We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Hotel Canton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Canton
Ranked #46 of 3,522 Hotels in Guangzhou
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed here only the 1 night. The Staff were very helpful. Its close to the Pearl River where we had booked a night tour and was within 5 mins walking. The rooms were spacious and clean
the beds comfy. The only issue was with the shower a plug in the drain blocked it and caused flooding from the base into the bathroom floor the attendant pulled it out and cleaned up the mess, I asked her to leave it out to save further embarassment. We didn't book the breakfast.
Overall a good Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flamegrille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2013

My husband and I stayed for one week. This hotel is in a great position close to everything. Breakfast was ok but not great, I think we were a bit late to arrive. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. We had no trouble booking in or out. Rooms are very clean. The TV viewing in China is terrible but I think every hotel is the same. We will be returning to China again next year and would have no hesitation staying here again.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank KessaBallina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Our group of 20 stayed at the Hotel Canton for 2 nights. The rooms were clean and spacious with comfortable king sized beds. We were impressed with the breakfast spread which had more variety than you can imagine, although you need to be there early to avoid the rush.

There was minimal service in the downstairs bar and it wasn't until one of our group spoke to the manager, that we finally received the meals ordered hours earlier. Lack of English by the staff and Chinese on our part did not help.

The hotel is in a great location - just a few minutes walk to Beijing Road, where there is some great shopping to be had.

The free wifi is a bonus.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

A hotel with a 10 mins walk to Beijing Road and shopping street. Next to a little museum and at the corner of a room. It a quite location. Across the hotel there are plenty of small restaurants, a fruit stalls and a morning market not a distance away. There are two entrance to the hotel. One that is up a small hilly way and another behind the hotel building. Both are good access to shops.

Our rooms does not include breakfast so we had dim sum twice at the restaurant price not cheap but it is comfortable. Selection not many but sufficient if you are not picky.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dina626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

The hotel is not a new one and needs removation. The rooms are big enough for long stays but also cold design which might be boring after sometime. The amenities are enough and the rooms are clean. It is a budget hotel but gives you free wifi freedom at all places. Check and out speed is satisfactory but more attention will bring more satisfaction. Restaurants are enough. The staf can communicate in english. I recommend for business stays mainly. Cigar bar increases the happiness.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Laquila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

This hotel is situated in the old downtown of Guangzhou. The avenues arround the hotel had some very traditional cantonese buildings. The facilities in the hotel was good. There was a small noddle shop near hotel across the Beijing Road. It offered nice cantonese food primarily for the locals.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank Rui L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We took a taxi to this hotel from the airport during mid week peak after work traffic. The trip took over an hour. Luckily we were charged for mileage, not time sat in traffic.
Once at the hotel, check in was quick and easy, the staff spoke Cantonese (I am a Cantonese speaker) which made things much easier for me, as I wanted a non-smoking room. But like a previous hotel I stayed in Guangzhou, they will only give you a smoke treated room. The room itself was lovely and we had a good view of the city. I could not get WIFI in the room, but the internet worked on the PC, so it wasn’t a huge issue. There are a few Chinese style fast food places to eat nearby, which the door men were happy to point the way. The walk to the nearest metro was about 15 minutes walk. We only did this a few times before deciding taxis were easier with a baby and a pram.
Overall, I would stay in this hotel again.
The return trip to the airport was much quicker, as it was on a Sunday evening.

Room Tip: If you want a non-smoking room, you'll have to ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kittyra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
Landmark Canton Hotel
#45 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
500 reviews
Guangdong Victory Hotel
#32 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
591 reviews
Guangzhou Hotel
#167 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guangdong Hotel
#817 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
96 reviews
Yuexiu District
Yingshang Airland Hotel Guangzhou Beijing Road
Yingshang Airland Hotel Guangzho...
#398 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canton

Address: No.374 Beijing Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510030, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range: £39 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Canton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 465
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Canton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canton Hotel Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing