We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheats..”
Review of Furtune Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Furtune Hotel
Ranked #188 of 3,556 Hotels in Guangzhou
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Blocked 2 rooms for the canton fair in the main hotel out of sheer familiarity since this was my 4th time. The front desk allotted a nightmare of a room in a building right at the back called the fortune apartment, it was everything a 'room' should not be. Since it was 1am I did not protest.
The next day I took up the issue with the front desk and they refused to move me to the main tower unless I pay RMB 350 more than what is mentioned in my hotel voucher, absolute cheats, they finally settled for RMB 200 per day per room. The overall atmosphere is 'take t or leave it'. The breakfast is very basic and manageable but not for too many days, everything drips with oil/fat. I will never come back nor will I recommend to anyone. There seems to be no improvement or efforts towards it. Though this was my 4th time here, it would surely be my last. The Royal Mediterranean is a far better option just across the road.

Room Tip: What tip can one give when a official hotel voucher is not accepted and more money is demanded for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indrajitkalidasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2012

This stay was for a classmate reunion. I flew all way from USA for this reunion and had to stay at this hotel (Guangwu Hotel). Check in was relatively quick at 11:00 pm. The internet was free. Each of the elevators have separate buttons to push. You can test your intelligence every time when you come down to the lobby floor. The room is just smoking although it was a nonsmoking room, I guess. The breakfast was so so for Chinese foods, let alone the western foods. The worst part of my experience is the check out experience. It was not in any order (multiple lines). No pre-checkout bill was provided and all checkout procedure was done manually (i.e., we are not in computer yet!!!). The room was not quiet at all. You can hear the constant noise from Tianhe Road because of its busy traffic. The only thing that the hotel is attractive is that it is very close to a subway station, which is less than one hour from the airport. But it will not be for me next time. I would rather choose a western-chain hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMXlean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

This is my third time in this hotel.. Last time the construction had made the whole place a mess, but once inside the place was perfect.. This time though the new lobby has been completed.. The rooms & toilets are spacious/clean/luxurious as usual (which is hat made me come back). The location is a great advantage.
The rest of the place stinks.. The breakfast is like street food.. Absolutely unfit for consumption.. This place needs to be shut down and reopened after all the renovation is completed with some professional management.. The reception is manned by young girls who have no clue on the check in procedures & waste a lot of time consulting with their superiors.. Rooms service has no knowledge of English at all..
I am sure there are much better options in & around the central district of Guangzhou

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indrajitkalidasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2007

My wife and I stayed in this hotel on a recent visit to China. I wouldn't class the facilities as good enough for a B&B, breakfast was excluded by the way. The room was very old and the bed mattress was rock hard, probably ok if you have severe back problems, if not you will end up with some.

The toilet was in the shower!! Our room (a suite) seems to have been divided from another guest room post construction and we could hear every word our neighbours uttered.The restaurants were overpriced in my opinion.

On the positive side, the staff like most of the Chinese we encountered were eager to help and made a good stab at English.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PesoMillionaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2006

Regular prices for a room is about RMB 260, I was charged RMB 880 for a double standard room, and no breakfast, during Canton Fair Season.
The staff was friendy during checking. The Hotel has 2 blocks, the main block is old. My room was in the old building. My room was small, I think all rooms must be redecorated. The beds are, just enought for 1 person and not comfortable. There is a pocket size bathroom, like the bathroom of the stateroom in a ship. There is no separated area for the shower.
I just returned from a 5 stars Hotel in Dongguan that charged me just RMB 80 more, and included a breakfast buffet. Definetely there are better choice during Canton Fair season. This hotel just worth RMB 260.

Stayed: October 2006
2  Thank RicardoKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank Fabrizio E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: solicitar previamente que es lo que uno necesita, si es posible el requerimiento es atendido
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose C, Marcom Supervisor at Furtune Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2015
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.1 mi away
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#959 of 3,556 in Guangzhou
161 reviews
0.1 mi away
President Hotel
President Hotel
#84 of 3,556 in Guangzhou
434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Mediterranean Hotel
Royal Mediterranean Hotel
#70 of 3,556 in Guangzhou
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Gangrun Xi'erbin Hotel
Gangrun Xi'erbin Hotel
#995 of 3,556 in Guangzhou
162 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Perle International Hotel
La Perle International Hotel
#69 of 3,556 in Guangzhou
112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Overseas Chinese Friendship Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furtune Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furtune Hotel

Address: No.603 Tianhe Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510630, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 3,556 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range: £31 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Furtune Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good location, perfect facilities and Low Price! Fortune Hotel will give you warm service without borders! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Furtune Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing