearing is just at entrance of the hotel so very easy to cross to other side. There is money changing machine at hotel only otherwise there are plenty of banks near hotel. Famous friendship store and other branded good market is also at walking distance.
Overall, I love this hotel and definitely going to stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Atycoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPCityCentreGZ, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Atycoon,

Our entire team is so pleased to receive great feedback from our loyal guests. Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback. I am so glad that you enjoy the location and the convenience of the restaurants in our neighbourhood. We also have a new Indian Chef and Arabic Chef in Fresh All Day Dining to help personalize for special dietary needs of all of our guests. We thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Jenny MacDonald - Guest Services Manager
jenny.macdonald@gz63.cn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#12 of 3,503 in Guangzhou
2,561 reviews
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,503 in Guangzhou
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
#24 of 3,503 in Guangzhou
789 reviews
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
#17 of 3,503 in Guangzhou
809 reviews
Yuexiu District
China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre

Address: No.339 Huanshi East Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510098, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#11 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#14 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#55 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range: £79 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre 4.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre is an exclusive international 5-star hotel located on Huanshi Road East, the heart of downtown’s bustling commercial and shopping district. An airport express bus station is located at the hotel’s entrance, 7km to Guangzhou East Railway Station and walking distance 200m to Guangzhou Metro Station. The hotel features 460 well appointed guest rooms and suites with an extensive city or greenery view. Complimentary wi-fi and a collection of specialty pillows are on offer. Club floors with 73 rooms and suites offer personalized service and additional privacy for the needs of today’s busy executives. In addition, three superb restaurants and a lobby lounge are on offer, including Baiyuelou, a popular Cantonese restaurant featuring organic, fresh and healthy specialties; Fresh, all-day international dining hosted by engaging chefs in show-kitchens offers a lavish buffet selection; Hao Chi, a casual Asian restaurant, serving exquisite dim-sum, hand-made noodles and a variety of delicate snacks; and the Lobby Lounge, offering a relaxing atmosphere where guests can enjoy a variety of cocktails, fine wines and beers, as well as an array of your favorite appetizers. Over 2,000 sq meters of meeting space includes a 985 square-meter pillar-less Crystal Ballroom with an impressive 9 meter high ceiling. The Pearl Ballroom, Diamond Boardroom and 9 Jade function rooms feature state-of-the-art audio-visual equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre Hotel Guangzhou
Guangdong International Hotel
Guangdong International Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing