We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class Act”
Review of W Guangzhou

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W Guangzhou
Ranked #6 of 3,458 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Class Act”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

This is the first W in mainland China and being that there was no expense spared in designing and fitting out this magnificently impressive property. Nestled smack in the fringe of the Pearl River new township amongst the many magnificent new buildings the location is excellent for business travelers.

This property is a block away from the famed Guangzhou Opera House by Zaha Hadid and there are many shopping malls around the next 2 blocks which is convenient for those who like to get out and explore. Perhaps the only set back is during peak and rush hours taxis can be a little difficult to flag.

Upon arrival the hotel lobby is vast with high ceilings with spectacular designed screens. This could be one of the most luxurious lobby of W which I have stayed. It was very impressive.

Check in was a breeze & upgraded to a Fantastic Suite which I found particularly well designed & very spacious. I love the natural beige and back color scheme which is a departure from the usually color themed which the W brand seems to favor.

The toilet seats are heated complete with push button controls for conveniences which is a plus; however there's a human sensor which flips up the cover (which cannot be disabled) which is really annoying. I suggest the guest should be offered "pillow options" as I found the sleep pillows extremely fully (I prefer to sleep with my head closer to the mattress). Since the hotel is fairly new the sheets and towels are pristine white and very well laundered. Amenities such as tea and coffee making within the comfort of the room is excellent and the housekeepers are attentive to replenish when necessary.

Breakfast offering at The Kitchen Table is great & suited my diet to a T. This is the only W that offers guests customized Bircher Muesli counter with complete with a choice of fresh fruits and a variety of grains & nuts etc made by a server. The choices of fresh freeze juices are excellent and I enjoyed the many variety of quality bread and pastries. My 3 minutes boiled eggs and it turned out perfect as I am very particular with my eggs. This is one of my best breakfast experience in a long while.

The impressive indoor pool situated high up on the 38th Floor which is really good for laps with a commanding view of the neighborhood. Sweat the gym is suitably equipped for a quick workout with sufficient thread-mills all facing a vast window promising a glimpse of the buildings of the township.

If you are booking lookout for rooms with access to the W Lounge which is probably the 1st of its kind in any W hotels as its worth paying the extras. The evening canapes which commences at 6pm are superb with choices and assortment which is sufficient for an evening meal if you are a small eater. Plus there are boundless copies of magazines and reference books for all interest all over the bookshelves which can keep one rather occupied besides the food and drinks. Service is attentive and pleasant.

Miss Amanda Zheng, the W insider is the woman to go to for tips on where to see, dine, shop and I was very impressed with her recommendations. I've been to Guangzhou countless trips for business and probably never enjoyed the famed Cantonese cuisine until this trip. Credit to Miss Zheng for her excellent recommendation to a unique restaurant that serves excellent Cantonese cuisine which is not the typical oil laden variety.

It was a great experience in all and I will be definitely back again soon.

Room Tip: Higher floors rooms command an impressive view especially those facing the Xian Cun Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonnysan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    104
    29
    13
    13
See reviews for
54
80
61
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

I have a high expectation on this hotel as it is the first w hotel in china. Location is fine and the view from the hotel is fine also.

What you like about this hotel is its exclusive w lounge. It is one and only w lounge in the world which gives access to guests in fabulous room and suites. The lounge is new, stylish and spacious. It is similar to other hotel club lounges which serves drinks and alcohol, but it is just the best club lounge in my mind! Great value as breakfast and internet are also included!

Besides, I like the design of the lobby, the wecome desk and the wet pool. Staff are also very trendy and helpful, especially the girl with short hair and speak cantonese in the away spa reception.

Nothing was negative in this stay. But i want to point out this hotel is rather classy when comparing with other w hotels. The fabulous room to me is not wow enough. Also, seems the hotel does not have many artworks like other w hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I love the service with these guys from W Hotel

There staff with there perfect English made our trip so easy

We really appreciated Jean Michel from Malaysia and Charlie from Taiwan

The hotel is great but these perfect are like angels

I 100% recommend

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We are local GZ so we went there for a drink in the Woodbar. The waitress was attentive & very sweet. We then went to the Kitchen Table Restaurant for buffet dinner based on the waitress' recommendation. As far as buffet goes, the spread is not the biggest among all the 5 star hotels in GZ but the taste of food was the best. My husband who is usually very critical gave very high praise. I, for somehow, had food poisoning from all the seafood I had.

We had a problem with the misleading "Buy 2 Get 1 Free" ads & pointed out to the manager; she fixed it. This is a rare attitude in China.

As far as décor goes, this is not the most stunning W that I have been to. For GZ, I would rank it 2nd chicest (the 1st being Four Season.) Still it raises the Hipness in GZ to a new height.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minnie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

This is the first W hotel in China and they made this a marquee location! The rooms, lobby and other luxurious amenities have been well covered by other reviewers, so I wanted to simply highlight the pool area: this is first pool I have seen that has LED lights embedded at the pool bottom, and which slowly oscillates between colors. Additionally, the far ends of the pool have *stage* areas that are illuminated, and also serve as the open-concept shower area. Seeing is believing - check out the pictures below! As a frequent business traveller, this really took swimming to the next level!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewWee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We spent three nights at the W and my only word is WOW! Aside from all the obvious great things about the uniquely chic W experience, amazing service! Courteous, kind, attentive to our every need, friendly and they even spent time having meaningful conversation with us! The Woobar in the lobby is a great place to take a break after a long business day. The second floor restaurant is a great value and hosts several tens of dishes for every meal! The rooftop pool is ridiculously opulent and modern! Definitely our nest away from home!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1235711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Wanted to have a first hand experience in this new hotel. Therefore have my getaway holiday when the hotel is 1 week old. Nice hotel lobby ambiance and the room size is spacious. Every hotel associates is trying very hard to ensure the guest expectation are met. The lobby ambassador brought us up to the room and explain the hotel facilities. The room clean but the edges of the window needs to touch up. The Kitchen associates are all very attentive and the breakfast spread is good.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.5 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,458 in Guangzhou
611 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
#2 of 3,458 in Guangzhou
705 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Guangzhou
Four Seasons Hotel Guangzhou
#7 of 3,458 in Guangzhou
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Guangzhou
The Ritz-Carlton, Guangzhou
#4 of 3,458 in Guangzhou
970 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
#8 of 3,458 in Guangzhou
566 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Westin Guangzhou
The Westin Guangzhou
#11 of 3,458 in Guangzhou
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Guangzhou

Property: W Guangzhou
Address: 26 Xian Cun Road, Pearl River New Town, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 501623, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 3,458 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — W Guangzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 317
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your W Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing