We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed”
Review of W Guangzhou

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
W Guangzhou
Ranked #2 of 3,436 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Springs, California
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Impressed”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This W is not like the US W's. It was bright and open, yet still hip and fun. The rooms are luxurious and have all the bells and whistles. Food is great and service was friendly. location is good. The room has great technology, you can access everything from the bedside control panel.
Great WiFi and rooms are very quiet!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slwhite900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGuangzhou, General Manager at W Guangzhou, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Hello Slwhite900,
Glad to receive your wonderful review regarding your recent stay with us. We’re delighted to hear that you had a great dining and accommodation experience. We hope to see you back at W Guangzhou.
Best wishes,
Peter Katusak-Huzsvar,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    103
    29
    12
    16
See reviews for
81
86
73
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Hands down the nicest W I've ever seen. Fantastic dramatic lobby filled with art and modern furnishings impresses with its sheer height . Smooth check in thanks to helpful and gracious staff. Surprisingly low rate in comparison to Hong Kong for such a quality hotel.

The rooms are spectacular with high ceilings and sleek black lacquer entryways that leads you to the bedroom. On the way down this hallway is a sink and toilet (full on Japanese automation) in its own room and then another shower room with two sinks and large shower and bath. Finally you enter the large main room with nicely laid out desk area with plugs and connections easily accessible. The whole thing feels like a luxurious private apartment, not a hotel room. The details are all there. I hope it holds up to guest abuse but at the moment, the hotel is new and gorgeous.

Our stay was short so we did not use many of the facilities but they looked great as well.

This hotel gets the highest marks of any that I've ever reviewed. 5 stars in every category. Will definitely return if my travels take me back to Guangzhou.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g4480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGuangzhou, General Manager at W Guangzhou, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Hello g4480,
Thank you so much for your encouraging comments. I’m thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, our design and facilities are your liking, as well as our team impressed you so much! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon at W Guangzhou.
Best wishes,
Peter Katusak-Huzsvar,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We arrived by train from Hong Kong and got a taxi at the station to take us to the hotel. The lobby is fantastic with the massive waterfall and huge space.

Prior to check-in we went to the Japanese restaurant to enjoy a combination of sushi and sashimi and it was absolutely delicious as well as beautifully presented

Check in was smooth and the room very spacious with a large bathroom and good city views.

We also enjoyed the club when coming back after dinner. The staff was kind enough to grant us a late checkout the following morning, and we needed it!

All in all the best W we have stayed at after Bali and Hong Kong.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MicheleGiraudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGuangzhou, General Manager at W Guangzhou, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Hello MicheleGiraudo,
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay at W Guangzhou. We are happy to know you liked the food in I By Inagiku, your arrival experience was smooth, enjoyed staying in the room and had fun in our bar. To be recognized as the best hotel is extremely gratifying. Thanks again and looking forward to having you back again soon.
Warm regards,
Peter Katusak-Huzsvar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This morning i checked in at this hotel for the 2nd time. I was welcome by friendly and happy staff and GM came by to say hi as well. No problem for an early check-in and got exactly the same room as i had last time i stayed here. As an SPG platinum i got a fabulous suite.

Room is fantastic, everything works, is clean, comfortable and gives an overall Fab feeling. Now all of this wouldn't work if staff would suck. Not sure how they recruited but it seems like all of their staff is selected because of a talent they have. It is real, not fake. They love what they are doing and are being motivated to develop themselves. You feel the passion that they love working here and that gives a very satisfactory feeling as a guest.

As I'm writing this song i sit in the living room (also called lobby in other hotels) and the energy is great. Good DJ's playing sets and everyone i see commin in is taking pictures of the interior.

Travelling for work can be bothersome when you are not positively surprised by a hotel. Any Sheraton or Westin looks the same. W hotels keep on surprising you in a postive way and make duty travelling and advernture. I'm inspired and can't get enough of it! Don't stay here you'll get adicted.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bergo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGuangzhou, General Manager at W Guangzhou, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Hello bergo,

Thank you for sharing your great feedback with us. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at W Guangzhou. I would also like to thank you on behalf of my entire team for your warming words on my team. I will certainly share this with all of them as they too will appreciate this immensely.

I look forward to your return.

Warm regards,
Peter Katusak-Huzsvar
General Manager
W Guangzhou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Recently I've traveled to Guangzhou to participate in the international fair.
I stayed at the W hotel and I confess it was the best choice I ever made.
The hotel is fantastic, but the difference really who did, were people working there.
The staff is extremely professional, but with a human touch unique.
Kindness, professionalism, caring for guests, everything was perfect.
Thanks to all at the W Guangzhou, I surely will talk about this wonderful hotel to all my friends and will be there next year. hugs

Room Tip: Talk with Martin in the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGuangzhou, General Manager at W Guangzhou, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Hello Marcus S,

Thank you sharing your great review. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at W Guangzhou. Thank you for your kind notes on my team. These are very valuable to me and I will certainly be sharing these with all of them.

I look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Warm regards,
Peter Katusak-Huzsvar
General Manager
W Guangzhou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I am from Hong Kong.
When we arrive to the hotel, no one are greeting us and no one point us to the check in counter. We just walk around at the lobby and found it by ourself.
On the next day we ask the Wheels counter for the location of "China Plaza", Someone told us that we can walk to there, but I search from Google map, it is 6-7km far away from W GZ. So we ask for an assisant to hire a taxi, but the guy said, we just stand near the taxi stands, the taxi would come, but we have language difficuty to communicate with the taxi driver, but no one assist.
On the check out date, we stand near the welcome counter and waiting for check out, a lady came and said we can sit on the sofa which near the W the store for waiting. After around 20 Min. no one inform me the count is free now. If I just sit and wait, I don't know when we can check out.
I think a 5 Stars hotel would not provide the above service, Please improve service and give more trainning to the front desk staff.
I like W Brand so much, hope the guest service will be improved at my next come.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tobee1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGuangzhou, General Manager at W Guangzhou, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Hello Tobee1109,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write and share your experience with us.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. We have noted your comments regarding the lack of guest services and communication. I have shared your feedback with the team and we have already organized additional trainings for service delivery and communication to exceed our guest expectations.

Should business or leisure bring you back to Guangzhou again, I hope you will give us another opportunity to redeem ourselves.

Best regards,
Peter Katusak-Huzsvar
General Manager
W Guangzhou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My mom and I went to W for afternoon tea. The lady in the entrance was nice, but misleading us to the wrong place for the afternoon tea. Woobar is located on the 1st floor but she told us 2nd floor is the right place.....

While we were waiting for the afternoon tea (it starts at 2:30pm but W guangzhou website says afternoon tea start at 2pm), my mom was tired so she told me that she wanted to take a nap while we are waiting for the seat. However, a young lady came and asked me that my mom can't have a nap in the lobby because its not appropriated to have a nap in the lobby. I don't understand how come I can't have a nap in the lobby while I am waiting for the seat for the afternoon tea. We are not the one just came into your hotel for the free air condition or wifi.....Its my first time to have a chance to go to W guangzhou, both of my mom and I thought it might have someone to bring us to the woobar,however, unfortunately , no one came to help us. The stuff made us felt shameful and uncomfortable. The behavior of the staff is more likely that I have to dress up to go to this hotel, I can't come with T-shirt and flip flop. I have been to taipei W, bangkok W and LA W...none of the hotel treat us with a horrible service.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cookie3382013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGuangzhou, General Manager at W Guangzhou, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Hello cookie3382013,
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your visit to W Guangzhou. I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your afternoon in our Woobar. Your feedback is important to us and I will certainly share this with the relevant heads of department . However, I would welcome the opportunity to discuss all the points mentioned by you in details. When possible, please contact me via email on peter.katusak-huzsvar@whotels.com so that we can discuss this.

Thank you and I look forward to hearing from you.

Warm regards,
Peter Katusak-Huzsvar
General Manager
W Guangzhou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.5 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,436 in Guangzhou
605 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
#3 of 3,436 in Guangzhou
684 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Guangzhou
The Ritz-Carlton, Guangzhou
#4 of 3,436 in Guangzhou
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Guangzhou
Four Seasons Hotel Guangzhou
#7 of 3,436 in Guangzhou
717 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
#8 of 3,436 in Guangzhou
556 reviews
0.8 mi away
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
#9 of 3,436 in Guangzhou
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Guangzhou

Property: W Guangzhou
Address: 26 Xian Cun Road, Pearl River New Town, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 501623, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3,436 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — W Guangzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 317
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Starwood APAC, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your W Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing