We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't see what the fuss is about”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Guangdong Victory Hotel
Ranked #33 of 3,506 Hotels in Guangzhou
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I was only there for one day and hotel was okay, but I don't think it is as good as everbody here is saying. Staff were fine, but they - like many in China - were pretty clueless on things like afternoon coffee and breakfast (I was given peanut butter when asked for syrup for my French toast). There was a lot of food at b'fast, but not much that I wanted.

I was only in Guangzhou for one night and a local friend says the action of the city has shifted away from the centre (where Victory is located) to a new part of the city.

Shamian is a quaint place to stay, but I don't really think this hotel is as good as everbody says. Perhaps it all came down to expectations. Don't get too excited.

Lastly the cheap room on the Western side (quoted in other reviews as being quite good) are close the the main road and noisy. I changed rooms to something quieter.

Room Tip: Lastly the cheap room on the Western side (quoted in other reviews as being quite good) are close th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 136 of 583 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

We only stayed one night but was very happy with our experience. Staff very friendly, rooms lovely. No complaints :) I would recommend this hotel. Loved the area where the hotel is. Beautiful and quiet. We didn't eat at the hotel as we went to this great seafood restaurant nearby (but can't remember the name of it :O) PS you will find stunning brides getting photos taken in this area. They look amazing!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NLRTRAVELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This was our second visit to the Victory Hotel. This time we stayed in the West Wing, which is definitely superior to the East Wing, with extremely comfortable beds - not hard! The location, on Shamian Island is stunning - it is an oasis in the middle of a very busy city. The breakfast is satisfactory, but considering the cheap price of the hotel, the whole experience is great value for money. There is a great café right next to the West Wing, serving Chinese and Western food and open till midnight. The reception staff in the West Wing didn't speak such good English, however if you go just down the street to the East Wing, their staff there can answer all your questions and assist with advice on Guangzhou. Great hairdresser in the East Wing - fantastic head and shoulder massage included. If you're going to Guangzhou for a week's shopping, as I have done twice now, I would highly recommend the Guangdong Victory Hotel.

Room Tip: West Wing has the best beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

hotel in Shamian island which is actually very small. average size rooms, but very clean, small but adequate bathrooms. 2 different wings- east and west. east has bigger lobby and swimming pool. 10 minutes to subway station and shang xia xiu walking street. walking distance to pearl river site-seeing ferries. leafy suburb, lots of people come to have wedding photos taken here. decent breakfast. decent value for money

Room Tip: executive room has balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I have just spent 7 nights at this hotel. The staff were friendly, from reception to
the laundry deliveries to breakfast staff - always a smile from them. I stayed in the west wing, which
was, in my opinion, more intimate. Great bed and bed linen - truly an oasis to return to after full days of shopping. Nice restaurants in easy walking distance nearby. If you want a clean, comfortable hotel in Guangzhou, this is it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmr1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Just returned 8 wonderful days at the Guangdong Victory Hotel. Located in Shamin Island, a retreat from the hustle and bustle of Guangzhou, we stayed in the West Wing with it's beautiful balconies. many early morning coffees and evening drinks enjoyed on the balcony. The hotel boasts the most comfortable bed, I have ever slept on. The breakfast is satisfactory, all the staff are friendly and helpful. Currently being renovated, this didn't impact on our visit. Celebrated my birthday whilst in Guangzhou and housekeeping arranged cake, candles, etc with prompting which was a lovely surprise.
A lovely retreat after a busy day of shopping.
Would thoroughly recommended and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Non smoking room with a private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsGAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Fantastic location on Shamain Island which is a perfect retreat from the hustle an bustle of this very busy city, yet only a 10 minute walk to a major shopping district. Whereas the hotel itself is a bit tired, it retains a certain grace from a former era. We were upgraded to a suite so could not have been happier, the bed was super comfy. The staff are superb and offer outstanding service. A special thank you to the lovely lady at reception who went beyond her required duty and advanced me some Chinese money to pay for our taxi from the airport as we had arrived on a public holiday and all banks were closed. I will absolutely stay here again and would highly recommend both the hotel and its peaceful and beautiful location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yogaflowjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
#24 of 3,506 in Guangzhou
789 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Guangzhou
Ramada Plaza Guangzhou
#30 of 3,506 in Guangzhou
306 reviews
5.8 mi away
Jianguo Hotel
Jianguo Hotel
#31 of 3,506 in Guangzhou
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Guangzhou Hotel
Guangzhou Hotel
#165 of 3,506 in Guangzhou
471 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rosedale Hotel & Suites
Rosedale Hotel & Suites
#89 of 3,506 in Guangzhou
465 reviews
3.3 mi away
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
#39 of 3,506 in Guangzhou
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guangdong Victory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guangdong Victory Hotel

Address: No 53 Shamian North Street ; No.54 Shamian Street, Guangzhou 510130, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
#36 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range: £39 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guangdong Victory Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guangdong Victory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guangdong Victory Guangzhou
Hotel Guangdong Victory

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing