We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Taxi ordered by reception lady scam” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guangdong Victory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Guangdong Victory Hotel
Ranked #30 of 3,384 Hotels in Guangzhou
Celje, Slovenia
1 review
“Taxi ordered by reception lady scam”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

I checked out hotel's WEST building around 7.30 p.m on 21st of July. The lady at reception offered me to order the taxi, because as she said is difficult to get a taxi at this hour. I trusted her also because there is a warning notice on the reception desk that red and yellow taxi are advised because of cheating with 100 Yuan bank notes scam. She asked me to sit down and wait and after she started very nervously calling her taxi. Meanwhile I observed street and there were many taxi passing by hotel, also red and yellow ones. After approx. 20 minutes her taxi arrived. It was blue Hyundai with taxi driver license number 231110. Even there was notice in the car that it is forbidden to smoke, taxi had very bad smell and taxi driver had a box of cigarette at the shelf near the gear stick. He obviously smoke in the car very short time before. Taxi driver tried to start drive with 14 Yuan on the taxi counter ( obiously would like me to pay for the previous drive too) and switched taximeter to start with regular 10 Yuan after three loud protests from my side. Also car is obviously broken , probably clutch. During all the drive to airport there were coming strange sounds from the (probably) clutch so the drive to the airport was very scary.
Taking into account all the circumstances when arrived at the airport I checked the number of the 100 Yuan banknote before I handed over to the taxi driver and also man from the airport trolley service immediately arrived to the taxi so I would have a witness if something would go wrong. My checking banknote before handing over to him obviously made taxi driver nervous and bad mode. He asked me to pay surcharge for highway which I did.

Advise all guests of the hotel to refuse reception call a taxi for them regardless if they leave hotel at night time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sreckoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    313
    68
    16
    7
See reviews for
75
123
58
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

My mom and I stayed here for 3 nights for business. My only complaint is that the East Building is a few blocks away from the West Building and you have to check-in at the specific wing. But no worries since the bellboy is more than happy to accompany us and push our luggage.

We checked in at the West Building. The facade is most beautiful that one could easily spend 30 minutes admiring every angle. The interiors are tastefully done; it is modern yet bears the building's historical charm.

On our first night, we were lucky to be upgraded to a suite. It was probably the best sleep I've had at a Chinese hotel. Beds were soft. Everything was just perfect. Breakfast was buffet with full of choices. The staff were prompt and courteous.

Location is another plus. It is a few minutes' walk from a Metro station. The best of all is that it is located on Shamian Island. This small, quiet, historical island makes me feel at ease and relaxes me every time I'm in Guangzhou. I would stay here again and again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephenco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

Beautiful location in an old part of town, the hotel is clean and the beds comfortable with good quality linens and pillows. Not too noisy considering it is close to some busy roads. Several restaurants in walking distance. staff at the hotel helpful and several speak reasonably good English. Air Con quiet and efficient which was important given the high level of humidity. It is a safe area for single travelers and it is easy to walk to the old markets and streets to sightsee. Ali H.

Room Tip: Go for West building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Beautiful old hotel in a really lovely part of the city of Guanzhou. The Shamian Island is an enclave of old Victoria style buildings where, in the 19 century, British and French were permitted to live and work. Stately trees and parks surrounded by canals set the scene for fine dining and safe evening strolls. If you like old buildings and an excellent Western breakfast buffet this is your spot. You'll meet all the westerners here. Our rooms were about $150/nt making it very expensive for the city.
Good access to the metro just across one of the pedestrian bridges. We were excited to find we could take the Metro around the city and also to Foshan where we went to see the amazing Nanfeng Ancient Kiln: 2 early Ming dragon wood fired kilns still in operation.

Room Tip: I read about the east wing vs the west wing and found that all have been renovated now.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ananda100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Stayed here for the mother's day weekend.

PROS
* Great price $500/night including buffet breakfast which was good (egg & noddle station available).
* Wonderful bed, I slept like a baby and excellent selection of pillows available. This is the hotel for a great nights sleep.
* Plush towels, robes, slippers
* Reasonable room service prices
* 10 mins to metro "Huangsha" exit D but you need to use a pedestrian bridge with plenty of stairs so taking luggage will be difficult.

CONS
Freezing uncontrollable air conditioning and the robe in my room upon checkin was dirty & smelly. Called housekeeping and it was replaced with a fresh one immediately.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We are so pleased that we chose to stay in a hotel in Sha Mian. This is a beautiful littel island with beautiful parks, European colonial style buildings, and lots of cafes, bars and very good Chinese restaurants. Walking by the river through the little lanes between those magnificent buildings is like a journey back to the 1930s. The Pearl River is dotted by pretty neon lights and caressed by the gentle breeze. It's just so peaceful and romantic, so different from the rest of the city.
Tao Ran Ju does best Cantonese cuisine, and there is a fabulous Thai restaurant just around the corner of the western wing of the hotel. OUr highlight is a dinner at the nearby seafood market, where we bought live seafood: scampi, prawns and crab from the wharf side stalls, and took them to the restaurant for cooking and serving. It's such a great feast with very good value for money. The whole wharf is occupied by hundreds of such stalls, and there is no shred of fishy smell - this tells you how fresh the seafood is. Literally straight out of the tank.
The hotel is a five-minute walk from the Huang Sha metro station. From there, you could easily access many tourists sites. Highly recommend Zhu Jiang Xin Chen (Zhu Jiang New Town). It's on Line 5, this is the new financial centre /business centre of Guangzhou, with numerous skyscrapers and great department stores with fabulous casual dining restaurants serving up cuisines from all over China and Asia. Guang Bai Depertment Store is next to the Friendship Store, and at the 5th floor of Guang Bai you will be spoilt of choices of where to eat. As a Shanghainese, i got a serious fix for my Shanghainese food craze. At Shang Yi Long, we had fabulous Shanghainese dumplings, noodle soup, fish and vegetables. They were seriously authentic Shanghainese food.
Apparently the WEst Wing of the hotel is newly renovated. We stayed in a Superior Room. It's a bit small but the linen and towels are all of high quality, and the bed and pillow are very comfortable. It's surprisingly quiet from the street. Double glazed windows cut out the noise, I suppose.
The breakfast is pretty good for its price, and caters well for both western and Chinese tourists. My husband is a European and I am a Chinese, and we both enjoyed it. We will be back to Sha Mian again. We will still stay in this hotel if there is no better ones. STrangely, there is no luxurious hotels in Sha Mian, but we love this neighbourhood and just want to stay there again if we are in Guangzhou again. The only problem of this hotel is the terrible smell of cigarettes in the corridor. but hey, we don't stay in the corridor for long. I just held my breath when i walked past it. The room is perfectly fine without any smells. If you can afford it, go for an executive floor and i trust it's smoke free there.

Room Tip: Executive Floor would be better. It's smoke free, and may have a balcony. But Superior room is p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

Spent total 5 nights in 2 weeks stay in China. I stayed at the west building.
Rooms are nice, modern, the only neg. side is the wooden windows with single glazing which is pretty noisy in the evening and early morning.
The more luxurious rooms have a nice balcony where you can sit and have a drink. The room decoration is very nice as well, no complaints.
Staff are friendly and helpful.
Taxi from the airport is around RMB 115 and takes almost 45 minutes.
Breakfast buffet is nice, lot of choice, but for dinner the restaurant is not that great.
For Dinner there are many nice places on Shamian Island to chooce from like Lucy's Bar. Good food at affordable prices.
The area is great for an evening walk, many tourists from the west and locals too.
Overall i would rate this hotel as very good.

Room Tip: Choose the west building, it's smaller, no facilities except small bar and restaurant, but bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaap W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
#20 of 3,384 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Swan Hotel
White Swan Hotel
#18 of 3,384 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
5.9 mi away
Jianguo Hotel
Jianguo Hotel
#25 of 3,384 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Ocean Hotel
Ocean Hotel
#37 of 3,384 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
5.6 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#2 of 3,384 in Guangzhou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
3.4 mi away
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
#33 of 3,384 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guangdong Victory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guangdong Victory Hotel

Property: Guangdong Victory Hotel
Address: No 53 Shamian North Street (East Building); No.54 Shamian Street (West Building), Guangzhou 510130, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
#36 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guangdong Victory Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Guangdong Victory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guangdong Victory Guangzhou
Hotel Guangdong Victory

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing