We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent historic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Guangdong Victory Hotel
Ranked #32 of 3,436 Hotels in Guangzhou
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent historic hotel”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Great Hotel in an unique historical Shamian district w many beautiful old buildings and garden walkways and river side just a stone throw away. Hotel old building was simply beautiful and very well maintained. I booked an Executive Room for just one night. It was huge w even a sofa set which was nice. Bed was very comfortable and room very clean. Breakfast was a good spread.

If u walk out to the main road and cross the overhead bridge walk into the side road w lots of shops selling Chinese dried goods and herbs. Keep walking for 10mins u will reach Holiday inn and their famous shopping district.

Excellent service and front desk staff. Truly a 5 star hotel value for money for business traveller.

Room Tip: This hotel has 2 wings which are separate buildings nearly 250m apart. The Older Bldg is quaint and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsaacJonathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    325
    72
    16
    7
See reviews for
78
129
59
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

A quiet location very far from the financial district of Guangzhou, the stadium or places with a night life. But a very local area. The island is quiet which is a blessing in a very noisy City. The hotel is ok value for money. Staff were mostly speaking some English but not all. If you like shopping malls this was not the place to stay, even though there are bars and the best sea food Restaurent of the city is practically walking distance... I absolutely liked my stay in Guangzhou and enjoyed the quiet of the island after the city. Just ask for rooms that are not at the school side and visit the pool on the roof. It was quiet nice.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Summerssh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenzhen, China
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

The best reason to stay here is its location on Shamian Island.

Rooms have a normal size and a good comfort.

Only negative point: the staff is not so welcoming. I come here often, and it's a long time since I had a smile during check-in or check-out...

Room Tip: Ask for rooms far away from the street to avoid noise during the night/early morning. Some levels we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enschede
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Traveling to Guangzhou (and for the first time to China) we had checked the tourist guides well and seen that Guangdong Victory hotel is located on the quiet charming Shamian Island in a bustling noisy city full of traffic. We therefore chose to stay here and were not disappointed. Note that totel consists of two parts, the old West wing and the modern Eastern part, located about 200 m apart. We stayed in the West Wing. The spoken English of the reception staff was excellent, as was the cleanliness of the room. We took the Western breakfast of the two offered, which was reasonable, which in China is rare in my opinion. Our night rest was excellent: it was very quiet. Staying in May we had no problems with mosquitos and the beds were excellent as well. The island is really charming, full of old architecture and with little traffic. It furthermore has a number of good restaurants. For transport, take a taxi. They are cheap and all use taxi meters. All in all we thought our experience to be very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanFromE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We chose this hotel from other reviews because of the location which was serene and pretty. Just across the road via pedestrian bridges there were many traditional eateries and shops selling dried goods to take home such as mushroom, tea and scallops.
The service was generally good as we got some good shopping and eating tips from the business centre desk. The one negative for this stay was being allocated rooms on different levels which was very inconvenient for us as we were a family and requested rooms close together.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medellin, Colombia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

One of the best hotels in China to know the culture, real people and the best restaurants to test the best food in the South of China.
Architecture, the real filling and what ever you want to buy with good price.

Room Tip: Ask for a big room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JUANVV71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aqaba, Jordan
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

i stayed at west side hotel in executive room , perfect room with lovely bathroom , clean and comfortable , no facilities in this side of hotel , i cant accept the breakfast , no international food just local food ,

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NATHEER A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
#23 of 3,436 in Guangzhou
778 reviews
3.3 mi away
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
#37 of 3,436 in Guangzhou
926 reviews
1.5 mi away
Landmark Canton Hotel
Landmark Canton Hotel
#48 of 3,436 in Guangzhou
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Ocean Hotel
Ocean Hotel
#41 of 3,436 in Guangzhou
390 reviews
5.8 mi away
Jianguo Hotel
Jianguo Hotel
#27 of 3,436 in Guangzhou
642 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Swan Hotel
White Swan Hotel
#19 of 3,436 in Guangzhou
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guangdong Victory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guangdong Victory Hotel

Property: Guangdong Victory Hotel
Address: No 53 Shamian North Street (East Building); No.54 Shamian Street (West Building), Guangzhou 510130, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
#36 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guangdong Victory Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Guangdong Victory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guangdong Victory Guangzhou
Hotel Guangdong Victory

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing