We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ok for basic business hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandarin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mandarin Hotel
Ranked #360 of 3,385 Hotels in Guangzhou
Shropshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“ok for basic business hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

We stayed at this hotel during a business trip spent mostly at the Pazhou Complex (Canton Fair). The hotel is fairly typical for Chinese standards. Four stars? - maybe again by China standards. It was ok for the price & good wifi connection which was the main reason for us choosing it. It is just 15 minutes taxi ride to the exhibition, which is not too bad. We have stayed in worse & better - but for the price we paid was as expected.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wizadofiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    55
    31
    14
    2
See reviews for
4
3
2
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki - Finland
Level Contributor
186 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

I had the possibility to stay at Mandarin Hotel during a week in October of 2011. The hotel offered our group very good basic business rooms, relatively good service and all things necessary.

The hotel is situated a few blocks from the Guangzhou East Railway Station, so getting to the hotel is rather easy and fast if you are coming from Hong Kong by train. You still need to get a taxi though, it's not a walking distance.

The hotel has gone through a name change in the past history, since our reservation through travel agency was under a different name (Dongfang Hao Chen Hotel). But the address was the same and pictures on the website matched the Mandarin Hotel. This caused some confusion with the taxi driver though since I had the name written in Chinese as well.

The level of English skills was minimal in the hotel (which should not be a surprise to any China traveler), so be prepared to spend some extra time with check-in and out as well as when ordering food and doing pretty much everything. I did not mind the extra hassle, but please keep an open mind and lots of patience.

The Guangzhou exhibition facilities as well as the recreational river banks are 20-30 minutes form the hotel, but with taxi prices, this does not ruin your travel budged (3-4 euros per trip), but it's more of a hassle with the timelines if you have tight schedules.

My room was spacious, clean and everything worked. The only minor issues could be the fact that right next to the hotel is a military or police academy with their execise field. The groups start their training with marching songs rather early in the morning and this keeps on going through the day. If you need to work in your room, you will be entertained by their songs through the day.

One interesting discovery was the huge Karaoke service in the hotel. The concept of "Night club" which is advertised on the hotel wall means three floors or Karaoke rooms. Each floor has around 50 rooms which is rather impressive. No women hotel guests were allowed.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Totti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macao SAR CHINA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

Helpful staff fortunately as they have to come to fix stuff often. Poor quality materials. Very smelly rooms. Few things on the website and even advertisement in the hotel are just not true eg. No swimming pool.
The list of things they could improve it's just too long to mention. Just try somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fititiou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Guangzhou hotels

elvill
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

Maybe its OK for locals

On the web pages i got the impression it was ha hotel well suited for Westerners, which is not the case at all. Ill give you a quick run through of what i did not like as thats the important.

1. Very expensive during the canton fair, not surprisingly. But still way to expensive for what you get.
2. Beds are very hard, only this is a very good reason not to stay
3. Breakfast: A joke, almost no western food, only Chinese.
The buffet pictures from the web page looked very different from the dining area. I felt cheated as they give the impression of having western food.
4. Shuttle to the Canton fair: They say 15 minutes but its around 30+ minutes. "On day even 45"
5. Staff: They want to help but most don't understands English.
This will grow as a thorn in your side as the days go by.
You have to explain yourself several times to several staff and you never know if they really get it. They say yes and then do something you did not ask for. It very frustrating.
6. Internet in the rooms are quite slow, sometimes it was very difficult connecting to the office.

For next years fair i will certainly not book at the Mandarin.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elvill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.6 mi away
Star Hotel
Star Hotel
#1,191 of 3,385 in Guangzhou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.5 mi away
Donlord International Hotel
Donlord International Hotel
#181 of 3,385 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
1.8 mi away
President Hotel
President Hotel
#57 of 3,385 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Landmark Canton Hotel
Landmark Canton Hotel
#47 of 3,385 in Guangzhou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
25.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou Zengcheng
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou Zengcheng
#66 of 3,385 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ocean Hotel
Ocean Hotel
#38 of 3,385 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Hotel

Property: Mandarin Hotel
Address: No.1418 Guangzhou Avenue Middle, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510500 , China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#42 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#111 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#204 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mandarin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your Mandarin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Hotel Guangzhou
Guangzhou Mandarin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing