We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In dire need of a renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ramada Pearl Guangzhou
Ranked #55 of 3,559 Hotels in Guangzhou
Reviewed 20 June 2012

I've been in Guangzhou several times and stayed in different hotels. Some of them were fantastic but very expensive (Guangzhou is one of the most expensive cities in China and becoming number one soon I think), while others were ordinary or outright dreadful. This hotel falls into the secondary category, although there are some bright sparks which kind of mitigate the problems.

First, what I did not like. This hotel is very old, and it shows. The carpeting in the common areas and inside the room where I was are REALLY old, worn and dirty. Usually I enjoy walking barefooted in the hotels I stay in; this is one of the few which I insisted on wearing slippers, even after I had asked the chambermaid to vacuum the carpet. The furniture, curtains and bathroom amenities prove the age of the hotel. And they are literally falling off - the knobs of the cupboard, the lamp shade and the power switches, they actually do fall off after you touch them! I simply "put them back" after they dropped off, no point telling the hotel I suppose.

Why such scepticism? The service standards of this hotel is just so-so, and just as one reviewer earlier mentioned, is very much in line with Chinese-run hotel standards. It's not that they do not try, most of the staff really do. But the high standards that so many international customers like me are used to are just not found here. I've been to enough Chinese-run hotels to expect just mediocre service, so I basically did not make a fuss out of their failure to ensure a smoke-free enviornment in my non-smoking floor and their failure to give me a second key card when requested. No reason to refuse guests for such simple requests, but they did, flatly and squarely. This is a Chinese-run hotel.

Facilities in this hotel are also old, and the overall feel of this outfit is very 1980s, at best mid-1990s. It seems the owner doesn't want to pump in any more money to improve the look and amenities, what a shame. The pool looked dreary although a dip in the water in this hot summer weather would have been inviting. The restaurants serve sub-standard western food, and there is a feel that it's targeted to the more economical business travellers in China. Sadly, I have been classified as such I think and here I am wondering if this hotel has anything good to offer.

To be fair, it does. Location along the river bank means a good view of the Pearl River. In fact, my room curtains open up to reveal the Canton Tower, which is gorgeously lit up at night amid a symphony of lights. The nearby Grand Theatre is also an architectural marvel, and this part of Guangzhou is obviously a well-planned, rich precinct. The metro station is about 10 minutes' walk away, while there are some shops within a 10-15 minute walk which will allow you to stock up on simple groceries and food, or even catch a quick bite.

If this hotel updates its looks and clean up its act (literally) after a massive renovation, I think it can harness on its good location to attract more international guests like me. For now, the Ramada Pearl is a drab outfit which is aged and worn-out, and suitable only because you're on a relative budget for business. For those with a bit more in your travel budget, you can have better choices in this city.

Room Tip: Some small rooms are apparently "newly-renovated" a few years back. You may wish to opt fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sal the Fat Fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2012

This is a reasonably priced, friendly hotel with efficient smiling concierge (Kelly)
At night, if it has just rained you can see the colourful light show on the 610 meter tall TV tower just across the river.
Don't drink the coffee at breakfast and I recommend the lovely Italian Restaurant across the road for dinner. (Antipasto 52)
The pool is inviting but quite a walk from reception. ATMs close buy and great deli next to the italian.
We attended the Canton Fair which is an enjoyably short bus ride in Guangzhou traffic.
Our 6th visit and we have yet to brave the basement disco bar which is very popular with the locals.

Room Tip: The Pearl river is to the south, completely lifeless brown soup but a view none the less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

The hotel is an updated and old version in Guangzhou.
The staff is friendly and english communication is satisfactory at all departments.
The check in and out speed is satisfactory.
The rooms are clean but old decorated.
Internet is free which increases your satisfaction.
The restaurants are enough for breakfast and dinner.
The locayion is very convenient with a good view of the river.
The amenities are enough.
I recommend for short business trips.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laquila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

from the hotel you can see the river, lot of park around, in the evening light from places around is beautiful, room with good size, good quality/price

but house keeping did a lousy job

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ngdanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Stayed here for 8 days, my room was larger than I expected with a great view. The carpet in my room was clean, but in the hallways was stained and looked very worn. There were 6 elevators but when the hotel was full (as it was the last 4 days) in the mornings it could be an extraordinarily long wait to get a lift and then a long ride down as it stopped on many floors. The location was pretty good for getting a taxi, and there were some restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. The beds were more comfortable than others I stayed on in China. Internet access was good and easy to use. Breakfast was great, lots of western and Chinese options.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLillith21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Good location, average rooms and most disappointing no bar to enjoy after a day at Canton fare, Good locaction if going to Canton Fare. I would not stay there again..

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Ramada Pearl is a decent hotel for the business traveler. Rooms are well laid out and reasonably sized with decent amenities in the room and adequate toiletries available. The hotel has a small arcade and a discotheque apart from a business center which is well equipped.

We found the hotel a little off the central district and its location off the main road meant taking a pretty long turn to reach the hotel or to connect back in to the main road. If you wanted to walk a bit to pick up a taxi, it will be a little inconvenient to find one or get one to stop on the fast 6 lane main road.

We did not go in to the restaurant but did get a drink at the small drinks counter at one end of the lobby secluded from the main area by potted plants. The swimming pool is quite adequately sized and visible from the room we stayed in at the 22nd floor which had a view over the city skyline lining up on the pearl river, a good view during day time and a nice view in the evening hours until mid night when the lights start going off.

Only a convenient hotel for a medium level business traveler, but nothing exceptional nor one with highlights which would make one go out and put a recommendation out for it.

Room Tip: Get a room on the higher floors facing the Pearl river for a nice skyline view during evening to mid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tourbador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
2.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Guangzhou
Ramada Plaza Guangzhou
#34 of 3,559 in Guangzhou
316 reviews
2 mi away
China Mayors Hotel
China Mayors Hotel
#61 of 3,559 in Guangzhou
130 reviews
2 mi away
Royal Mediterranean Hotel
Royal Mediterranean Hotel
#69 of 3,559 in Guangzhou
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Landmark Canton Hotel
Landmark Canton Hotel
#45 of 3,559 in Guangzhou
507 reviews
3.9 mi away
Dongfang Hotel
Dongfang Hotel
#22 of 3,559 in Guangzhou
920 reviews
2.5 mi away
Jianguo Hotel
Jianguo Hotel
#27 of 3,559 in Guangzhou
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Pearl Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Pearl Guangzhou

Address: No.9 Mingyue First Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510600, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range: £53 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ramada Pearl Guangzhou 3.5*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Pearl Hotel by Wyndham brand is located in the proximity of the CBD and Consulate Area of Guangzhou, beside tranquil and relaxing environment of Pearl River. 1.3Km away from US Consulate,1km from Canton Tower and Haixinsha Asian Games Park,5km away from Guangzhou-Kowloon Express Railway Station, and 35km from Baiyun International Airport and 8km from Guangzhou International Convention Exhibition Center. The hotel boasts 379 ultra-modern guest rooms including suites, executive floor and apartments, with different cuisine restaurants, function rooms, and a well-equipped Health & Recreation Center, Business Center, Ticketing & Beauty Salon. Ramada Pearl Hotel offers excellent facility and good service. It is a perfect combination for both business and leisure in Guangzhou. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Pearl Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Pearl Guangzhou Hotel Guangzhou
Ramada Guangzhou
Guangzhou Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing