We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room but far from metro station”
Review of Vanburgh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vanburgh Hotel
Ranked #57 of 3,522 Hotels in Guangzhou
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Hotel is located at the busy district of Tianhe, a grand hotel entrance and atmosphere. However, the receptionist claimed cannot find out my reservation even I have shown my confirmation letter until I asked her to look for someone for help as well as she insisted there is no more King-size bed room but force me to take the twin bed. But I was confirmed by the hotel that kind bed can be arranged as this is the anniversary trip. The room finally have been upgraded to executive floor on 13th floor, I will say it is perfect since not smoggy on the non-smoking floor in China. The corridor, room, bathroom are nice. The bed, sofa are really comfortable. My girlfriend and me had a superb sleep until 8am in the morning, a construction just front of my room.
Metro station is far from the hotel(nearly 20mins walk) as long as you are just looking for the coach heading to HongKong or Macao as the coach station is close and easy to reach.

Room Tip: Make sure you know how to get to the metro station before you leave the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lingg718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 31 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

I was part of a study group so we all had very large rooms for ourselves. The hotel was really modern and well stocked with everything including a set of scales. I did weigh myself to ensure that I didn't overeat with the buffet breakfast. Well set up with both western and chinese cuisine. Did not have dinner as lots of local eateries around the location. Very good location to a mall and many surrounding food places.

The room was very well stocked with toiletries, however the maid threw out perfectly good tubes of it even when it was half used - I could've used it for then next day. Really clean and perfectly made up each day.

The only issue which is probably wide in China is the air conditioning I managed to sleep in - due to lack of fresh air. I noticed the artifical airflow effected me quite a bit.

Very helpful concerige which told us where to go for shopping and eating, and tried very hard to speak english for us.

Excellent service

Room Tip: Higher up for views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We were in Guangzhou for a tradeshow at the Canton fair convention centre. The Vanburgh is well located not too far and offered a complimentary bus to and from the convention centre. Free wifi, nice rooms, good restaurant, well located. Overall totally satisfied with this hotel and would stay there again on my next trip to Guangzhou.
The hotel staff is extremely friendly and helpful, thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in July.
First impression of the hotel was grand and modern. Room was big and clean. Nice bathroom but it has unusual shape that I could not understand. Hotel could be attentive to more details, e.g. the blinds for the glass window was opened/closed from the bedroom side rather than in the bathroom.
Coffee shop was big but food was average. There are many tour groups in this hotel and the lobby area and coffee shop are rather crowded at times. Unpleasant odour smell in the lobby which was rather uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BPK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Hotel was great. Lovely large room. Bed was firm but I still slept well. Buffet breakfast & dinner was really good, lots of choices and good value. Coffee quality needs to be improved.
Close to Happy Valley Shopping centre and many other food and shops in the area.
Staff are friendly and helpful. Very happy with choice of hotel

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2MelissaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

Staff speaks almost no English. The mattress was harder than most and felt like a sheet of plywood with a sheet over it. Asked for a mattress topper and maid showed up with a thin duvet instead. Pillows all poly fill. Asked for down they said they were down. Marginal breakfast. Gym limited. Gym lockers "not open at the time I went " but then was told they weren't "finished"! Do yourself a favor and pay 40 bucks more and stay at the Westin.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zim_travelin_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Stayed at Vanburgh as a second choice as my usual hotel was fully booked. Pleasant surprise. A relatively new hotel located in Tianhe district not too far from Guangzhou's new central business district, but unfortunately not too close to the subway. Very good value for money given the 4.5 star standard of the hotel. Breakfast was acceptable, but could do with improvement to better match similar standard hotels. Staff are attentive and courteous. One minor problem making myself understood to concierge staff (in English), but otherwise all went well. Bed and linen comfortable and clean. The 7/11 at ground floor level was handy. Taxi can take some time to arrive, best to allow a little extra time. There is a new shopping mall ("Happy Valley") about 5 minutes walk away. Generally a more than acceptable hotel and will be happy to stay again (provided they keep the reasonable rates). If the rates increase, it will be more convenient to stay closer to the city.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hotel_Inspector_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
1.6 mi away
Leeden Hotel
Leeden Hotel
#39 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
254 reviews
9.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou - Science City
5.3 mi away
Hotel Nikko Guangzhou
Hotel Nikko Guangzhou
#35 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal Mediterranean Hotel
Royal Mediterranean Hotel
#68 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
317 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
#8 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
616 reviews
1.1 mi away
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
#9 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanburgh Hotel

Address: No.126 Huangpu Avenue West, Guangzhou 510623, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 3,522 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range: £87 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vanburgh Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Overall Positioning StatementLocated in the hub of Guangzhou's business centers, the Vanburgh Hotel is a five-star business hotel. With perfect integration of European flair and natural elements, the hotel creates a fantastic theme for guests to enjoy the tranquilpeace in the busy city. Covering an area of 13,000 square meters, the Vanburgh Hotel has a floorage of 100,000 square meters with 23 stories. There are 382 guestrooms, 18 stories of office space, and the 800-square-meter Grand Ballroom with panoramic views and advanced multi-media meeting amenities in the hotel, providing a perfect venue for business events. Complementary to its business facilities, the Vanburgh Hotel's various restaurants and bars offers a wide range of dining options and international cuisines with unique style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vanburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing