We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in a fabulous location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Guangdong Victory Hotel
Ranked #32 of 3,517 Hotels in Guangzhou
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Shamisen is a great place to stay in this bustling metropolis - a literal island of peace with some European panache. The hotel is good. The room was great too, except that it did not have a window to speak of.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rajiv R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

105 - 111 of 584 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stopped for two nights on our way to Europe and after arriving on an early morning flight we way just were delighted to be able to check in straight away and to not have to wait until "official" check in time. The taxi driver took us to the West building however the very friendly staff quickly sorted this out and we walked around the corner to the East Building. We found the staff extremely friendly and very helpful. The hotel is situated in a very quiet area with a beautiful green way only one block away. The room was very comfortable and very clean.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

As a family of 4 we stayed in the East Building in two connecting rooms. The hotel is showing signs of wear but was more than adequate for our short stay, as a stop over on the way to Europe.

The rooms a fairly classic business hotel style rooms, with comfortable beds, good air conditioning, plenty of hot water, free Wifi. There was some road noise, but not bad. The staff on reception were very pleasant and made an effort.

We avoided the cost of breakfast by buying cheap breakfast stuff at the convenience store on the last road before the river. That area was pleasant, and we enjoyed seeing the locals doing Tai Chi in the morning on Shamian Island. It is a relative oasis compared to the rest of the city.

We spent a day looking around the city in the heat. The medicine market and the Shangxijiu pedestrian shopping mall is about a 10 minute walk acrooss the pedestrian bridge. There are many restauants there, and the hotel provides a useful local map (the map of the city however is not helpful).

They kept our bags and it was a relief to have a shower in the pool area before we took a late night plane to Europe.

We took a taxi from the airport that cost about 150 RMB ($30) and took about 45 minutes. The taxis around town were often cheasper than the metro, given there were 4 of us.

Having the connecting rooms was very helpful for the family, and I struggled to find many other similar option the Guangzhou for the price. It cost us about $80 per room per night, not including breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I'm glad we here for two nights on a stopover between Europe and Australia. The location on historic Shamian Island is great for wandering around the leafy streets and having a meal or drink at one of the eateries overlooking the Pearl River. The room (West building, Executive room) surpassed our expectations in size, cleanliness and features - free internet via a PC provided in the room, stylish modern bathroom and the comfiest king size bed I have ever slept in. Great value for money for the room as well. Don't bother with a taxi to/from the airport. Catch the subway between airport and Huangsha station (change once), which takes about 45 minutes. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the subway, and there are signs to the hotel from Huangsha station. Just cross the pedestrian bridge to the island, turn left and the hotel is on the right just past the Subway restaurant.

Room Tip: West wing executive room - it's fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BudgieMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed in 5 hotels around China during our 10 day trip. We were really pleased with the Victory. The location is great with easy access to the subway and an enjoyable area in which to stroll. Staff was very helpful. The rooms were clean and bright and internet access was very good.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel directly rather than using a 3rd party web site to book the room. You'll get b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

This 4star hotel building and the whole square is built in the 19th century by the british and preserve till now. The staff was attentive and the hotel room was clean and i love the bed which is not too soft and comes with 2 pillows along with one small pillow on eaxh bed. They have a lcd tv with many locals and international channels. Remember to skip the room facing the road as it is a bit noisy during the morning. The bathroom comes with a bath tub. The security in the hotel is good as every one will need a pass key to the respective floor to avoid trespasser. They have one sauna just right beside the hotel. The area is quiet with beautiful park and the nice scenery of the zhujiang river. For Subway ,you will need to walk across the pedestrian bridge and turn left approx 300metres after a row of shops selling dried seafood and than you will see the entrance on your right. The station is call huang sha station. You can ask the map from the reception at foc. The restaurant around this samien area are very popular of dimsum as this area produce many popular dimsum chef. So dont forget to try their dimsum. Taxi is not so easy to catch up here as you will need to wait for a moment unless you walk across the bridge. The rate of this hotel is cheaper during the low season but during the canton fair than that will be a sky rocket price. So booked earlier to avoid disappointment. Cheers...

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
8  Thank Sze H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The Victory Hotel's location on Shamian Island provides a historic (and charming quiet) setting for a Guangzhou visit with tree lined avenues, fabulous heritage buildings and yet a 5 minute walk from QingPing medicine market and the Shangxijiu pedestrian shopping mall. We stayed in the older East Wing - a little "tired" and in need of renovation but nevertheless a comfortable hotel with friendly helpful staff. There is a sufficient choice of cafes and restaurants in immediate vicinity to suit most tastes/budgets - even a Starbucks just around the corner. You will need a taxi to get to the CBD area and further afield but given the inexpensive nature of this form of transport this should not be an impediment to staying here; also a 300m walk to nearest metro station and well situated for access to boats cruising the Pearl River. The breakfast was adequate although may be a little sparse for many Western tastes but more than adequate for the reasonable price charged. Rooftop swimming pool is also in need of some attention but water was clean and cool and a fabulous view over the old rooftops of nearby neighbourhoods. Would we stay here again? Yes - the bed was comfortable, the level of cleanliness was good and quality of linen better than some 5 star hotels we've stayed in.

Room Tip: Be prepared that request for "No Smoking" room may not translate to same in China; our roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lochie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
#24 of 3,517 in Guangzhou
792 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Guangzhou
Ramada Plaza Guangzhou
#31 of 3,517 in Guangzhou
307 reviews
5.8 mi away
Jianguo Hotel
Jianguo Hotel
#29 of 3,517 in Guangzhou
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Guangzhou Hotel
Guangzhou Hotel
#168 of 3,517 in Guangzhou
471 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rosedale Hotel & Suites
Rosedale Hotel & Suites
#90 of 3,517 in Guangzhou
465 reviews
3.3 mi away
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
#38 of 3,517 in Guangzhou
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guangdong Victory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guangdong Victory Hotel

Address: No 53 Shamian North Street ; No.54 Shamian Street, Guangzhou 510130, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
#36 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range: £41 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guangdong Victory Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Guangdong Victory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guangdong Victory Guangzhou
Hotel Guangdong Victory

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing