We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Guangdong Victory Hotel
Ranked #32 of 3,522 Hotels in Guangzhou
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We spent four nights at this hotel (East Building) having selected it from Trip Advisor reviews. It turned out to be a really great choice. Service is excellent, rooms spacious and clean, staff friendly and helpful with very good English. The location is magic - an oasis away from the hustle and bustle yet five minutes walk to the organised chaos of the city traffic. Shamian island itself is well worth exploring and constantly threw up surprises.
It so happened that during the stay it was my wife's birthday. On our return from a night out at a restaurant we found a brithday cake, candles, matches and birthday card from the staff. They had matched the birthdate with the registration details - how nice was that? I can only say that if you are not familiar with Guangzhou, or even if you are, this hotel represents great value with a superb location.

Room Tip: We booked a superior room and it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 594DavidP594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 590 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

We booked this hotel, based on Tripadvisor reviews, for a 2-night stay. We had reserved a superior room in the East Building on Shamian Island. Getting there was easy: from East Guangzhou Railway Station (where we arrived from Hong Kong), we took subway Line 1 (the yellow line) to Huangsha Station (Exit D) and walked across to the hotel.

Although we had asked for a no smoking room, the room we were given smelled of smoke, and when we requested another room, it was quickly granted. The room was comfortable, with fluffy pillows, plenty of towels, and the bathroom, though looking well-worn, was clean.

The most attractive feature of the hotel is its location, in calm, historic, Shamian Island. Because our room did not include breakfast, all our meals were taken outside, except for one dinner (only average) which we had at the vast hotel restaurant. Shamian Island does not have casual dining, except for a Subway and a Starbucks.

The staff, from reception to maid service, were cheerful and friendly. They spoke reasonably good English.

During our stay, we walked along all the streets of Shamian Island, got a nice foot massage down North Shamian Street, and walked across Liu Er San Road to old Guangzhou, with lots of shops selling dried sea food products. We also walked for about 20-minutes to the Catholic Cathedral, a Gothic structure more than 150-years old. Another lovely church, Our Lady of Lourdes, equally old, was only a 5-minute walk from the hotel.

We had a calm and restful stay in Guangzhou thanks to the Victory Hotel and Shamian Island. One suggestion I made to the management was not to charge RMB30 for the table tennis room. It should be free to guests.

Room Tip: Insist on a no smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgebraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Victory hotel is located on an island - isolated from the rest of this big city. And both the hotel and the whole os this tiny island is a perfect place to recharge your batteries after a warm, sweaty and polluted day of exploring Guangzhou. The hotel has nice rooms, great service (they make you feel like a king) and ok breakfast - all of this at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrManOnTheMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed in the main part of the hotel on the 6th floor in a "Business room". The room was very nice, clean bathroom, lovely towels, large soft bed and all the necessary facilities. The TV had some western channels CNN, Fox, BBC, etc.
The downside of the room was the WiFi. It was painfully slow and constantly disconnected even though the hotel brought a dedicated router in to the room. This is unacceptable for any hotel let alone a business hotel.
The location is good on the Shamian Island, a short walk away is a shopping mall and Huangsha Metro station. (Advice on the Metro, buy a card for 70rmb and it will last you a week at least probably. If you need more credit you can top up at 7/11.)
Around the corner there is a great restaurant with a garden next to the main river called Lan Kwai Fong.
The best part of the hotel is actually the buffet breakfast for 108rmb if not included in your room cost. Freshly cooked Omelette, fresh fruit, cereal, toast and around 20 options such as beans tomatoes etc to go with the omelette.
Outside the hotel there is a 7/11, Sauna / Spa and a hairdresser.
A taxi to from the airport is 120 - 150rmb.
Overall a good hotel, would return but they need to sort out their WiFi.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank serpico651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed here on our first night in Guangzhou and had a deluxe room( or whatever the better room is called) and really enjoyed our stay. Location is great, close to a shopping mall across the bridge and metro. Breakfast was fine. When we came back after travelling for 6 weeks better rooms were not available or the price point was too high, so we took a standard room and was really disappointed. Room was much smaller, window was to inside hotel. There are 2 sections of this hotel and it is confusing as to which is which. It was never explained how to access the other part.
Bed incredibly hard as most in China.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We can only agree with the positive recommendations for this hotel.
Hopefully our comments are of use to independent travellers. If you haven't much luggage take the Metro to the hotel and avoid the traffic congestion. From the East Railway Station take Line 1 (yellow) to Huangsha. Use exit D into an open plaza and go towards the river - look left - you'll see an overpass that takes you to Shamian Island. There is a useful map when you leave the overpass. If you are booked into the West Wing look for Shamian Street number 4 because this is where the West Wing is - in spite of the address!!
The chinese restaurant in the hotel (East Wing) is good value likewise the excellent vegetarian restaurant near the West Wing hotel on Shamian North Street.

Our stay in Guangzhou was exceptional value for money - 2 nights stay with breakfast and a dinner for two was less than one buffet meal in Hong Kong (admittedly it was the Grand Hyatt in Wan Chai and we did have a bottle of wine!). That's another recommended hotel - the decor is stunning and the rooms are great too.

Room Tip: Book the West Wing through the hotel website for the best price if the website is available..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Member58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel in 2005 and were treated so wonderfully that we made a point of staying there again this time. Your staff are exceptional and the breakfast was delightful. Nothing was too much trouble and I would recommend this hotel, and its location on Shamian Island, to anyone visiting Guangzhou.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
#25 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
801 reviews
5.8 mi away
Jianguo Hotel
Jianguo Hotel
#29 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
668 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Guangzhou
Ramada Plaza Guangzhou
#33 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Guangzhou Hotel
Guangzhou Hotel
#184 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
472 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rosedale Hotel & Suites
Rosedale Hotel & Suites
#87 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
467 reviews
3.3 mi away
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
#41 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guangdong Victory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guangdong Victory Hotel

Address: No 53 Shamian North Street ; No.54 Shamian Street, Guangzhou 510130, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
#36 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range: £40 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guangdong Victory Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Guangdong Victory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guangdong Victory Guangzhou
Hotel Guangdong Victory

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing