We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Guangdong Victory Hotel
Ranked #32 of 3,396 Hotels in Guangzhou
Adelaide
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

I have just spent 7 nights at this hotel. The staff were friendly, from reception to
the laundry deliveries to breakfast staff - always a smile from them. I stayed in the west wing, which
was, in my opinion, more intimate. Great bed and bed linen - truly an oasis to return to after full days of shopping. Nice restaurants in easy walking distance nearby. If you want a clean, comfortable hotel in Guangzhou, this is it!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmr1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    317
    68
    16
    7
See reviews for
77
126
58
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Just returned 8 wonderful days at the Guangdong Victory Hotel. Located in Shamin Island, a retreat from the hustle and bustle of Guangzhou, we stayed in the West Wing with it's beautiful balconies. many early morning coffees and evening drinks enjoyed on the balcony. The hotel boasts the most comfortable bed, I have ever slept on. The breakfast is satisfactory, all the staff are friendly and helpful. Currently being renovated, this didn't impact on our visit. Celebrated my birthday whilst in Guangzhou and housekeeping arranged cake, candles, etc with prompting which was a lovely surprise.
A lovely retreat after a busy day of shopping.
Would thoroughly recommended and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Non smoking room with a private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsGAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Fantastic location on Shamain Island which is a perfect retreat from the hustle an bustle of this very busy city, yet only a 10 minute walk to a major shopping district. Whereas the hotel itself is a bit tired, it retains a certain grace from a former era. We were upgraded to a suite so could not have been happier, the bed was super comfy. The staff are superb and offer outstanding service. A special thank you to the lovely lady at reception who went beyond her required duty and advanced me some Chinese money to pay for our taxi from the airport as we had arrived on a public holiday and all banks were closed. I will absolutely stay here again and would highly recommend both the hotel and its peaceful and beautiful location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yogaflowjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed at the Victory for 4 nights at the end of August 2013. Check in was ok with no problems.
The room was of good size with all the usual appointments. Clean and tidy.
Breakfast was adequate, with a reasonable, although not huge selection to choose from.
The best feature of this hotel is it's location. As everyone else has stated, quiet beautiful tree lines streets in a historically protected area. With a 5-10min walk across the river you are into the expected hustle, bustle and noise you expect in China. Tube station is 10min from hotel - easy to use.
West Wing is the better option of the two wings.
Very hard to try and book any tours with very limited English spoken by a number of staff. Suggest you book any tours before leaving home.
Overall a pleasant stay, pretty good value for money.

Room Tip: West Wing Executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nzcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

After five weeks of travel it was great to end up at a hotel that ticked all the boxes. The hotel is in a quiet street and overlooks a canal of sorts with some beautiful parks and the Pearl River a short distance away in the back streets. I was firstly impressed on arrival when handed a security notice by one of the outside staff with the number of my taxi clearly identified. Luggage was quickly fetched and wheeled into the foyer where the reception did an excellent job of processing our booking and preparing electronic room cards.
Plenty of working lifts and the room was better than I expected being large and spotlessly clean including the en-suite. The bed was very comfortable and the choices for breakfast the following day were more than ample.
Staff spoke good English and were most accommodating in advice and assistance with taxis, etc. I rate this as an excellent hotel and would certainly recommend it to visitors to Guangzhou.

Room Tip: Some rooms look out to an internal garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foulcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
127 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

The hotel is divided in two wings, the east and the west. We stayed in the west wing, which is the historical wing. We only had a quick look of the East wing lobby and we were glad to have picked the other... the east wing is cheaper and it certainly looks it.
The rooms in the west wing are very well appointed and the only issue we had was the floor of the bathroom: be careful it can get very slippery! Breakfast is ok for China, not 5 stars but decent and the breakfast area is very pleasant. There is a gym and a kid's room which the kids enjoyed.
Our room on the corner of the building had a very big balcony and was facing the Shamian pedestrian area so it was very quiet. If you don't want to be bothered too much by cars make sure you ask for a room on the pedestrian side.
We thought the hotel was well located to enjoy Shamian as well as the rest of the city: it's walking distance to the chinese medicine market and the dining/shopping area, a short taxi ride to the Chen Clan House or the boat cruise. However when you need a taxi, give yourself a lot of time, it seems difficult to get a taxi in Guangzhou in general... and then the roads can be busy.
If a ride back to the train station is included in the room price, notify them in advance so that they can book a driver for you. This service was very much appreciated.
Last tip, the Starbucks next door is in an impressive spot for a coffee and definitely the best I have ever been to... take a drink upstairs and enjoy the balcony!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank voyagistablog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Overview: An excellent hotel for leisure travelers, located in calm, relaxing Shamien.

Accommodation: This was my fifth visit and each time I’ve chosen an Executive room in the West Wing, These rooms are clean, comfortable and bright, with private balconies. My non-smoking room (410) was truly smoke-free. Very comfortable beds. Rooms are well equipped, with a high standard of amenities. Attractive bathroom, good shower. Strong wifi signal (previously, wifi was available only in the lobby; now it’s all over).

Location: This unique part of Guangzhou has clean, tree-lined pedestrian walkways and attractive old low-rise buildings. (Before Mao, the Victory Hotel building was the Hong Kong & Shanghai Bank). With many trees and little traffic, Shamien in Summer is literally cooler than other areas in the city. Nevertheless, taxis are easy to find, so it’s easy to travel to the bustling parts of the city.

F&B: On previous stays, the breakfast offering was weak, so I didn’t bother with it this time. However, the West Wing has a new bar/lounge which serves snacks and specialty coffees. We sat outdoors on Sat night – very pleasant. The friendly waiter (Shawn/Sean?) continued to serve us cheerfully until nearly 4:00am.

A short stroll brings you to a choice of some good restaurants. By far the best is the Orient Express: very good French food in an unusual setting. Expect fine food but not a fine dining experience, as the service staff are generally unskilled. However, you might be looked after by the delightful Ms Bing, one of the owners, in which case you’re in for a treat.

Room Tip: West Wing seems more convenient than East, and the West wing lobby feels more like a boutique hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FussyHotelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
#21 of 3,396 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Swan Hotel
White Swan Hotel
#20 of 3,396 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
5.8 mi away
Jianguo Hotel
Jianguo Hotel
#27 of 3,396 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Ocean Hotel
Ocean Hotel
#40 of 3,396 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
5.5 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,396 in Guangzhou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
3.3 mi away
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
#36 of 3,396 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guangdong Victory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guangdong Victory Hotel

Property: Guangdong Victory Hotel
Address: No 53 Shamian North Street (East Building); No.54 Shamian Street (West Building), Guangzhou 510130, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
#36 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guangdong Victory Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guangdong Victory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guangdong Victory Guangzhou
Hotel Guangdong Victory

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing