We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great example of a modernised old colonial hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guangdong Victory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Guangdong Victory Hotel
Ranked #30 of 3,384 Hotels in Guangzhou
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A great example of a modernised old colonial hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

As a fan of old colonial era hotels, I was eager to check out the Victory Hotel, formerly the Victoria Hotel. Set in Shamian Island, the old European concession in Guangzhou, the hotel is in the perfect location to check out the other old European buildings on Shamian, as well as good shopping and restaurant areas.

The hotel itself was very well maintained with friendly staff, some of which with a basic understanding of English. The rooms were spacious and the bed comfortable. The only quibble I had was that the computer in the business centre was broken.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazamateur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    313
    68
    16
    7
See reviews for
75
123
58
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

Ok guys, for the canton fair this is a very good hotel, they have shuttles from and to the fair and it is very good
If you're going there for fun I don't think you need to select this hotel, Though it is very safe area and very good street but to be honest it's boring, after 8 I feel there is no life unless I leave the hotel because it is too quite for me

The cleanliness of the room is good, it is not "Dubai" standards but it is fair enough so don't put your hopes high, but to be fair, the sheets are changed regularly and the rooms are cleaned very well and one more thing, in each floor there is a girl from staff always in the floor cleaning and maintaining the floor.
The breakfast is good, in fact was depending on the breakfast (heavy breakfast then eat late) but there is something "I think it is stupid" but this is the way it goes in the hotel. If you book the breakfast one day before then you will get a voucher and the breakfast will be 90 yuan, if not then you will pay 120 yuan for the breakfast so you better take care of this point

The hotel has the salon in the ground floor, and to be honest they don't bother you a lot, they just ask you, if they see a smile or a response from you they will keep nagging, but if you say "NO" firmly and turn your face then they will just go shy away....I think it's not that big deal to have them specially that some hotel guests like their services so no big deal

There is a spa near the hotel, seven eleven also just across the street, Starbucks near the new building which is like 2 min walk, park near the hotel, French restaurant around the corner and some other nice shops.

Generally speaking, if you want a quite and safe area then go for it, but if you want a wild night then go for something else.

One more thing, the Internet in the hotel is good, it was wired but I also got the signal from my room. But Facebook was blocked I don't know why

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank fhaddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We visit the Victory regularly, preferring the west wing, with small but clean rooms and bathroom with a large shower. The room service is excellent. If you do not travel with a small wireless router, ask for one at the reception, it's free and allows you to have wifi in the room. Breakfast is rich, both chinese and continental, but is too crowded when the hotel is fully booked. The location of the hotel is great, the island on which the hotel is located is quiet but there are in my opinion, only two restaurants in the area that are good...the Shamian restaurant (next to the Shamian hotel) and the Lan kwai Fong with a large outdoor area overlooking the river. There is a Starbucks around the corner.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dlopescardozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
170 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Stayed in the West Wing of the hotel which is a few minutes away from the main building.

The staff were friendly and spoke good English. The room was a decent size with a lovely balcony. The bed was the most comfortable I have had in China. The bathroom had both a bath and large shower area with good toiletries. There was a lack of drawers to put anything though! There is a computer in each room for use and wi-fi - you may need to ask them for a router to boost the wifi signal. Otherwise there is wifi in the lobby and restaurant. A minibar in the room is reasonably priced but there is no free bottled water but a drinking tap in the bathroom.

The breakfast was really good, plenty of foods both Western and Chinese and an egg station, plenty for a good start to the day and the restaurant ambience is really nice.

The gym is small but adequate.

Hotel is just over 5 mins walk to Huangsha Station via a footbridge. Shamian island is beautiful to stroll around. Taxis in Guangzhou are super cheap and can get you across the city be be warned that Guangzhou is huge!

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms x12-x18 all have balconies - get one of those!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrrfrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saitama, Japan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I like this great little island of Shamian in the Pearl River. This hotel is in a wonderful location in the quasi-centre of the island. It is well served by Guangzhou Metro Line 2. In spite of that, the price was fairly reasonable. The area is full of life---souvenir shops mainly for foreign visitors, cafés including Starbucks and nice restaurants serving both Chinese and Western food. There's a nice tree-lined promenade going horizontally in the centre. I found the hotel building itself quite attractive with its neo-classical Western style, and the guest room was well-maintained. There was even a PC with free Internet connexion in my room. You can't access YouTube though, but it's none of the hotel's fault but because the Chinese government blocks it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank xapaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

This is the 2nd time we've stayed at the Victory Hotel on Shamian Island. Best beds in China! Rooms are quite small, but are well furnished and comfortable. Our room was on the front of hotel, facing main road - was a little noisy - but we were exhausted from travels, still slept soundly! TV has some english channels. Great breakfast - alot more western than chinese. Staff speak quite good english, and doorman are very obliging. Well priced for good comfortable hotel. Look around the island, its beautiful and good (souvenir) shopping for westerners!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leeanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

My family of 4 stayed there in Dec 2011.

It is a relaxing place to stay we liked especially the breakfast buffet where we really had a relaxing start before we start a fully day of sightseeing.

The room is clean and amenities are practical.

Room Tip: Chose the West Wing as the rooms were newer
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelmelody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
#20 of 3,384 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Swan Hotel
White Swan Hotel
#18 of 3,384 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
5.9 mi away
Jianguo Hotel
Jianguo Hotel
#25 of 3,384 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Ocean Hotel
Ocean Hotel
#37 of 3,384 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
5.6 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#2 of 3,384 in Guangzhou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
3.4 mi away
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
#33 of 3,384 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guangdong Victory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guangdong Victory Hotel

Property: Guangdong Victory Hotel
Address: No 53 Shamian North Street (East Building); No.54 Shamian Street (West Building), Guangzhou 510130, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
#36 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guangdong Victory Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Guangdong Victory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guangdong Victory Guangzhou
Hotel Guangdong Victory

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing