We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bizarre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phoenix City Hotel Guangzhou
Ranked #78 of 3,559 Hotels in Guangzhou
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This was the strangest place I have ever been. How it can get a four star rating is beyond comprehension. It is over an hour from the airport and yet it has been referred to as an airport hotel.
Rooms are large but well worn and stained. Beds are like cement with threadbare sheets.
One staff member, a fellow from India, is a great asset to the hotel. He spoke the truth. All other staff could not care less. Breakfast was a free for all, people pushing and shoving. Check out took much too long, lines ups everywhere. This is an extremely large hotel and I suppose it does serve a purpose if you are there on a buying trip or for Canton fair, but as a tourist, it does meet any expectations. Just an all around odd place. The price is much too high for such accommodation.
Lesson learned here.. do not believe anything said in China, not 4 star, not near airport, swimming pool was empty.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ukee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed three nights on the way from Beijing to Hong Kong. Fine Hotel with very spacious rooms. Booked by a friend and stayed with the family in two rooms on the ground floor, Upstairs rooms are better as its less noisy and of the good view, as I have stayed there before. Bathroom in one room had a cracked sink and the floor gets vet when you shower. Design fault? Good breakfast and nice model gardens Italian style.

Room Tip: Get an up stair room for a good night sleep.
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Ro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

it is probably one of the best in the industrial area. I will recommend this hotel as it has most of the facilities, and more importantly, enough F&B outlets to go to. hotel quality is slightly above average, typical Chinese management.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJW2JT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I do recomend to everyone. Big territory, which is full of trees and other interesting exotic plants, own lake inside of the territory (not a pool!), a pool is there as well (very big, btw). If your balcony is situated on the side where you can see the lake - so you are twice lucky as you can enjoy mountains too. Service? I not faced any problems with it. The only thing- i would like to see potatos more often in a breakfast time. During 3 weeks i saw only several, but there was a Yamaha conference where about 5 buses delivered japaneese. I would say there are not so many europeans yet (as hotel is situated closer to some plants, not to the center of the city and Exhibition), probably, that could be the reason english is not so common language there yet. But at the same time thanks to it's location this hotel has so big and amazing territory and even near u can find another one amazing park and you always have where to go.
My mark is 5!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann_Veligurskaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel during my visit to the Canton Fair, October 2013.

There were a number of things we were disappointed in, starting with room service after a huge day at the fair we were quite tired and just needed dinner and bed, we ordered room service so we didn't have to wait in the restaurant, when we ordered we were not advised of the long wait and it took over 2 hours to come, by which time we were so exhausted.

We were also very frustrated as we ordered a bottle of white wine to go with dinner, all the wine was so over priced at $80AUD for the cheapest bottle and then we hardly had any at all due to the lateness of its arrival and the fact it arrived warm so we had finished eating before it was cool enough to drink!

Then dinner, we ordered a simple mushroom pasta that arrived with no mushrooms and desert which was described as an apple crumble and coconut ice-cream which arrived with no ice cream at all and instead of a crumble was a tart!

Then there is breakfast, very limited food options and people will just plonk themselves down on your table without asking, you can have your bag there, go get some food and come back to someone in your seat. We purchased breakfast passes at $22AUD ea, two of which we never used and when we asked for a refund since we didn't use them, we were not given one and they just argued with us about it saying they don't refund them! Again, this was not made clear when we purchased them.

Overall we found their customer service quite low, the smell of smoke in the rooms, the Gym didn't open till 8am and the bus to the fair left at 8:30am so there was no time for a work out which was disappointing, the food options were very limited with no fresh western food available.

This hotel is 45min - 1 hour from the fair and taxi fairs are between $60-$80AUD to any shopping, restaurants, airport etc. So it would be better to stay in the city.

We would not recommend this hotel. :(

Room Tip: Room smelt like smoke even though it was non-smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharrynmcnamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The hotel's website claims that it is "a Platina 5-star hotel, and is one of the most luxurious hotel in Guangzhou and might be one of the most beautiful in China". I beg to differ. I can't say that I am impressed with our room in Block A or the conference rooms one floor below the lobby. As soon as we came out of the lift on the 3rd floor, we were assailed by a musty smell. The mustiness was prevalent too along the corridor leading to one of the conference rooms. Our room was big and had all the amenities but the furniture/furnishings/fittings, except for those in the bathroom, were pretty dated and worn out. There were stains on the carpet and chairs. The balcony was huge but badly needed a repainting job. The hotel seems popular with locals even though it's about 1 hour's drive from Guangzhou city. I guess the reasonable rates helped.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLS0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I spent four nights in a standard twin double room during May. My first impression of the hotel was the theme and the grandeur of the European design. The hotel is expansive, surrounded by greenery and is designed around a lake. But these are the only best things I can say about this hotel. Location wise it's one hour shuttle bus ride from Guangzhou international airport and an hour away from central business district in Tian He. The bus stops at Xintang bus station where you need to take a taxi to the hotel. Most taxi drivers refused to use their meters, charging me four times metered fares for a short trip to and from Xintang shuttle bus station to the hotel.
Its stuffy in the hotel and in my room. II can smell cigaret smoke all along the corridors. Obviously the management has not done enough to address air cleanliness problem within the hotel. It's also obvious that the hotel is aged by looking at the carpets and walls. I am thankful to be given a refurbished room that faces the lake, but not all rooms are as fresh. Some staff are friendly but inconsistent throughout the hotel. One staff entered my room twice with their own keys without ringing the bell. Buffet Breakfast is 4 stars standard although the dining area is green, bright and spacious.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
15.3 mi away
Royal Mediterranean Hotel
Royal Mediterranean Hotel
#66 of 3,559 in Guangzhou
317 reviews
16 mi away
Jianguo Hotel
Jianguo Hotel
#27 of 3,559 in Guangzhou
675 reviews
15.1 mi away
Furtune Hotel
Furtune Hotel
#186 of 3,559 in Guangzhou
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Ocean Hotel
Ocean Hotel
#44 of 3,559 in Guangzhou
403 reviews
15.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Guangzhou
Ramada Plaza Guangzhou
#34 of 3,559 in Guangzhou
316 reviews
18.5 mi away
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
#40 of 3,559 in Guangzhou
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix City Hotel Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix City Hotel Guangzhou

Address: Guangyuan East Road, Xintang Section, Guangzhou 511340, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#32 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
#60 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range: £51 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Phoenix City Hotel Guangzhou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 573
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Phoenix City Hotel Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix City Guangzhou
Hotel Phoenix City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing