We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great little island and a nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Guangdong Victory Hotel
Ranked #31 of 3,408 Hotels in Guangzhou
Saitama, Japan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A great little island and a nice hotel”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I like this great little island of Shamian in the Pearl River. This hotel is in a wonderful location in the quasi-centre of the island. It is well served by Guangzhou Metro Line 2. In spite of that, the price was fairly reasonable. The area is full of life---souvenir shops mainly for foreign visitors, cafés including Starbucks and nice restaurants serving both Chinese and Western food. There's a nice tree-lined promenade going horizontally in the centre. I found the hotel building itself quite attractive with its neo-classical Western style, and the guest room was well-maintained. There was even a PC with free Internet connexion in my room. You can't access YouTube though, but it's none of the hotel's fault but because the Chinese government blocks it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank xapaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    321
    71
    16
    7
See reviews for
78
127
59
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

This is the 2nd time we've stayed at the Victory Hotel on Shamian Island. Best beds in China! Rooms are quite small, but are well furnished and comfortable. Our room was on the front of hotel, facing main road - was a little noisy - but we were exhausted from travels, still slept soundly! TV has some english channels. Great breakfast - alot more western than chinese. Staff speak quite good english, and doorman are very obliging. Well priced for good comfortable hotel. Look around the island, its beautiful and good (souvenir) shopping for westerners!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leeanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

My family of 4 stayed there in Dec 2011.

It is a relaxing place to stay we liked especially the breakfast buffet where we really had a relaxing start before we start a fully day of sightseeing.

The room is clean and amenities are practical.

Room Tip: Chose the West Wing as the rooms were newer
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelmelody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

The suites were spacious and it was nice to have two bathrooms. It would have been nice to know about the construction going on above our room before we unpacked. The hotel is outdated and needs to be upgraded and the breakfast is lacking much. Nothing special to report here.

Room Tip: Don't choose the asian themed suite. The bed is on the floor and there is a step up to get to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnScottHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
District of Columbia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

My wife and I stayed in the west building of the Victory for five nights with our daughter during our adoption process this February. The Victory was exactly what we needed. The room was spacious and nicely appointed, the breakfast adequate, and the price just fine. The hotel's location on Shamian Island is a traquil break from the hustle of the rest of Guangzhou.

A few notes: the west building or annex is actually an entirely separate building about a block away from the main or east building. It has a separate check-in and breakfast, but guests from west may use the playroom and other services in east. The rooms in the west building are supposed to be more recently redone and larger, but we did not see any rooms in the east building for comparison. We did not use the fitness center or pool, as they are closed in the winter.

The staff were functional but not terribly friendly. The front desk is pretty slow to check you in and out, especially when there is only one clerk on duty. We never saw more than two. The other thing to keep in mind is that the hotel has what I consider an awful exchange rate. It was giving 6 RMB per dollar at a time when the bank right across the street would give you 6.25. Not even the big hotels in Beijing were this stingy. On the other hand, be aware that the bank takes a long time and has a lot of paperwork associated with money changes.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank childbride84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I enjoyed my stay here and found the room was fine, if a little draughty. I upgraded on arrival to include breakfast and stay in the west wing, the buffet breakfast was great with a large choice and egg bar. The rooms were nice with a big comfy bed, bath and shower, tea making facilites, and all the usual ammenities. The staff were fine and the location of this hotel is lovely, and its only a 5 min walk to the closet metro station. I would probably stay in this hotel again if visiting guangzhou as the shamain island locsation is so nice.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank angie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Location:

Located in Shamian Island, with a number of colonial style buildings. Unlike downtown Guangzhou, you won't find lots of people and vehicles but a place of quiet and relax. It is convenient to walk from hotel to the riverside and the famous Shangxiajiu Pedestrian Street.

Although the hotel is near the Huangsha Metro Station, you will need to cross the footbridge from the station to Shamian Island (not good when you have many luggages).

The Hotel:

The hotel actually got 2 different blocks. We have booked the new block which is recently renovated. The new block have a smaller lobby and restaurant but the rooms are new. We have assigned a room facing the atrium, which means there is no view. The amenities inside is new and clean.

Service:

Check-in/out may take times, as the new block have 2 staff in the lobby only. The overall service is good. Few people use the restaurant so you couldn't expect any service or food quality. The breakfast is average but not bad.

Room Tip: I'll recommend the new block, but don't pick a room facing atrium
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merlin2046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
#24 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Swan Hotel
White Swan Hotel
#20 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
5.8 mi away
Jianguo Hotel
Jianguo Hotel
#28 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Ocean Hotel
Ocean Hotel
#42 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
5.5 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
3.3 mi away
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
#34 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guangdong Victory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guangdong Victory Hotel

Property: Guangdong Victory Hotel
Address: No 53 Shamian North Street (East Building); No.54 Shamian Street (West Building), Guangzhou 510130, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
#36 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guangdong Victory Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Guangdong Victory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guangdong Victory Guangzhou
Hotel Guangdong Victory

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing